Old 25-07-07, 23:33   #1

kev1875 is on the way to a first team debut
Thanks Rock Steady

Thanks to your conduct tonight a couple of members of Lancashire Hibs will have to be persuaded to come back to Easter Road. Not only that, but a couple of Bolton fans who were in my company who were, up until the point i was basically assaulted by one of rock steadys finest, amazed by the quality of everything about Hibs they had seen, including the fans who they say made them feel extremely welcome, both in Coopers before the game and in the ground. They were adamant they would be back to watch another game, a few of them even putting their names in for a bus being run to the Gretna game, but after seeing the way that bint picked up a Hibs banner and threw it on the ground, they would rather leave it.

Thanks to the bint, whose name and number i have, Hibs have lost out on a few quid, and possibly the long term support of a few more people from Lancashire, and quite honestly, I don't see why I should bother turning up for another game if thats the way i'm going to be treated by so-called stewards.

I will be at Easter Road in the morning to make a formal complaint, anyone who was in the West Stand Upper, Section 13 towards the North Stand and witnessed what happened, feel free to let me know if you don't mind me mentioning your name tomorrow. This incident has totally ruined what was looking to be a good start to the season for Lancashire Hibs, and for me, Hibs as a club.
Old 25-07-07, 23:46   #2

Jamie is just really niceJamie is just really niceJamie is just really nice
Re: Thanks Rock Steady

Originally Posted by kev1875 View Post
Thanks to your conduct tonight a couple of members of Lancashire Hibs will have to be persuaded to come back to Easter Road. Not only that, but a couple of Bolton fans who were in my company who were, up until the point i was basically assaulted by one of rock steadys finest, amazed by the quality of everything about Hibs they had seen, including the fans who they say made them feel extremely welcome, both in Coopers before the game and in the ground. They were adamant they would be back to watch another game, a few of them even putting their names in for a bus being run to the Gretna game, but after seeing the way that bint picked up a Hibs banner and threw it on the ground, they would rather leave it.

Thanks to the bint, whose name and number i have, Hibs have lost out on a few quid, and possibly the long term support of a few more people from Lancashire, and quite honestly, I don't see why I should bother turning up for another game if thats the way i'm going to be treated by so-called stewards.

I will be at Easter Road in the morning to make a formal complaint, anyone who was in the West Stand Upper, Section 13 towards the North Stand and witnessed what happened, feel free to let me know if you don't mind me mentioning your name tomorrow. This incident has totally ruined what was looking to be a good start to the season for Lancashire Hibs, and for me, Hibs as a club.
Got pics of yer flag mate,the steward should have asked you to remove it as it was covering advertising boards but if he/she threw it to the ground then that's OTT

Old 25-07-07, 23:52   #3

Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
Got pics of yer flag mate,the steward should have asked you to remove it as it was covering advertising boards but if he/she threw it to the ground then that's OTT
Thanks for getting pix! She did ask us to move it as it was covering the boards, me and a boy i had up from Bolton started taking it off the boards, 10 seconds later (no exageration), before i even had the chance to un-tie the knot on one end, she was back, in the middle of the banner, picking it up and throwing it on the ground. I honestly couldn't beleive it. It cost me close on a hundred quid to get to tonights game and even the result doesn't give me any heart after that. I know that complaining probably won't get me anywhere as well so i might as well not bother.
Old 25-07-07, 23:54   #4

Tibs will become famous soon enough

there's always one twat who takes their job too seriously. dont let it put you off though, your flag looked great by the way
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 23:56   #5

Thanks for getting pix! She did ask us to move it as it was covering the boards, me and a boy i had up from Bolton started taking it off the boards, 10 seconds later (no exageration), before i even had the chance to un-tie the knot on one end, she was back, in the middle of the banner, picking it up and throwing it on the ground. I honestly couldn't beleive it. It cost me close on a hundred quid to get to tonights game and even the result doesn't give me any heart after that. I know that complaining probably won't get me anywhere as well so i might as well not bother.
If she asked you nicely and you were taking it down,which I saw,then she was OTT in doing that mate

Old 26-07-07, 00:03   #6

If she asked you nicely and you were taking it down,which I saw,then she was OTT in doing that mate

Ach, never mind, as a thread i have recently read on here reminds me, there is more important things and most definitely more worrying things in life. Thanks for the pics and to Moray for bringing the flag. It was worth it, even if some gunt bitch rock steady bint didn't think so. Mon the cabbage.
Old 26-07-07, 00:09   #7

Ach, never mind, as a thread i have recently read on here reminds me, there is more important things and most definitely more worrying things in life. Thanks for the pics and to Moray for bringing the flag. It was worth it, even if some gunt bitch rock steady bint didn't think so. Mon the cabbage.

Gimme yer email (via pm if you prefer) mate and i'll send you the 2048 sized pics

Uploading resized ones to gallery shortly

Old 26-07-07, 08:35   #8

Sorry to hear about what happened Kev, but are we not talking about one steward here.

You can hardly hold Hibs responsible (ie, by not coming back for games) for the actions of one person from an outside company - even Rock Steady, in theory, train all their staff in good faith: they might only get to find out about a bad'un if someone makes a complaint.

Old 26-07-07, 10:49   #9

even seems petty for it to be removed cause it was covering the advertising boards,not as if the game was going to be seen by millions

plus it was only the evening news one

another case of hibs being so out of touch with their fans
Old 26-07-07, 11:14   #10

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about
More Rock Steady Idiots

Rock Steady stewards must all have been on a jobsworth course then as we had an unfortunate experience in the West Upper with them last night.

The actions of one left a very bad taste in my mouth last night. This steward he behaved like an utter troll and treated me and my friends like common criminals.
My mates crime was that he was drinking a wee plastic bottle of water which had sugar in it. My mate is diabetic and he keeps sugar fluids on him for emergencies. So this steward marches over and says 'Gies that bottle, you canny have one of those blah blah blah....Ah've seen it and the Police Control box has seen it etc'
My friends explanation of his condition cut no ice either, the steward did not care and demanded that we hand over the highly offensive half empty 4 inch plastic bottle.

I was threatened with explusion from the ground when I retorted 'We would have bought a Coke but your coke tap in the West Upper concourse is broken and no soft drinks are available so if this gentleman has needs medical attention due to low blood sugar then I'll hold you personally responsible'.

Steward - 'Its no ma problem. Gies the bottle-its against the law etc.'
Me - 'This is just nonsense, he has a medical condition'
Steward 'Its no ma problem, that's against the rules'

As my mate didn't want any more bother he handed it over.
What a fucking stupid wanker this steward was - he should apply for a job at Parkhead where being a tosser is the prerequisite qualification all the stewards have to have.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 11:17   #11
Toon Army Radge

StevieC is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post
even seems petty for it to be removed cause it was covering the advertising boards,not as if the game was going to be seen by millions
Companies will pay Hibs good money for advertising, this money will ultimately have a bearing on bringing players in and the type of wages we can pay.

If you want to call it petty then you have obviously never been involved in marketing a company and the amount of hard work and the cost involved to try and get your company promoted.

If the club let someone cover up an advert I'd paid a lot of money I'd be going ballistic, and looking for the money spent to be fully refunded.

Surely most fans, with flags, must realise that they cant obstruct advertising boards by now?

Apparently, according to another thread, the steward was given a torrent of abuse for simply doing her job. Now, if true, that would be out of order.

Stevie Carr
StevieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 11:22   #12

lewisthehibee is on the way to a first team debut

dont see her problem, on the board it was evening news and u wer still able to see evening news
Old 26-07-07, 11:27   #13
Toon Army Radge

StevieC is on the way to a first team debut
Re: More Rock Steady Idiots

Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
As my mate didn't want any more bother he handed it over.
What a fucking stupid wanker this steward was - he should apply for a job at Parkhead where being a tosser is the prerequisite qualification all the stewards have to have.
Unfortunately it is against the law and the steward was simply doing what he has been told to do.

If the bottle had been discovered at the turnstile it would have had to have been binned, that's the rules.

Whether the rules are right or not is another issue but in this case it's not the steward that is at fault. He would have been at fault, however, if he had not acted on something he had seen and would you prefer he was hauled up by his superior and sacked? This guy might have a family and be dependent on the extra income to buy his kids the extra things in life he might not be able to afford otherwise.

I'll be honest, if I was a steward then the "sugar in the water because I'm diabetic" explanation probably wouldn't wash with me either because, before you know it, everyone would be using it.

Stewards can be t*ss**s, that's a fact .. but in both these cases I cant see them doing anything other than what they have been instructed to do by others.

Stevie Carr
StevieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 11:40   #14

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
Unfortunately it is against the law and the steward was simply doing what he has been told to do.

If the bottle had been discovered at the turnstile it would have had to have been binned, that's the rules.

Whether the rules are right or not is another issue but in this case it's not the steward that is at fault. He would have been at fault, however, if he had not acted on something he had seen and would you prefer he was hauled up by his superior and sacked? This guy might have a family and be dependent on the extra income to buy his kids the extra things in life he might not be able to afford otherwise.

I'll be honest, if I was a steward then the "sugar in the water because I'm diabetic" explanation probably wouldn't wash with me either because, before you know it, everyone would be using it.

Stewards can be t*ss**s, that's a fact .. but in both these cases I cant see them doing anything other than what they have been instructed to do by others.
My mate carries a diabetic card and showed it last night to no avail and Hibs soft drink dispensing unit was bust (again!) so the extra fluids he carries were potentially vital. He will continue to carry sugary fluids regardless as it might just save his life one day.

