Old 14-09-07, 13:06   #1

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough
Scumbos Derby Record- Urban Myths? Or Fact?

Quite often when discussing Hibs and Hearts with my scumbo friends they come out with either or both of the following nuggets of information;

1. "7-0? Aye but he biggest win in a derby was 10-2 to us!"
2. "We've won more derbies at ER than youse have!"

Are either of these actually (watertight) correct?

Please don't tell me number 2 is true! Even during 22 in a row they didn't win too much at Easter Road, and even if they did that surely still wouldn't be enough to make it fact.
Old 14-09-07, 13:37   #2

Kenny will become famous soon enough
Re: Scumbos Derby Record- Urban Myths? Or Fact?

Quite often when discussing Hibs and Hearts with my scumbo friends they come out with either or both of the following nuggets of information;

Please don't tell me number 2 is true! Even during 22 in a row they didn't win too much at Easter Road, and even if they did that surely still wouldn't be enough to make it fact.

probably answers both definatley answers the first

moral of the story - dont talk to scumbos

Old 14-09-07, 13:42   #3

i dunno,the jammy bastards always manged to get a win out of nothing against us
Old 14-09-07, 13:55   #4

probably answers both definatley answers the first

moral of the story - dont talk to scumbos
What a busy screen that is. Horrible to look at imo.

Old 14-09-07, 13:58   #5

Kenny will become famous soon enough

not unlike the football team that site is devoted too.

Old 14-09-07, 14:06   #6

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

not unlike the football team that site is devoted too.
That's being a wee bit too nice to them for my liking!
Old 14-09-07, 15:39   #7

Noticed the 10-2 game they refer to happened on the 12th of August 1893! So I ain't counting that!

There's so many stats on that page it's actually horrible to look at. Bleurgh!
Old 14-09-07, 16:12   #8

SmilingLeither is on the way to a first team debut

it was a friendly match, its mentioned in one of alan lugtons books. so i guess you could say it doesnt matter.
SmilingLeither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-07, 19:45   #9

Alan Thomson is on the way to a first team debut
Smile Re: Scumbos Derby Record- Urban Myths? Or Fact?

I think we just have to accept that in head to heads they have had the better of us overall. However we still have alot to feel good about:-

1. In the 20 years 1964-1984 they only beat us 9 times in total.
2. since the premier league/ SPL they have been relegated 3 times (and
failed to get back up once) to our twice ( back up straight away both times)
3. We have a far superior European record than them.
4. We had the "Famous Five" team who were genuinely regarded as one of the best teams in the world at the time. That's something they have never been able to boast.
5. We have had more international players who were genuinely regarded as among the best when they played.
6.First in Europe
7. First with floodlights.
8. First with shirt sponsorship
9. Higher home attendance record
10. Higher away attendance record.
11. Best run Club in the country.
12. One of the most popular teams in the country outwith our own support (As compared with one of the most hated) They're not paranoid for nothing!!
Alan Thomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-07, 20:07   #10

I think we just have to accept that in head to heads they have had the better of us overall. However we still have alot to feel good about:-

1. In the 20 years 1964-1984 they only beat us 9 times in total.
2. since the premier league/ SPL they have been relegated 3 times (and
failed to get back up once) to our twice ( back up straight away both times)
3. We have a far superior European record than them.
4. We had the "Famous Five" team who were genuinely regarded as one of the best teams in the world at the time. That's something they have never been able to boast.
5. We have had more international players who were genuinely regarded as among the best when they played.
6.First in Europe
8. First with shirt sponsorship
9. Higher home attendance record
10. Higher away attendance record.
11. Best run Club in the country.
12. One of the most popular teams in the country outwith our own support (As compared with one of the most hated) They're not paranoid for nothing!!
Top post mate!
Old 14-09-07, 21:28   #11

GibbytheHibby is on the way to a first team debut

Err - I think that was actually Stenhousemuir. We played them in the first floodlit game at their ground. edit - sorry, just realised you were comparing US with them.

13. First in Scotland with a scoreboard (can you call it that)
Old 14-09-07, 21:33   #12

HutchieHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Quite often when discussing Hibs and Hearts with my scumbo friends
can you find any followers of Third Lanark... simply introduce your Jambo supporting friends and tell them they will soon have much in common

go on the wee team
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-07, 21:42   #13

Big team wee team pish...

in the early to mid 1950s when floodlights were getting stuck into grounds but before European football

some genius decided to organise the Anglo Scottish floodlit League...

ok so the beaks at the English and Scottish FA's shat a brick... so the clubs decided to stick it right up them and organise it as series of friendlies.

so a whole series of "friendly" games were played, all leading Scottish clubs versus leading english clubs...

the crowds were huge... partly the novelty of fitba under lights, partly the draw of big English sides...

but where oh where did the poor old floodlight less jambos play their home games

oh yes at the Scottish ground with the BEST floodlights in Britain... Easter Road

big team you see
Old 14-09-07, 21:46   #14

three years later the big team got the go ahead from the bank to install floodlights

what's Lithuanian for "if you know yer history"
Old 15-09-07, 04:29   #15
Pizza Munchin' Zoog Radge

zondervan is on the way to a first team debut

Good day to you, Hibernian Kevin.

Falkirk beckons, but I need to at least give you my wisdom before I go for a cat-nap.

Let your Jambo friends berate you until their veins pop out of their maroon heids. Then, sit back, light a cigar, and utter the 2 magic words:

ALBERT KIDD

1986 = the biggest fuck-up of a league title ever and it will never happen again. Anywhere.

Hee hee hee!!!!!

Nobody kicks..........:YAYYY:

Respect to John Blackley and his Baby Crew

zondervan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-07, 09:19   #16

gragil69 is on the way to a first team debut

three years later the big team got the go ahead from the bank to install floodlights

what's Lithuanian for "if you know yer history"
если вы знаете историю yer

well close enough anyway

Old 15-09-07, 09:45   #17
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

All you need to know is our best forward line were universaly known as th FAMOUS five. Their best forward line was universaly known as the TERRIBLE trio. Says it all really.

Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-07, 11:52   #18

Err - I think that was actually Stenhousemuir. We played them in the first floodlit game at their ground. edit - sorry, just realised you were comparing US with them.

13. First in Scotland with a scoreboard (can you call it that)
Ther was not ing wron with th scor b ard

Old 15-09-07, 11:58   #19

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

Ferranti Thistle were the first club in Scotland to have an Electronic Scoreboard. It's still there today.

HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-07, 12:09   #20
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

Ferranti Thistle were the first club in Scotland to have an Electronic Scoreboard. It's still there today.
Did they play at Meadowbank before they got in the leage and changed there name?

Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-07, 12:10   #21