Old 23-10-07, 08:52   #1

Casino cash: £3669
Anyone looking for information on pre 2nd world war Hibs players?

Relatives etc?

Post here, and I'll see if my updated records can help

Currently working on: Hibees Bounce Hibs Stats
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 09:08   #2

Casino cash: £6276
vCash: 25700
Re: Anyone looking for information on pre 2nd world war Hibs players?

Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post
Relatives etc?

OK not quite bobby.

but eric stevensons birthday?
Old 23-10-07, 09:08   #3

Casino cash: £6451

This is a long shot but are there any Embra based Malloys, Fagans or Andersons in your records?
Old 23-10-07, 09:37   #4

I'm also interested in pre-war Breslins - neighbours

and post war Hendrys - work colleagues uncle
Old 23-10-07, 09:47   #5

Circa 1934 Alfred Anderson
Circa 1919 David Anderson
Circa 1910 David Anderson
Circa 1936 Douglas Anderson
Circa 1919 George Anderson
Circa 1909 Harry Anderson
Circa 1913 Robert Anderson
Circa 1938 William Anderson

Surprisingly, No Fagans or Molloys: I'll recheck that

Regards Fagans
Circa 1932 Andrew Fagan played for Bo'ness
Circa 1895 Patrick Fagan played for Leith Athletic
Circa 1933 William Fagan played for Edinburgh City

Last edited by Purple & Green; 23-10-07 at 10:19. Reason: Adding info
Old 23-10-07, 10:10   #6

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post

Circa 1903 Arthur Breslin
Circa 1893 Bernard Breslin - both signed from Carfin Emmett so might have been brothers.

Ian Hendry played for Hibs around 1980: ISTR he broke his leg something like 20 seconds into a game.

Billy Hendry was signed to Hibs around 1952 but never played.

I know I should have a birthdate for Eric Stevenson, but I don't..I'll check that out.

Old 23-10-07, 10:23   #7

Circa 1893 Bernard Breslin - both signed from Carfin Emmett so might have been brothers.

Ian Hendry played for Hibs around 1980: ISTR he broke his leg something like 20 seconds into a game.

Billy Hendry was signed to Hibs around 1952 but never played.

I know I should have a birthdate for Eric Stevenson, but I don't..I'll check that out.
Old 23-10-07, 11:13   #8

Casino cash: £485

What can you find on Jimmy Mclean From Winchburgh played 2 twice for hibs apparently 1930's ( Late)
mclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 11:33   #9
Stu

Casino cash: £5865

Is Bernard Breslin the 'Barney' Breslin who was right half in the 1902 Scottish Cup winning team?
Old 23-10-07, 12:25   #10

Casino cash: £548
Rep Power: 4 Egan Number 6 is on the way to a first team debut

Relatives etc?

My Grandfather Tommy Egan played for the Hibees from 1932-1938. Got a fair bit of stuff already but can you find the team for the East of Scotland Shield which he won with the Hibs in 1936. Cheers.
Egan Number 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 12:25   #11

Originally Posted by Stu View Post
Is Bernard Breslin the 'Barney' Breslin who was right half in the 1902 Scottish Cup winning team?
Yes it is Stu

Old 23-10-07, 12:32   #12

Originally Posted by mclean View Post
What can you find on Jimmy Mclean From Winchburgh played 2 twice for hibs apparently 1930's ( Late)
There's a record of a James Smellie McLean being registered to Hibs for the best part of 1936-1946. I don't have Brian Marks excellent War Years to hand, but I'd be surprised if he never made a few more appearances during the war.

Old 23-10-07, 13:14   #13

Circa 1934 Alfred Anderson
Circa 1919 David Anderson
Circa 1910 David Anderson
Circa 1936 Douglas Anderson
Circa 1919 George Anderson
Circa 1909 Harry Anderson
Circa 1913 Robert Anderson
Circa 1938 William Anderson

Surprisingly, No Fagans or Molloys: I'll recheck that

Regards Fagans
Circa 1932 Andrew Fagan played for Bo'ness
Circa 1895 Patrick Fagan played for Leith Athletic
Circa 1933 William Fagan played for Edinburgh City
Thanks for that, much appreciated. Will see if they tie into my Dad's work on his family history.
Old 06-11-07, 13:25   #14

I spelled one of the surnames incorrectly; it should have read Fegan (not Fagan).

And, I noticed you spelled Malloy with an O. Did you search for Malloy?

How extensive is you database? Can I ask for a more extensive search including a larger timescale?

Cheers.
Old 06-11-07, 14:00   #15

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
I spelled one of the surnames incorrectly; it should have read Fegan (not Fagan).

And, I noticed you spelled Malloy with an O. Did you search for Malloy?

How extensive is you database? Can I ask for a more extensive search including a larger timescale?

Cheers.

Fegan - There is a record of a Patrick Fegan being registered with "Harp" in the 1890's

Malloy [I had searched for Molloy] - rechecking...there is record of a James Malloy being signed to Hibernian in 1933 - the same player might also have played for Brechin, Dundee United, Montrose & Cowdenbeath i.e. a player of the same name played in the 1930's.

The databases that I now have should, in theory, cover every player that has played for any team in the league or cup in Scotland since 1893: my specific interest is Hibernian players. I'm continuing to put together detailed appearance and line up information. It needs tested though to make sure that it is accurate.

Old 06-11-07, 14:49   #16

Fegan - There is a record of a Patrick Fegan being registered with "Harp" in the 1890's

Malloy [I had searched for Molloy] - rechecking...there is record of a James Malloy being signed to Hibernian in 1933 - the same player might also have played for Brechin, Dundee United, Montrose & Cowdenbeath i.e. a player of the same name played in the 1930's.

The databases that I now have should, in theory, cover every player that has played for any team in the league or cup in Scotland since 1893: my specific interest is Hibernian players. I'm continuing to put together detailed appearance and line up information. It needs tested though to make sure that it is accurate.
Thanks for that. I'll run these by my Da
Old 07-11-07, 22:41   #17

OK not quite bobby.

but eric stevensons birthday?
25th December 1942

I'll send you a list of players birthdates when I've got an updated list compiled.

Old 07-11-07, 22:46   #18

Casino cash: £9268

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
This is a long shot but are there any Embra based Malloys, Fagans or Andersons in your records?
Yer first two are bound tae be in some records of teams from around the area. Eadie's, Galletta's, Smith's, McEwans and possibly even Power's might be in there.

I'd bet a few names on the CYMS early records might have a wee involvement in this database ye have B.

Old 08-11-07, 10:09   #19

25th December 1942

I'll send you a list of players birthdates when I've got an updated list compiled.

thank you very much
Old 11-11-07, 15:19   #20
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

Casino cash: £6886
vCash: 30000

http://

i think this is the breslin to which you are reffering kenny
Old 11-11-07, 21:55   #21

Originally Posted by hibbyharp1875 View Post
http://

i think this is the breslin to which you are reffering kenny
thanking you muchly
Old 12-11-07, 11:34   #22
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge