Old 25-07-07, 19:06   #1

Casino cash: £1156
Rep Power: 0 E.Lothian hibee is on the way to a first team debut
Hibs and Hearts battle it out for naismith!

Did anyone just here that on the bbc scotland sport bit? according to them(the BBC) Hibs and Hearts are batteling it out for naismith?! i didnt see that one coming...i rekon we could get him ahead of the yams as we would guarentee him a game, and also surely put a clause in his contract to sell him for a profit to a premiership club. any thoughts?
E.Lothian hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 19:13   #2

Casino cash: £6939
vCash: 10100614
Re: Hibs and Hearts battle it out for naismith!

Originally Posted by E.Lothian hibee View Post
Did anyone just here that on the bbc scotland sport bit? according to them(the BBC) Hibs and Hearts are batteling it out for naismith?! i didnt see that one coming...i rekon we could get him ahead of the yams as we would guarentee him a game, and also surely put a clause in his contract to sell him for a profit to a premiership club. any thoughts?
just seen this on the news

only one question if true ..............

Wages or 1st team footy? simple as that

i await the outcome............................

Bannox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 19:14   #3

Casino cash: £5921
vCash: 25700

with arsenal intersted 6 months ago it would be coup and a half.

i'll not get his name on my shirt yet.....
Old 25-07-07, 19:15   #4

Casino cash: £1156
Rep Power: 0 E.Lothian hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Bannox View Post
just seen this on the news

only one question if true ..............

Wages or 1st team footy? simple as that

i await the outcome............................
According to naismith 1st team football because remeber when he said about riordan that he didnt want to be a benchwarmer like riordan and thats why he doesnt want to go to celtic or any huge EPL clubs
E.Lothian hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 19:16   #5

Casino cash: £1990

If it goes down to personal terms expect to see our bid and naisy in a maroon shirt,unless uncle rodney has a rush of blood to the head
Old 25-07-07, 19:20   #6

Casino cash: £265

What I don't get is the transfer fee. If Killie are looking for close to £2m for Naismith then this surely rules us out of the bidding.

I personally would rather we offered £500,000 to Celtic to get Riordan back...
OJHIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 19:45   #7

Casino cash: £3664

Originally Posted by OJHIBS View Post
What I don't get is the transfer fee. If Killie are looking for close to £2m for Naismith then this surely rules us out of the bidding.

I personally would rather we offered £500,000 to Celtic to get Riordan back...
I would be with you. IMO Riordan is a better player.
Old 25-07-07, 19:46   #8

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs View Post
I would be with you. IMO Riordan is a better player.
Yip and I've read that a £500,000 bid would be considered by Celtic (dunno if this is true).

A bargain at that price!
Old 25-07-07, 19:49   #9

Casino cash: £1842

Yip and I've read that a £500,000 bid would be considered by Celtic (dunno if this is true).

A bargain at that price!
aparently the norwich offer £500,000 was turned down as too low
Old 25-07-07, 19:50   #10

Originally Posted by big ell View Post
aparently the norwich offer £500,000 was turned down as too low
Ok, sorry I didn't know that
Old 25-07-07, 19:54   #11

Casino cash: £1842

Ok, sorry I didn't know that
no probs, read it on sunday methinks, dont remember where tho.....
Old 25-07-07, 20:14   #12

Casino cash: £13288
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

My theory about that is that we have just took in a rake of money for Scott Brown which we'll be charged capital gains tax on as part of the profit for the year to next April. Whether it is on the park or not, Hibs will be looking to spend some cash over the next few months imo.

On the personal terms thing Hibs appear to be putting a 10% sell on fee on players contracts. If we said to Naismith he'll more than likely be sold next year for a minimum of £2m and he is put on a wage of near enough £4k a week that works out as pretty much £8k a week over the next year.

If it comes down to a choice between signing for Hibs & Hearts, no-one in their right mind is going to sign for a side where there is a) no manager b) whoever the manager is has not got the final say on the side selected c) serious rumours about wages not being paid d) an owner who does not sell players on because he wants unrealistic amounts of cash for them e) every chance you get dropped if a Lithuanian player in the same position becomes an owners favourite.

I still cannot see Naismith signing for us, but there are ways where this makes a certain amount of sense.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 25-07-07, 20:20   #13

Casino cash: £9976
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

The Killie chairman was on Real Radio last night and admitted that there was 4 clubs in the SPL after Naismith,He said that 1 club had outbidded both the old firm.....................

Although http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sp...?id=1160242007

Killie boss Jim Jefferies, however, has been quoted as saying he expects a fresh and firm bid for Naismith today - but not from Rangers. His words renewed speculation that Hibs may be that club, but Collins insisted: "It won't be us."
Old 25-07-07, 20:22   #14

Casino cash: £1955

If hearts start to offer silly money hibs could keep the bidding going for a while with no actual intention of buying the player thus adding to the debt and shortening the life of Hearts
Old 25-07-07, 21:11   #15

Casino cash: £4747

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
My theory about that is that we have just took in a rake of money for Scott Brown which we'll be charged capital gains tax on as part of the profit for the year to next April. Whether it is on the park or not, Hibs will be looking to spend some cash over the next few months imo.

