Old 30-09-07, 11:52   #1

Stand firm Mouser stand firm

I was lying in my bed this morning thinking about the possibilities of us splitting the Bigot Brothers [at the least] and as my mind wandered a few months down the line to the January transfer window I mused on what might happen should we still be in the position [or better] that we are in now. I wasnt altogether sure there would be any axe to grind but still, something in the back of my mind was nagging away.

And then I read SG7nil's post on another thread and he summed it up by saying "we wouldnt be allowed to win it" by that I think he means that come the january window with the Hibs still in position the bigot bros inc would simply try to buy the parts of our team that were causing the most damage in order to stave off any threat to their domestic duopoly. The players would be offered good money to lure them along the M8 and whilst the bank balances increased the first team football they enjoy at the San Siro would be lost along with their careers.

So maybe i'm just a worrier or maybe both myself and SG7nil are worriers or worse still maybe we are right to be concerned. The sight of a bagful of filthy lucre would be enough to tempt most and Sir Rod of the Mouser is tempted pretty easily sometimes.

So I say to you Rodders, if this scenario unfolds come January dont let us down. Stand firm sir.

Thoughts

Old 30-09-07, 11:59   #2

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about
Re: Stand firm Mouser stand firm

But if Tommy Burns and his Old Firm pals require competition for their entertaining European exploits, why would they do what you've outlined above?

[sarcastic smiley]

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 12:00   #3

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

I was lying in my bed this morning thinking about the possibilities of us splitting the Bigot Brothers [at the least] and as my mind wandered a few months down the line to the January transfer window I mused on what might happen should we still be in the position [or better] that we are in now. I wasnt altogether sure there would be any axe to grind but still, something in the back of my mind was nagging away.

And then I read SG7nil's post on another thread and he summed it up by saying "we wouldnt be allowed to win it" by that I think he means that come the january window with the Hibs still in position the bigot bros inc would simply try to buy the parts of our team that were causing the most damage in order to stave off any threat to their domestic duopoly. The players would be offered good money to lure them along the M8 and whilst the bank balances increased the first team football they enjoy at the San Siro would be lost along with their careers.

So maybe i'm just a worrier or maybe both myself and SG7nil are worriers or worse still maybe we are right to be concerned. The sight of a bagful of filthy lucre would be enough to tempt most and Sir Rod of the Mouser is tempted pretty easily sometimes.

So I say to you Rodders, if this scenario unfolds come January dont let us down. Stand firm sir.

Thoughts
A joint before you get up in the mornin pickles your heid for bit

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
21 days 20 hours 29 minutes
Old 30-09-07, 12:04   #4
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Aye, and sometimes induces paranoia.... the OF will steal all our players again... oh no.... woooooo....
Old 30-09-07, 12:05   #5

Hammer. Nail. Head.

We don't need the money, but then Rodders will probably come out with the excuse that the new East Stand has to be for somehow.

Old 30-09-07, 12:08   #6

I never usually touch the stuff until mid-day. Oh goody its that time already.

Aye, and sometimes induces paranoia.... the OF will steal all our players again... oh no.... woooooo....
Reality my love not paranoia
I know it sounds like paranoia but when a thought comes into my head, which admittedly is a rarity then I post it on here so that you can come on and pick on me.

Paranoid

Who

Old 30-09-07, 12:15   #7

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

I never usually touch the stuff until mid-day. Oh goody its that time
already.
I think the only player you have to worry about amongst your purple haze would be Murphy as Naylor is stinking for Celtic,dunno if he'd want to stay up here though

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
21 days 20 hours 29 minutes
Old 30-09-07, 12:21   #8

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Not so sure about this really. We don't have a big squad and from I have noticed we don't have any stars. This team is more of a team, rather than having a team with a few stand outs. At this moment we could lose pretty much anyone and they would be easily replaced by a player of similar ability. Last season with the loss of Scott Brown we were going to struggle to replace him this season, but then with no stars the team becomes more of a unit. It's a bit like motherwell, I can't think of any of their players as stand outs, but they played as a unit and played us off the park.

The OF coming calling when someone really sticks out. It is posible that either courier or fletcher might do this come the transfer window.

I disagree that "we won't be allowed" since it is in our own hands and for once we can tell the OF to GTF.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 12:39   #9
Tea Totalled Radge

I never usually touch the stuff until mid-day. Oh goody its that time already.

Reality my love not paranoia
I know it sounds like paranoia but when a thought comes into my head, which admittedly is a rarity then I post it on here so that you can come on and pick on me.

Paranoid

Who
You cant beat a lunchtime Sunday joint.
Old 30-09-07, 19:22   #10

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Thanks for picking up on that Dub.... you sussed exactly what I meant!

