Old 23-08-07, 11:53   #1

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice
Mowbrays legacy

A reputation for good attractive (if occasionally ineffective and frustratingly inconsistent) football played by a bunch of young players who went on to prove themselves.

And a mountain of promises made to players about them getting improved contracts sowing the seeds of discontent for the future...

I'm particularly astonished at him doing this when he probably had an inkling he might not be at ER too long, and that he had set a precedent for not honouring a previous managers promise to a player in not giving Riordan a new deal...

Up till now; Brown, Thomson, Jones, and Killen have all came out with this.

I think Saint Tony knew exactly what he was doing. Get players in with promises of jam tomorrow and get the best out of them while he was here and not giving a feck about the position of the next manager or the club when he fecked off.

My respect for him since he left has went downhill in a fairly rapid way...

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 23-08-07, 11:56   #2
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.

HailHail will become famous soon enough
Re: Mowbrays legacy

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
A reputation for good attractive (if occasionally ineffective and frustratingly inconsistent) football played by a bunch of young players who went on to prove themselves.

And a mountain of promises made to players about them getting improved contracts sowing the seeds of discontent for the future...

I'm particularly astonished at him doing this when he probably had an inkling he might not be at ER too long, and that he had set a precedent for not honouring a previous managers promise to a player in not giving Riordan a new deal...

I think Saint Tony knew exactly what he was doing. Get players in with promises of jam tomorrow and get the best out of them while he was here and not giving a feck about the position of the next manager or the club when he fecked off.

No arguments there

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-07, 12:12   #3

Agreed.

But you missed out Zibi...
Old 23-08-07, 12:15   #4
Blackhall Radge

ct01 will become famous soon enough

My respect dwindled for him the morning we were heading thru to Celtic park i believe and he came out with some very defeatist comments in the press. JC may or may not have his faults but i like him a lot more as a person and the manager of our club than i ever did Mowbray. Some of the stuff Mowbray came out with to start with was music to the fans ears but after a while it sounded very hollow. His handling of the Riordan situation is something i will never forget either if rumours of the contract being removed were true.
ct01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-07, 12:50   #5

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

I dont agree.
Wee man you are dancing to the tune of this agent by promoting the notion that Mowbray (or someone) promised more cash later (notwithstanding the current deal.)
For this we have the word of the Agent only or perhaps Jones himself as well.

Its in their interest to present it this way but there is no real way of knowing if there is ANY truth in it.
If the agent was advising at the time the original deal was struck he should have got the review clause in writing.
Tough titty if he didnt but spare us the bullshit now Smith.

Of course Jones not wanting to play for hibs anymore is a different and more serious question IMO but I dont believe criticism of St Tony is justified.

My guess is he's getting the cold shoulder from JC because of his part in the mutiny.
theres only gonna be one winner Jonah and it aint gonna be you:

Old 23-08-07, 12:55   #6

80 boab has a spectacular aura about80 boab has a spectacular aura about

Spot on,Al.
I wouldn't have heard a bad word about Tony before he left,but i'm bewildered with all these promises to rip up contracts that then aren't re-negotiated.
Or is Evil Rod just playing Dumb?
80 boab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-07, 13:15   #7

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by hughieo View Post
I dont agree.
Wee man you are dancing to the tune of this agent by promoting the notion that Mowbray (or someone) promised more cash later (notwithstanding the current deal.)
For this we have the word of the Agent only or perhaps Jones himself as well.

Its in their interest to present it this way but there is no real way of knowing if there is ANY truth in it.
If the agent was advising at the time the original deal was struck he should have got the review clause in writing.
Tough titty if he didnt but spare us the bullshit now Smith.

Of course Jones not wanting to play for hibs anymore is a different and more serious question IMO but I dont believe criticism of St Tony is justified.

My guess is he's getting the cold shoulder from JC because of his part in the mutiny.
theres only gonna be one winner Jonah and it aint gonna be you:

Jones is by my reckoning the 5th player to have come out with this that we know about, and all of those players were signed or given a new contract under Mowbray. They could all be lying in fairness, but iirc Brown & Thomsons agent who was dumped by them for Mackay said this was the case, and he didn't particularly have any reason to say that...

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 23-08-07, 16:01   #8

persevered is on the way to a first team debut

Surely if they were offered it, the smart thing would to be

-have something down in writing, a renegotiation date?

-have the chairman, aware and agreeing to it.

Who can prove that Mobray did say it and if he did was he just trying to keep they players sweet?

Le Jackson 6
persevered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-07, 17:00   #9

Originally Posted by persevered View Post
Surely if they were offered it, the smart thing would to be

-have something down in writing, a renegotiation date?

-have the chairman, aware and agreeing to it.

Who can prove that Mobray did say it and if he did was he just trying to keep they players sweet?

In Jonesy's case,(and probably all the others that left tae) his "contract review" has already been discussed,
in private, with his agent and RP/JC, and Hibs offered something that they didnae/widnae accept. So they/he must've had all/most of the points you put.

His "contract review", and this is the bit that pisses me off, is now being discussed via the media. Typical agent tactics to put the club in a bad light. As we seen wae Riordan, Thomson, Brown, Killen, etc.

The only one who's "contract review" was'nt discussed via the media was Whittaker. Pity he still went to the Huns.

Old 23-08-07, 18:39   #10

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby View Post
In Jonesy's case,(and probably all the others that left tae) his "contract review" has already been discussed,
in private, with his agent and RP/JC, and Hibs offered something that they didnae/widnae accept. So they/he must've had all/most of the points you put.

His "contract review", and this is the bit that pisses me off, is now being discussed via the media. Typical agent tactics to put the club in a bad light. As we seen wae Riordan, Thomson, Brown, Killen, etc.

The only one who's "contract review" was'nt discussed via the media was Whittaker. Pity he still went to the Huns.
In June i was told today , apparently it was discussed at his dads 50th but his colleagues and their families were sworn to secrecy