Incident At TFS
According to reports Hibs fans in hospitality have been arrested for racial abuse towards Russell Latapy,I truely hope this is not the case. |
Re: Incident At TFS
would seem strange since russell is an ex hibee but then again every team has their share of idiots. hope it's not true.
If this is true hope hibs give them a life ban and the polis throw the book at them
Idiots ! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jamie - Hibeesbounce Technical Team. For all technical issues.. please email To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ...SCOTLAND's SHAME! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
If this turns out to be true then i hope HFC take a stance by throwing the book at them and making a public apology to Russel on behalf of all the true supporters at Hibernian FC.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
of all the guys to abuse
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. wee Latapy is still popular with most Hibs supporters and is a really nice guy... fecking idiots |
If true I hope they will be named, shamed and banned for life. As a support, we're always harping on about how we're above all the bigotry and racism so turf them out.
By the same token, someone might have just done something unfortunate like blurt out "ya black XYZ" in the heat of the moment, say after Latapy committed a foul. Totally unacceptable, but at the same time would you really ban someone for life, and try to make some kind of figure of ridicule and hate out of them, when it could have been minor/unintentional (I'm not condoning racial abuse BTW). There is a bloke along from me in the West Stand used to call Balde a 'black XYZ' and 'back to the jungle'. Still there now. What we should all do is WAIT AND SEE WHAT THE FACTS ARE before reacting hysterically.
By the same token, if the guy made repeated/deliberate/lengthy/highly abusive comments, hammer him/her.
Of all the people for a Hibby to racially abuse, ffs, Russell Latapy, the guy is a hibee god imo. |
I have just been talking to a source
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. and it has been confirmed that 4 hibs fans have been arrested for racial abuse,A Falkirk fan has also been reported in a seperate incident but he left before he was arrested but we know who he is and will be questioned in due time. Sin die all 5 of them for our clubs. |
To be really honest with you, I don't know what the clubs legal standpoint is anyway. Falkirk could probably ban him/her on the grounds that he/she was arrested ON SUSPICION OF committing an offence (doesn't actually say it was a racial one). The police COULD take this person to court, which MIGHT results in a conviction IF there was evidence behind it. Character, previous form, heat of the moment, didn't mean it etc. etc. I'm not sure Hibs would have a legal position to ban someone, and they certainly wouldn't if they weren't convicted. Even if they were - does the club have the power to ban them?
I had a tutorial class at uni in 1st year, where a member of the class objected to myself and another student referring to people as 'black'. (This was a Sociology class and we were discussing the impact of Hurricane Katrina, and whether it was being treated differently by the media and the government in the USA than if it had happened somewhere else). She claimed we were being derogatory, saying that "black men are portayed XYZ", or that "they may be being discriminate against because they were black" etc. Now, this person (who was, quite clearly, an idiot) - and in my opinion was trying to get some kind of twisted kudos by appearing to be some kind of 'tolerance crusader' - said they thought that it could be reported to the uni, or to the police. Would you have 'thrown the book' at me in that instance?
and no, I'd agree with you the pc merchant was an erse |
But Hibs can't discriminate against someone (ironically) for no REASONABLY JUSTIFIABLE reason. Thus, if the person was NOT convicted I don't see the club has a leg to stand on. If they ARE convicted, maybe there is something with previous form, threat of bringing the club into disrepute etc. Clearly, there will be separate issues especially if the incident is proved to be 'substantive', for instance the person/people who likely be ridiculed by fellow fans. If this was Bobo Balde would there be the same outcry, however?
Hibs can't stop a black man who wants to watch football at ER. They can't stop a white man either.
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
As a Falkirk fan I refuse to believe any genuine Hibs' fan would say anything derogatory to Russell let alone anything racial ...
I noticed the warm round of applause he got from the away end when he was named Man Of The Match and you should all be commended for it.
If this story is true I'll eat my substantialy fat arse
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Tartan Army Radge
![]() Join Date: May 2007
there was sum tosser in front of me calling clayton donaldson a black bas***d after he scored his goal and got booked
dont know why anyone would say that especially after he just scored for your team
Rangers 0-1 Hibernian To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. hibs fans after the rangers game |
#22 | |
Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge
This is a matter of hibs standing up to er$eholes like this and sending out a message to everybody that this kind of behaviour is not welcome at the club. Whether the police gather enough evidence to convict anybody is not a matter for the club it's a matter for the police. If the club choose to exclude these individuals then it's the clubs prerogative. The club is a business and as with any business (Shops etc) it can choose it's patrons any way it likes (As long as it doesn't break Race discrimination laws or disability discrimination laws) There's no smoke without fire so as far as i'm concerned good riddance To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.