To sort out an argument...
or two, I know I'll get the answer from the buffs on the Bounce! Can anyone tell me :-
- Who our current longest serving player is? - Who was the first black/coloured (not sure on the correct PC term these days - sorry!) player to play for Hibs? Cheers |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
Re: To sort out an argument...
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Don't have a clue about the other one, sorry.
Fletcher could be in with a shout for our current longest serving player
first black player to my knowledge is kevin harper
Was Ricky Hill not our first coloured player. Early 80's
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I maybe dreamt it if no-one else remembers To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
We had a black player years ago called Ricky Hill.He only played a few times and i always wondered if it was the same Ricky Hill who played for Luton,it wasn't.
Anybody else remember this its all very vague To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
However, his days at Kenilworth Road weren’t entirely finished. Having left Le Havre and had brief a brief spell as a player with Leicester City, Ricky had a spell in America as he joined Tampa Bay Rowdies as a player-coach where he took them to two national championships and was named 'Coach of the Year'. On his return to England, Ricky had brief spells as a player with non-league sides Chertsey Town and Hitchin Town before returning to the USA for 18 months as player-coach of Coco Expos |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. It was the early 80s and around the same time Hill was playing for Luton in the top division.I remember chats/arguments with mates at the time trying to decide if it was the same Ricky Hill. I hope somebody on here remembers or a memory of mine was a just a dream To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. It wisnae though To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ye just ignoring my post before yours? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. But hurrah i thought i was going mental imagining this Hill felly who played for Hibs.
Was it when Hibs were in the first division Beefy? I think he was from the Bahamas or something like that
Im just chuffed somebody else/you remembered him To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Yeh, your right! Ricky Hill(not the Luton Town one) played for us in the late 70/early 80's. He came in during the winter months, wore black woolie tights and gloves(when he played), didnae hing aboot too long tho' To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I think our longest serving FIRST TEAM player is David Murphy, he came in along with Chris Hogg and Boozy as one of Mowbray's first signings at the start of season 2004/05. This was before Fletcher made his breakthrough (Fletcher's first Hibs goal v Dundee Utd at home October 2004?)
Of course our longest serving player in general would have to be Fletch though To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ..... I think To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Can't remember if he ever played a first team game though
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
Think my dad was the first black professional scottish player (1st or 2nd).
Kevin Harper To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Let She Who Is Without Sin Cast The First Stone To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. What defines us is how well we rise after falling To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Fletch's debut predates Murphys:
10th April 2004 v Kilmarnock HOWEVER Ali Brown [the goalkeeper] was involved in first team prior to this, he was the sub goalie the night that Hibs beat Rangers in the League cup in February 2004. Regards Ricky Hill He was signed by Hibs on 5th December 1981, was a bermudan international, but never featured in a competitive first team game. Signing in the middle of winter presumably didnae help.
Fletch made 5 first team appearances(actually on the park, not as unused sub) in 2003-04, Wee Fat Boabs last season, so pre-dates anyone that Tony Mowbray brought in. Ali Brown was on the bench a few games before the semi against the Huns, his first appearance on the bench was against Dundee in a 1-1 draw at ER(We had just lost "Big Hylda" in the "windae", who was the usual back-up tae Big Danny) but I'm fecked if I can remember him ever playing until Mogga was forced to throw him in against Vetra in the Intertattie at Easter Road, cos we didnae have a keeper at all. The Chuckle Bros never even gave 'um a game after WFB fecked off. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. So, on the playing side, Fletch is officially our Longest Serving Player. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.