JC's feelings about the Yams
A wee excerpt from an e-mail i got from someone I know that works at ER. I know that sounds cryptic, and it'll be "who is it" and all that guff, but it's not really that important when you read the content. Aaaaanyway:
Just a great wee story before I go - there are lots of problem with John Collins as you know (as far as his relationship with the players go) - xxxxx doesn't like him too much either but he says there is one thing he absolute loves about him........his total hatred of the Jambos - he says that JC never just wants to beat them - he wants to annihilate them (it's his ambition to be manager of Hibs and beat them with more than 7!!!) - hope he achieves it. And I for one hope he realises his ambitions on the 4th of November!!
Im Just Radge and used to be BionicRab
Re: JC's feelings about the Yams
Cool, affirmed suspicions
![]() ![]() ![]() Quote:
He's not there to make new friends - he's there to get results for us. Eddie Turnbull's era was before my time but I reckon the same comment probably could have been made about him.
Aye. He pretty much says as much in his book. He wasn't there tyo make pals and enither should Collins; it's about respect and I think whether the players like him or not; if they respect him it'll count for more in the long run. I've worked for complete arseholes but I couldn't help but respect the ones that were excellent at their jobs, you know you can trust them & their judgement.
Zemmamas gone and I don't know what to do radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
He wasn't there to make pals, he was there to put a winning team on the park. Not read the book for a while (cannae find it!!) but I seem to recall him saying he got some of the best performances out of the boys that hated him the most! 'Mon the JC!
ET
was a different era though.Times move on and man management is different in 2007 from 1977. |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Canny imagine Sir Alex uttering ET's most famous phrase.....
Phone Home! Not with his speech defect!
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
He has and he is.
However, there's no way he gets away with what he did in 1977 or 1987.. That's why he doesn't. It's why he's successful. He's moved with the times. Most who've played for Fergie actually respect and like him... |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
I would imagine most of that 'like and respect' stems from him making players succesful , e.g. Beckham. I can't imagine Beckham thinking too much of him if he had hurled a boot at him had Beckham not already won it all and had a move to Real Madrid on the horizon.
![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
From what I have read and the testimony of supporters who were around in those days Mr Turnbull's man management skills, or lack of them, was his one fatal flaw. Ferguson has always had a bit more about him than simply shouting.
a hink fur his feelings bout the yams we should sing along at the hearts game (like normal)
JOHNNY COLLINS GREEN N WHITE ARMY WHO ARE THEY JOHNNY COLLINS bla bla bla
I've got a feeling like. I think we're due them a real boot in the stanes
![]() I think a real pasting is imminent, with a triumphant return for our Moroccan twosome... |
Im Just Radge and used to be BionicRab
I was thinking the same, the Jambos at my work are suprisingly quite, remember reading an article last week about the 'Hibs team looking like giving someone a right doing last season' well if we looked like that last season what do we look like doing this season?
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
ET was tactically years ahead of his time, a real football thinker who could spot a promising player down on his luck(Gordon,Edwards) and definetly ranked with the great Jock Stein for football knowledge and awareness with his Scottish cup triumph with Aberdeen over the 'Lisbon Lions' his football pinnacle (Nah it wisnae 0-7 wasHowever Cropley was terrified of him, O'Rourke used to hide when he was on the warpath and his captain and best player (Stanton) hated his guts. Even at 80 something ET and Stanton still barely acknowledge each other and Hibs would have ruled the world.
Formerly Cockney Radge
I love JC's attitude. From what I have seen at reserve games he is a superb ambassador for the club the way he spoke to the kids and had time for the fans.
Where the club is concerned he seems completly single minded in his goal of makng Hibs the best we can be. I don't believe for one minute that he is as arrogant as some departing players or the remaining whingers at the club would like us to think. The young players and the new signings given a new lease of life by JC have been full of praise for his man management skills (stories also in the press of him dipping into his own pocket to take the players and their wives out to foster team spirit) Does not sound much like Ferguson or Eddie Turnbull to me to be honest. JC is very astute, thats for certain...and with the results we've had this season so far it would be difficult to question his methods. The man can do no wrong in my book, I only wish the board would support him a bit more by relaxing the wage structure a tad.
Dont think anyone could argue his way is the correct way