Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge
I thought referees were meant to be cracking down on this sort of thing.
Freeland today clearly indicated he thought players (Both ours and the hooped rodents) had dived on at least 4 occasions however never once got his card out his pocket for it. Yet Caldwell chooses to celebrate with a bit of taunting to the east stand and he's straight to the book. I've heard all the "It could start a riot" arguments before and they don't wash as far as i'm concerned. This is football, as long as players aren't leaving the field of play who cares if they take their shirts off, gesticulate to opposition, or do silly wee girly dances (Boruc). This is why we go and the kind of excitement we like to see. Players diving on the other hand IMHO are scum of the earth and trying to bare-face cheat to win. You can call it gamesmanship or simulation if you like but the truth is it's CHEATING and has no place on the pitch. About time refs consistently handed out cards to stamp this out.
Re: Freeland and the diving rule
Was brickin it before the game with him as ref, but he handled the game well today.
#3 | ||
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. are you on about. Its a clear infringement of the rules and he thoroughly deserved to be booked. Pr1ck [him, not you]. Quote:
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
||
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
IMO Freeland was shite, he took far too long to show yellow to Mcanimal and Mcgeady shoudve been booked for the dive he took. The linesman on the east stand side was as shite as AF was.
[quote=Dub;700622]:dub12:are you on about. Its a clear infringement of the rules and he thoroughly deserved to be booked. Pr1ck [him, not you].
I know it's against the rule but IMHO it's a stupid rule. Players celebrating a goal is part of the passion and thrill of the game. So what if they choose to do that by winding up the opposition fans? It's all banter. I remember a certain Derek Townsley doing it to Motherwell when he scored there a few years ago for us and we all cheered like crazy. Double standards. I think the rule should be dropped. Just my opinion.
Townsley got book for that, did he not score 2 that night?
vCash: 500 Thanks: 21
I thought he was pish as well. McAnus should have been booked LONG time before he actually was. And a lot of other dodgy decisions, but for both sides mind.
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
I just think when the referee cannae be arsed getting his cards out for players bare-faced cheating (Diving) then why are they so swift to pull it out for a wee celebration. After a goal a players always gonnae have a rush of blood. Let them get on and celebrate.
On the whole celebration thing i totaly agree, at the end of the day caldwell's the one thats had the smuggy wiped To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
[quote=Stanton Warrior;700684]
unlike the Jambo Andrius Velicka who got booked at ER for simply scoring... it is tho one of the most erratically enforced rules in the game tho |
From what I saw McGeadys dive was shocking and deserved a booking and McManus probably should have been booked earlier. Having said that Gathuessi was a bit lucky with a lunge in the first half as it would have come back to haunt him with his bookable offence in the second half.
Overall I thought Freeland did ok considering his reputation especially with us To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Bar one or two dubious decisions, which are inevitable, I was pleasantly surprised that Freeland had a decent game today. He let the game flow for a change and made no controversial decisions that affected the result. The bookings were more or less correct as I recall although I agree with the thread starter that the letter of the law was not applied this time regarding diving. There was one time when Courier went down for example and I thought if that's not a penalty then it had to be a yellow card for diving. I suspect it should have been the latter. There were other instances of this too as has been said.
Regarding the Caldwell goal celebration. Couldn't see it well at the time from where I was standing but I've just watched the highlights... Couldn't care less about him covering his ears, Shiels has done celebrated like that on at least two occasions, but Caldwell had a chance to celebrate in front of his own fans but made a beeline for the Hibs fans instead and therefore deserved to be booked in my opinion. Donaldson was booked for far less last week. |
I thot Freeland had his best game for us for years - still even if he gave us 5 dodgy penalties and 5 offside goals in the same game it woulf=d be hard to like him.