Old 10-10-07, 10:32   #1

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut
Sir David Of Murphy...

Was trolling thru' another Hibs site
and there is a thread regarding the value of the most outstanding left back in Scotland (3yrs running).

What are bouncers ideas as to the worth of Murph. Bearing in mind we got £2m for whittaker. We have murphy on a deal until 2010. and I beleive he has expressed a desire to return south towards the end of his contract. This would suggest we have his services for around 12-18 months.

For me, he's atleast worth £3.5m - and possibly more. He's probably the most consistant, underrated player I've seen in 25yrs of watching the cabbage.
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 10:36   #2
The whole world has gone radge

Re: Sir David Of Murphy...

Shhhhhh!

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 10:46   #3

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

If we have to talk about it I'd go for at least 4 or 5 mil as he'll be going Darn Sarf and they've got mair cash.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 10:52   #4
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Does the 5 yr naturalisation rule still apply?
If Davie stays with us till 2010 he would qualify (assuming Steve Mc Larens replacement doesnt pick him) for our national team.
I work beside the smoggies, They are just displaced Scots with funny accents!

Does anyone know what Davie would think of this? Or is he gonna wait until he has a chance with his true nation?

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 16:38   #5

lindz1875 is on the way to a first team debut

murphy worth mega millions.david murphy for scotland?oh ye! theres only one david murphy!
lindz1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 16:52   #6

greencol will become famous soon enough

I don't know how much Murph is worth, but i price him above the others that left for Glasgow.

If he stayed for the remainder of his contract i wouldn't grudge him walking out of ER for nowt.
Although he has stated he wants Hibs to get a fee when he leaves.

Whichever way it happens I for one would wish him all the best.

Top player & by all accounts top bloke too.
Old 10-10-07, 17:26   #7

crash-hibs is on the way to a first team debut

at least 5 to 6million

crash-hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 17:54   #8

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

Sir David has got to be worth at LEAST the same amount as Steven Whittaker.

I'd say £4M might be the price, seeing as it'll have to be an English team for Murph

I also agree though, that he's welcome to stay for the length of the contract and walk.

Sir, you've more than earned your wage at ER, it's a pleasure to watch

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 18:31   #9

Celtic dobbers at my work are now saying they have problems at left back Murphy would be a great signing

fcukin wankers

Old 10-10-07, 18:41   #10

Celtic dobbers at my work are now saying they have problems at left back Murphy would be a great signing

fcukin wankers
Look out for a Strachan bid of around 800K in Jan...
Old 10-10-07, 18:47   #11

hibeesboy66 is on the way to a first team debut

3.5 million now 4 in a year would rather see him leave now for nowt than to tread that m8 path to either of the unwashed
thanks for your services murph whenever you go
hibeesboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 19:06   #12
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Was trolling thru' another Hibs site
and there is a thread regarding the value of the most outstanding left back in Scotland (3yrs running).

What are bouncers ideas as to the worth of Murph. Bearing in mind we got £2m for whittaker. We have murphy on a deal until 2010. and I beleive he has expressed a desire to return south towards the end of his contract. This would suggest we have his services for around 12-18 months.

For me, he's atleast worth £3.5m - and possibly more. He's probably the most consistant, underrated player I've seen in 25yrs of watching the cabbage.
Sure? I thought he could leave on freedom of contract at the end of this season.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 18:56   #13

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

Sure? I thought he could leave on freedom of contract at the end of this season.
nah oo2b he definitely signed an extension, might not be 2010 though, might be 2009?

The day he leaves I will mourn like a loved one has died. Except even more painful.

Sir David I salute you

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 22:25   #14

Both of them don't have silly money to play with around the middle of the campaign. That's what these two will only go for.
Fletch wasnae so long ago getting stick off'ae Hibs punters (some quarters he still is) so think he kens he has another 2 years to develop a move for himself.

Old 23-10-07, 23:19   #15

1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice

£10m+ Riordan and Broonaldo would do it.

1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 23:23   #16

£1.5m tops...

Love him as a player, but he hasn't got a lot of pace, and he can regularly get caught up the park.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 24-10-07, 00:25   #17

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Murphy would be a very useful acquistion for either Celtc or 'Scotlands Shame' though he has made it quite clear that in time wants to move down south so Hibs really have to sell him in January or more likely next summer to get the maximum value.

Comparisons with previous transfers are a bit misleading as 'Scotland's Shame's' inflated purchase of Tweedledum and then Whittaker was caused by the fact that they desperately needed to get players in the door after the PLG shambles so Hibs held all the cards
and managed to get more than top dollar for two very useful but not even international ranked or even international rated players.

Murphy is Mr Consistency
but a bit one dimensional and would probably go for £1.5m and you can see him having a very decent career somewhere in the English championship at one of these top 6 yo-yo clubs that bounce up and down to and from the EPL all the time and he quite deserves a wee shot at the big time.

Dunno much about WBA but 'Tony' if he needs a left back must be interested.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 00:45   #18

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Agreed we will get a good price for him but not more than £2M if he goes down south, the reason being a player has to come from the OF or be absolutely outstanding to command a decent fee. The SPL is simply not rated highly enough and teams down there have to view signing SPL players as a bit of a risk.

I have no wish to see him leave in the near future anyway. Same goes for Fletch. I think time is still on our side regarding both players.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 01:05   #19
evy

evy is on the way to a first team debut

I don't know how much Murph is worth, but i price him above the others that left for Glasgow.

If he stayed for the remainder of his contract i wouldn't grudge him walking out of ER for nowt.
Although he has stated he wants Hibs to get a fee when he leaves.

Whichever way it happens I for one would wish him all the best.

Top player & by all accounts top bloke too.
Murph is a regular shopper in my work (debenhams OT) and always says alright when i see him.

Will be sorely missed by both fans and team when he eventually moves on. lookin for 2 mil minimum surely

evy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 01:32   #20

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light

Agreed we will get a good price for him but not more than £2M if he goes down south, the reason being a player has to come from the OF or be absolutely outstanding to command a decent fee. The SPL is simply not rated highly enough and teams down there have to view signing SPL players as a bit of a risk.

I have no wish to see him leave in the near future anyway. Same goes for Fletch. I think time is still on our side regarding both players.
Do you honestly think that he is not being watched from down the road?

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Being another year older.
36 days 20 hours 22 minutes
Hibsean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 09:55   #21

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

Murphy would be a very useful acquistion for either Celtc or 'Scotlands Shame' though he has made it quite clear that in time wants to move down south so Hibs really have to sell him in January or more likely next summer to get the maximum value.

Comparisons with previous transfers are a bit misleading as 'Scotland's Shame's' inflated purchase of Tweedledum and then Whittaker was caused by the fact that they desperately needed to get players in the door after the PLG shambles so Hibs held all the cards
and managed to get more than top dollar for two very useful but not even international ranked or even international rated players.

Murphy is Mr Consistency
but a bit one dimensional and would probably go for £1.5m and you can see him having a very decent career somewhere in the English championship at one of these top 6 yo-yo clubs that bounce up and down to and from the EPL all the time and he quite deserves a wee shot at the big time.

Dunno much about WBA but 'Tony' if he needs a left back must be interested.
Agree with you about almost all of that Sam but think you are maybe doing him a bit of disservice.

Part of a players value I reckon is their professionalism and class as a human being and Murph has got loads of that.
Old 24-10-07, 10:03   #22