On the personal terms thing Hibs appear to be putting a 10% sell on fee on players contracts. If we said to Naismith he'll more than likely be sold next year for a minimum of £2m and he is put on a wage of near enough £4k a week that works out as pretty much £8k a week over the next year.

If it comes down to a choice between signing for Hibs & Hearts, no-one in their right mind is going to sign for a side where there is a) no manager b) whoever the manager is has not got the final say on the side selected c) serious rumours about wages not being paid d) an owner who does not sell players on because he wants unrealistic amounts of cash for them e) every chance you get dropped if a Lithuanian player in the same position becomes an owners favourite.

I still cannot see Naismith signing for us, but there are ways where this makes a certain amount of sense.

Sorry to question your theory but Hibs are Ltd company with a financial year end of 31 July 2007 hence they pay Corporation Tax rather than Capital Gains Tax and in any case Hibs have billions of pounds of losses brought forward to offset against all the gain on player sales from the last few years so there won't be any tax bills at ER in the near future.

I'd be completely stunned if either Hibs took such a massive gamble with a £2m investment which they could only recoup by a future sale something which would be completely out of character for Mr Petrie.

It wouldn't be completly unheard of though as De La Cruz was bought for exactly the same sell on reason which was a financially succesful trade if a bit of a football non event.

However it would be a magnificent show of ambition and something to be completely applauded and is another example of how Hibs are now in a completely different financial league to the rest of the SPL outwith the usual suspects.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 21:44   #16

Casino cash: £4011

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
Sorry to question your theory but Hibs are Ltd company with a financial year end of 31 July 2007 hence they pay Corporation Tax rather than Capital Gains Tax and in any case Hibs have billions of pounds of losses brought forward to offset against all the gain on player sales from the last few years so there won't be any tax bills at ER in the near future.

I'd be completely stunned if either Hibs took such a massive gamble with a £2m investment which they could only recoup by a future sale something which would be completely out of character for Mr Petrie.

It wouldn't be completly unheard of though as De La Cruz was bought for exactly the same sell on reason which was a financially succesful trade if a bit of a football non event.

However it would be a magnificent show of ambition and something to be completely applauded and is another example of how Hibs are now in a completely different financial league to the rest of the SPL outwith the usual suspects.
Corporation Tax is paid out of operating profit decalred each year surely ? Hibs will be taken to the cleaners if no operating profit is declared this year unless of course millions are spent in the next week !
Old 25-07-07, 21:47   #17
A Radge Private Member

Casino cash: £1925

So would I (and the rest of Scotland) but the money that could be made quickly might sway RP to invest.
Showing the rest of the league we're in a different financial position would only last a short time as this would be a 1 off buy until he was sold on IMO. Will Naismith win us a cup? I think we might have more chance if we got Braaten and Riordan.
Old 25-07-07, 22:15   #18

Casino cash: £4747

Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
Corporation Tax is paid out of operating profit decalred each year surely ? Hibs will be taken to the cleaners if no operating profit is declared this year unless of course millions are spent in the next week !
The full profit of the club from both operating and player sales is used to calculate the tax liability and you are right Hibs are sitting on a massive profit of £6 to £7m but any tax due on this is offset by losses brought forward from previous years (Something like £12m at a very vague guess) so the tax bill will be zilch.

2007 Pretax profit £6m.
Less:losses b/fwd (£6m).
Tax payable for 2007 Nil

Amount payable to me for 5 mins work

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 23:54   #19

Casino cash: £475

The full profit of the club from both operating and player sales is used to calculate the tax liability and you are right Hibs are sitting on a massive profit of £6 to £7m but any tax due on this is offset by losses brought forward from previous years (Something like £12m at a very vague guess) so the tax bill will be zilch.

2007 Pretax profit £6m.
Less:losses b/fwd (£6m).
Tax payable for 2007 Nil

Amount payable to me for 5 mins work
And how many previous years losses can brought forward? I'm sure there's a "use them or lose them" view on prior losses....and there's that adjustment for Malaysian tax and the cross 1 for 1 tax benefit for different share classes if you have a mixture of classes showing profits and losses......woops, I've managed to introduce your day-to-day work into a thread on Steven Naismith !
Old 26-07-07, 00:12   #20
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10420
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Edina Erin View Post
And how many previous years losses can brought forward? I'm sure there's a "use them or lose them" view on prior losses....and there's that adjustment for Malaysian tax and the cross 1 for 1 tax benefit for different share classes if you have a mixture of classes showing profits and losses......woops, I've managed to introduce your day-to-day work into a thread on Steven Naismith !

My thoughts too.

I'm no tax accountant (no, really) but I'm unaware of a rule which allows an infinite amount of previous lossmaking tax years to be rolled up.

In any event, although the current year has yielded bumper profits, I'm pretty sure Rodders has had a steady hand on the helm over the last few years hence no 'billions' of losses to offset anyway?

But I may be wrong.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 26-07-07, 00:48   #21