Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Casino cash: £4325 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
Anyone go to the game against Dumbarton on 6th Apr 1985?
I was in the library recently, researching something totally unrelated to football, about something that happened in the weekend of 5-7th April 1985, for an essay. I was trying to get a picture of what was happening in Glasgow that weekend.
It was the Easter holiday weekend and Hibs had a do-or-die must-win match against Dumbarton, away, to try and stay in the Premier League. The club, or it could have been the chairman Kenny Waugh, paid for a fleet of 30 coaches for Hibs fans to go through west. Apparently he sent a letter to every coach to tel fans to behave! Hibs won the game and stayed up. It was the same weekend that Alex Ferguson brought an Aberdeen team down to the Weedge for the last time. (And humped the Hun en route to winning the league title, for the last time anyone outside the Ugly Sisters.) Anyone go through to the game against Dumbarton, and remember the day out? And this might seem like a really weird question, but anyone remember what the weather was like that afternoon?
Casino cash: £4942 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Re: Anyone go to the game against Dumbarton on 6th Apr 1985?
I was at the game, can't remember what the weather was like.
I think Hibs won 3-1 tho'.
Casino cash: £680 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
if its the same game im thinking of im sure it was wet/drizzle
Casino cash: £4607 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
Casino cash: £13048 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Could be getting it mixed up with another one but Brian Rice was a total stand out in that game iirc? Think it was that summer he got sold.
I was there. Nervy nervy day but there was an exceptionally big Hibs support out. Weather Boghead, so probably shite!
Casino cash: £5180 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Answered on other thread!!
Casino cash: £5015 vCash: 10000
I remember 4 blokes standing on the terracing with those in vogue arab head dresses on. They were singing "we've got Terry Waite you've no'"
![]() ![]() Mind my uncle Jimmy greetin at the FT whistle as well. ![]()
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Casino cash: £1987 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
i was at that game, the weather was awful. Nail biting game but we won easy in the end IIRC. Was just a laddie but it was great stuff (from a poor Hibs era)
Casino cash: £4292 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
the boghead armada
Casino cash: £470 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I was there too, but score if I remember right was 2 - 0 Hibs. Remember being at central station in glasgow after match and all the Hibs fans were shepherded by the polis as if we were going to kick off. didn't help that Aberdeen and the OF fans were there at the same time. Quite a few Hibs fans got taken away for arguing the toss.
Tea Totalled Radge
Thanks for the recollections. The Daily Record weather forecast was for light drizzle but who trusts weather forecasts. Or the Daily Record. Here's a snapshot of Scotland/football in April 1985:
It was the week that Dobbie's Butterfly Farm opened (at a cost of £160,000) and the week before Noele Gordon died. 6th April was two days after the Tory government forced all future Scotland-England matches at Wembley to be moved from a Saturday to a Wednesday night. There was a mass meeting of the 4000 strong workforce at Yarrows shipyard on 5th April, following a week long sit-in strike. Unemployment in Scotland dropped by 5,263 to 251,907 (15.6% of the Scottish workforce An editorial in the Police Review called for the legalisation of cannabis. The Daily Record had a headline about the spread of HIV: "Gay Plague Five Times Higher". And it was the same week that the Adam Smith Institute put forward a paper recommending a change in local taxation to "a poll tax".Juventus beat Bordeaux 3-0 the following Wednesday (Platini played for Juve; Tigana and Giresse played for Bordeaux). Liverpool beat Panathanaikos 4-0 the same night. The Liverpool fans sang "We're All Going To Brussels" at the end of the match. Seems like a different universe from now.
Casino cash: £255 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Our bus driver got lost so we were late. I remember Brian Rice scoring, we won the game quite comfortably as I recall. It was good because you could still walk round the pitch at half time to get a better view of the goals.
Dumbarton never did make it back the Premier after that. The Premier was much more exciting then. If you were 5th you got into Europe, if you were 9th you got relegated. We always seemed to be between the two. |
Casino cash: £4292 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
Tea Totalled Radge
Seriously? Could have sworn blind Fergie went to Man U at begining of 85-86 season.(Wikipedia says Nov 1986. )
Casino cash: £4619 vCash: 17000
I was there.
And if my auld memory serves me? I think it was pishing of rain as I'm sure there was puddles all over the park.I cant remember much of the game, but Boghead was like Forrester Park( Tranent juniors) a fcukin midden.
Casino cash: £6815 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]()
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge
Casino cash: £22721 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Did Andy Watson get booed off that day ?
Casino cash: £5015 vCash: 10000
Cannae mind, but if he didnae he should have. Pish. ![]()
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Casino cash: £4582 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I was on one of the (30) buses and got speaking to a student who said he wasn't actually going to the game but that he came from Dumbarton and was just cadging a free trip home for the weekend.
![]() It was a cold misereable day but actually a very comfortable win and Hibs ended up a good 6/7 point ahead of Dunbarton which was actually quite a lot as it was only 2 points for a win in them days. Funnilly enough went back 12/13 years later during 'The Great Adventure' in the worst league in the world and the ground hadn't changed one iota. I think it was against Clydebank this time as they didnae have a ground and stood in exactly the same spot behind the goal with Hibs losing 1-0 this time and Stevie Crawford missing a penalty. ![]()
![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
Casino cash: £250 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
My only real abiding memory of that day was me and my two mates getting chased by some Dumbarton fans before the game. My buddy Coco was steaming and i recall him trying to run and puke up at the same time.
Casino cash: £2589 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
I got the train from Partick that day. Dont remember the weather being bad at all. Got the train back with GlasgowIan, planning on going on a pub crawl and hoping that Liverpool had managed to beat Ipswich away to complete a fourfold accumulator.
We were met by policemen with dogs on the platform at Partick snarling and telling us to get back on that train to Edinburgh. I wasnt having that as I had stayed in Glasgow all my life. They asked for ID and proof of address before they would let us down the escalators. After explaining where I stayed and pointing to my flat window over his shoulder he reluctantly let us go from the platform. Same scenario at the bottom too.... Anyway, Liverpool won 1-0, Jack was £80 better off, went and got trousered with Ian, went away for a nice overnight stay in Helensburgh on the Sunday (not with Ian, I hasten to add), picked up the winnings on the Monday and went to the pub opposite the bookies beside the shop called 'rent or buy'. Backed a horse called 'rent or buy' at 8/1, picked another 8/1 shot and doubled my winnings! Went and saw Ghostbusters on the Sunday night. Just about the perfect weekend when everything fell into place :YAYYY: fj |
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge
Casino cash: £10080 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
I was there.
Can't clearly remember a thing. Was there a railway carriage parked next to the ground as a social club or did I not make it past the station? ![]()
![]() For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
#23 |