The point that Vini1875 makes about us not having standout players may be valid, however it doesn't make us any safer, in reality either of Smelltic or the Huns could easily afford to buy out our best starting midfield four, or back four for less than the cost of Scotty Broon!

That would be a fantastic investment for them if the upshot was that they'd be guaranteed Champions League football next season.

Personally I'd like to see the end of the January transfer window and have players committed to clubs for an entire season... the January window is just a charter for the big clubs to pillage the smaller ones who look like mounting a challenge. If there was no January window, clubs would at least have a full season to make the best out of their players before they could be poached.

Thoughts?

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 19:31   #11

After a hammering next week as we try to adapt to playing 4-5-1 and failing will this sense of spliting old firm thoughts turn to can we achieve top 6 this season thoughts?

probably.

Old 30-09-07, 19:46   #12

After a hammering next week as we try to adapt to playing 4-5-1 and failing will this sense of spliting old firm thoughts turn to can we achieve top 6 this season thoughts?

probably.
Talk of splitting the Old Firm is just ridiculous IMHO.

As is the thought of not achieving top six.
Old 30-09-07, 19:55   #13

Talk of splitting the Old Firm is just ridiculous IMHO.

As is the thought of not achieving top six.
If we didn't beat Kilrmarnock we would of had a good idea that we would be also-rans this season but. With Dundee United and Motherwell being consistant and possibility of Aberdeen and Hearts still to come good we might be middle table and flirting with top 6.
If we can continue the next 8 games like we did the last 8 then we could also be up there with the old firm, january to may depending. Nowt ridiculous.

A total backing from the support between games and results may be the difference.

Old 30-09-07, 20:02   #14

If we didn't beat Kilrmarnock we would of had a good idea that we would be also-rans this season but. With Dundee United and Motherwell being consistant and possibility of Aberdeen and Hearts still to come good we might be middle table and flirting with top 6.
If we can continue the next 8 games like we did the last 8 then we could also be up there with the old firm, january to may depending. Nowt ridiculous.

A total backing from the support between games and results may be the difference.
I disagree dude. IMHO we've no chance of splitting them. If we are within 20 (Yes TWENTY!) points of either one of them then IMHO that will have been a fantastic season as we'll be Third.

I don't think they are much better than us but they'll be over the season more consistent than us.

That said confidence can achieve a hell of a lot and if we went to Ibrox and came away undefeated this run just may continue...

Looking at our fixture list you can see where points are coming from and that's a positive sign.

Whatever, we'll be ahead of the Gunts for a very long time!!
Old 30-09-07, 20:23   #15
Tea Totalled Radge

Beat the hun on Saturday and then we're genuine contenders for a CL spot.
Old 30-09-07, 20:28   #16

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Beating the Hun (or possibly only getting a draw) is not beyond the realms of possibility.. remember that the forces of darkeness have European games to play midweek so maybe will be tired and not fully focussed on SPL matters... I hope!

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 20:36   #17

If Hibs go 4-3-3 and just take a chance against a dodgy Rangers back four then we could have a real chance of taking something back along the M8. That front three would be Fletcher, Antoine-Curier and Donaldson.
4-4-2 wouldn't be a bad starting formation aswell but I fear we will go 4-5-1 and try to scrape something. It could work and alot depends on luck on the day but between Boruc and getting an entire seasons of penalties being given against Killie I fear we have used up 2007's slice.

Im looking forward to Saturday immensely and that starts from the train journey at Haymarket. It will end there also. Here's hoping im buying Ryries a drink on the house.

Old 30-09-07, 20:40   #18
Capital Green

Stew the Hibee is a jewel in the roughStew the Hibee is a jewel in the rough

Beat the hun on Saturday and then we're genuine contenders for a CL spot.
bit early tae say that ?

- Visit the official bebo site of the Hibs Ultras.

- The official website of the Capital Greens.

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Trial match with salvesen
Trial played, hopefully signed.
Stew the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 20:43   #19

Blackbeard is on the way to a first team debut

IMHO the point being made is perfectly valid.
ANY team that presents a challenge to the big two will swiftly be put to the sword by the plunder of their key players.
It's fine to say we're in charge of our own destiny however, while that is the case, the OF will just flash the fivers in front of any wanted player to start the transfer ball rolling.
The Huns & Soapies will likely be one and two forever due to veto voting, officialdom and meedja assistance, attrition and any other sleekit method you care to come up with.
The also rans ar pi$$ing against the wind I'm afraid. A major shake up is required if things are to change. Mad as he may be, Vlad tried to stand up to the ugly sisters
(Jeez, I can't believe I just paid that bamstick a compliment)
Old 30-09-07, 20:45   #20