Old 20-08-07, 21:00   #1

wester hailes is on the way to a first team debut
hibs book

can anyone help?

I`m trying to remember the name of a hibs book i was given(but have now lost) whilst i was working away.

It was about 1996 i got the book and it was about the off field rather than the usual Hibs books. It also had 3 interesting facts at the front or rear of said book. one was that hearts were actually started in 1875 and another was something about 7-0 games (i think) the other i honestly can`t remember.

If anyone can knows the name of this book it would be appreciated if they could tell me.

cheers in advance
wester hailes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-07, 21:21   #2

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
Re: hibs book

Originally Posted by wester hailes View Post
can anyone help?

I`m trying to remember the name of a hibs book i was given(but have now lost) whilst i was working away.

It was about 1996 i got the book and it was about the off field rather than the usual Hibs books. It also had 3 interesting facts at the front or rear of said book. one was that hearts were actually started in 1875 and another was something about 7-0 games (i think) the other i honestly can`t remember.

If anyone can knows the name of this book it would be appreciated if they could tell me.

cheers in advance
The Easter Road Story-John R Mackay

http://www.antiqbook.co.uk/boox/arc/18232.shtml
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 20-08-07, 21:55   #3

SlovSam has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by wester hailes View Post
can anyone help?

It was about 1996 i got the book and it was about the off field rather than the usual Hibs books. It also had 3 interesting facts at the front or rear of said book. one was that Hearts were actually started in 1875 and another was something about 7-0 games (i think) the other i honestly can`t remember.

cheers in advance
The three facts at the rear of the book are as follows:

(1) Quite an interesting piece 'proving' that Hearts were actually formed later than Hibs in 1875 rather than 1874 as their club crest claims.

Always rather a dangerous argument to enter into I've always thought given that Hibs went out of business for 18 months between 1889 and 1891.

(2) A paragraph about the Famous Five with the rather quaint argument that prior to Bobby Johnstone there was actually another Johnstone called Leslie and hence Leslie Johnstone was in fact the original Famous Five member which probably he disnae even ken.

(3) Some more long lost facts about father and siblings who have played for Hibs.
Joe and Joe Mcbride Jnr is an easy one(rememeber these two free kicks at Tynecastle)
Jimmy and Paul ('Kano') Kane is also quite well known as is Allan and Mark ('Quick Draw' or was it 'Nae goals') McGraw

The last one though is most unusual:

Murdo Mcleod's faither (not named) played for Hibs around 1939 so would you credit it.

Also Murdo Mcleod, 'Quick Draw' McGraw, Joe Mcbride Junior and Kano were all at the club at the same time hence it reasonable to conclude that the author John R Mackay obviously had a lot of time on his hands when researching this book.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-07, 22:00   #4

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post

(1) Quite an interesting piece 'proving' that Hearts were actually formed later than Hibs in 1875 rather than 1874 as their club crest claims.

Always rather a dangerous argument to enter into I've always thought given that Hibs went out of business for 18 months between 1889 and 1891.
lugton mentions the same - and aye we should be hibs 189? something and likewise hertz should be later too
(2) A paragraph about the Famous Five with the rather quaint argument that prior to Bobby Johnstone there was actually another Johnstone called Leslie and hence Leslie Johnstone was in fact the original famous five member which probably he disnae even ken.
he wisnae very famous then

(3) Some more long lost facts about father and siblings who have played for Hibs.
Joe and Joe Mcbride Jnr is an easy one(remember these two free kicks at Tynecastle)
Jimmy and Paul ('Kano') Kane is also quite well knoiwn as is Allan and Mark ('Quick Draw') McGraw though the last one is most unusual.

Murdo Mcleod's faither (not named) played for Hibs around 1939 so would you credit it.
murdo born 1958...so not outwith the realm of possibilty
Old 20-08-07, 22:08   #5

FergosMonchacha is on the way to a first team debut

(2) A paragraph about the Famous Five with the rather quaint argument that prior to Bobby Johnstone there was actually another Johnstone called Leslie and hence Leslie Johnstone was in fact the original Famous Five member which probably he disnae even ken.

Joe and Joe Mcbride Jnr is an easy one(rememeber these two free kicks at Tynecastle):applause:
Jimmy and Paul ('Kano') Kane is also quite well known as is Allan and Mark ('Quick Draw' or 'nae goals') McGraw

The last one though is most unusual:

Also Murdo Mcleod, 'Quick Draw' McGraw, Joe Mcbride Junior and Kano were all at the club at the same time hence it reasonable to conclude that the author John R Mackay obviously had a lot of time on his hands when researching this book.
One of my best nights at tynie even though it ended a draw.

Remember comin out wi my Dad and gettin slagged off by a fully grown yamm - I must of been about 10 at the time - very brave of him I must say.

Always had a soft spot for Joe McBride junior - hat trick vs Morton or Dundee - canny mind but we won 5-1 Im sure.

Great Days

Mon the Hibs
FergosMonchacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-07, 22:26   #6

muchas gracias guys

i was at the game at tynie when joe mcb scored 2 in the last five mine, just getting to the exit when we got the free kick at the end. probably one of the best celebrations from the hibs fans i`ve seen . you would have thought we had won
Old 20-08-07, 23:30   #7

FergosMonchacha is on the way to a first team debut

Correctamundo Wester Hailes. Class jump about after that goal.

Remember all Hibs fans singin as we left the Stadium and into the dark streets of Gorgie.

Priceless

Camon the Hibs
FergosMonchacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-07, 20:40   #8

Originally Posted by FergosMonchacha View Post
Correctamundo Wester Hailes. Class jump about after that goal.

Remember all Hibs fans singin as we left the Stadium and into the dark streets of Gorgie.

Priceless

Camon the Hibs

AH sang until we were hoarse :YAYYY: Good memories that