Regardless of whether the steward was right or not his attitude more than anything is what I call into question.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 11:43   #15
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

eckmf is on the way to a first team debut

So you think its ok to pick up a £750 banner and throw it on the ground? As i have already said, as soon as the steward asked me to move it i did, no arguments, no abuse. There is also a picture kicking about of Liverpool Hibbys flag over the boards and im sure that was at a gunts game. It was out for the whole of half time.

Where is the thread saying a steward was abused? Just curious as to where this happened, as if someone is saying i abused this bint in anyway, they are talking pish.

Last edited by eckmf; 26-07-07 at 14:03.
eckmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 11:48   #16
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Companies will pay Hibs good money for advertising, this money will ultimately have a bearing on bringing players in and the type of wages we can pay.

If you want to call it petty then you have obviously never been involved in marketing a company and the amount of hard work and the cost involved to try and get your company promoted.

If the club let someone cover up an advert I'd paid a lot of money I'd be going ballistic, and looking for the money spent to be fully refunded.

Surely most fans, with flags, must realise that they cant obstruct advertising boards by now?

Apparently, according to another thread, the steward was given a torrent of abuse for simply doing her job. Now, if true, that would be out of order.

Stevie, whilst you're absolutely right in what you say, the attitude of stewards towards paying customers can very often be the difference between a peaceful resolution and the start of world war 3. Although last night's game didn't fall into the 'powder keg' category (far from it), all it takes is for an aggressive steward to wind up someone the wrong way in such an atmosphere, then his or her mates kick off and before you can say erza macaroon bars, there is the unnecessary situation of a crowd of wound up fans ganging up against a steward who is acting way out with the bounds of his job description, which is first and foremost to ensure the safety of fans. I appreciate there are other elements to what must be a difficult job at times, but the fact remains that a calm approach is by far the best one.

As an example, one half time a couple of years ago, I was in the concourse at the upper West wi' the bairns, who were playing tig barely five yards from me, and bothering absolutely no-one. Next thing I know a steward comes up to them and starts bollocking them with a really aggressive attitude for 'annoying other people'. Which was, of course, utter mince. I went up to him (calmly, of course) and said that I heard him speaking to anyone like that again, let alone my own children, I'd remove his head from his shoulders. A 'sorry pal, I didn't want them knocking over any hot drinks' excuse quickly followed. By then I'd calmed doon a wee bit, and explained to him that if he'd said that to the kids in the same tone as he'd just spoken to me, then fair enough, but the fact he'd spoken to them like a piece of dirt was totally unnecessary and caused more upset than the crime that they weren't committing in the first place.

The old addage of 'treat people the way you'd like to be treated yourself' should be top of the training agenda. That way, we'll avoid threads like this is in the future.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 13:49   #17

captain pugwash is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by oo2beahibby View Post
Stevie, whilst you're absolutely right in what you say, the attitude of stewards towards paying customers can very often be the difference between a peaceful resolution and the start of world war 3. Although last night's game didn't fall into the 'powder keg' category (far from it), all it takes is for an aggressive steward to wind up someone the wrong way in such an atmosphere, then his or her mates kick off and before you can say erza macaroon bars, there is the unnecessary situation of a crowd of wound up fans ganging up against a steward who is acting way out with the bounds of his job description, which is first and foremost to ensure the safety of fans. I appreciate there are other elements to what must be a difficult job at times, but the fact remains that a calm approach is by far the best one.

As an example, one half time a couple of years ago, I was in the concourse at the upper West wi' the bairns, who were playing tig barely five yards from me, and bothering absolutely no-one. Next thing I know a steward comes up to them and starts bollocking them with a really aggressive attitude for 'annoying other people'. Which was, of course, utter mince. I went up to him (calmly, of course) and said that I heard him speaking to anyone like that again, let alone my own children, I'd remove his head from his shoulders. A 'sorry pal, I didn't want them knocking over any hot drinks' excuse quickly followed. By then I'd calmed doon a wee bit, and explained to him that if he'd said that to the kids in the same tone as he'd just spoken to me, then fair enough, but the fact he'd spoken to them like a piece of dirt was totally unnecessary and caused more upset than the crime that they weren't committing in the first place.

The old addage of 'treat people the way you'd like to be treated yourself' should be top of the training agenda. That way, we'll avoid threads like this is in the future.

Ahoy me heartys (spit). I don't know about you land lubbers but my experience is that the worst offenders are fat fuckin wenches that think that they are in the Waffen SS. They are in abundence at Hampden Park for some reason. Horrid creatures.
Yo Ho Ho
captain pugwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-07, 13:53   #18

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

you dont see UJ's and the like being removed by these same worms vs HOMFC and RFC at Easter Rd do you. Why?
Old 26-07-07, 13:59   #19