Old 23-07-07, 21:01   #1
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £4325
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut
Imagine if...

... (aye one of them threads)... if JC pulled a masterstroke and captured Naismith from Killie AND kept hold of Whitty?

How sick would the hun be? How happy would we be? And how good would Hibs be looking for the new season?

Benji and Naismith up front with Zemmama , Shiels and/or O'Brien feeding them. We'd run riot.

Its not total fantasy football either since the hun have pulled out of the Naismith deal AND Hibs have already put in a higher bid than them, declaring a genuine interest.

Even at £1.5m up front the money's there from Brown's transfer, and we'd recoup more after two years - if Naismith delivered - so the economics are potentially workable over a two year period.

If we pulled off that coup we'd have all out Hibees fever next week (a dangerous and virulent strain) and under the influence of such an ailment I'd consider putting a wee punt on Hibs for the second Champions League slot.

Old 23-07-07, 21:10   #2

Casino cash: £1668
Re: Imagine if...

Originally Posted by Green Sleeves View Post
... (aye one of them threads)... if JC pulled a masterstroke and captured Naismith from Killie AND kept hold of Whitty?

How sick would the hun be? How happy would we be? And how good would Hibs be looking for the new season?

Benji and Naismith up front with Zemmama , Shiels and/or O'Brien feeding them. We'd run riot.

Its not total fantasy football either since the hun have pulled out of the Naismith deal AND Hibs have already put in a higher bid than them, declaring a genuine interest.

Even at £1.5m up front the money's there from Brown's transfer, and we'd recoup more after two years - if Naismith delivered - so the economics are potentially workable over a two year period.

If we pulled off that coup we'd have all out Hibees fever next week (a dangerous and virulent strain) and under the influence of such an ailment I'd consider putting a wee punt on Hibs for the second Champions League slot.

The truth is we are or were only bid from Killie being accepted. I think we will now keep hold of Whittaker for at least one more season. Not once has Whittaker came out and said he is jealous or getting itchy feet to join his pals along the M8, for that i respect Steven. But i still think we're a midfielder ball winner and a tough centre forward away from "the complete team"
Old 23-07-07, 21:50   #3

Casino cash: £1783

do you read previous threads about this subject?

are you brain dead?

get it in to yer thick skull, we will never ever sign SNaesmith.
Old 23-07-07, 21:55   #4

Casino cash: £3184

Originally Posted by Hibzbullah View Post

are you brain dead?

harsh
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-07, 21:56   #5

Casino cash: £1783

Originally Posted by Tibs View Post
harsh
so what, its been covered to much.

sorry if original poster takes it to heart.

wake up tho eh
Old 23-07-07, 22:39   #6

Rep Power: 2 Jai_edinburgh is on the way to a first team debut

so what, its been covered to much.

sorry if original poster takes it to heart.

wake up tho eh
correct mate - time to leave fantasy island. hisb fan say going to huns is a step sideways for our players so why would naismith come to us ????
Jai_edinburgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-07, 22:40   #7

Casino cash: £1047

Seemed abit harsh.

But the truth is Naismith is a quality player, but with Benji & Fletcher already in the squad, we need a big man striker. Hell Benji and Fletch would be better playing off someone like Nish, who's nae a great player but would do a job.
hibeebenji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-07, 23:06   #8

Casino cash: £7890

are you brain dead?

Okay, I don't think it's gonna happen but nor is it the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard. I doubt if Hibs fans would've believed Bestie or Archibald would've come either so give the guy a break. That was some time ago but it's not so long since Dundee signed a guy with a World Cup winners' medal in his pocket. Maybe some of those moves were not the wisest but let's keep this in perspective - Naismith is not an international superstar. Stranger things have happened. Maybe it's a sign of how low our expectations have got that signing someone like Stevie Naismith seems totally unattainable Fans are entitled to talk about this though as the club did make a bid for him.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-07, 23:19   #9

Casino cash: £624

no need to shoot guys down in flames for wanting the best for their team even if the wisdom isnt the best,that said we do really need to get a big confident but overall good dependable striker if im wrong ease up and keep the opinions limited.
bingo mistro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-07, 23:32   #10
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £4325
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

are you brain dead?

Ouch! Its only a wee bit of pre-season speculation.

Since Hibs have ALREADY put a bid of £750,000 in for Naismith then that must mean that John Collins and Rod Petrie are brain dead too... by your reckoning.

I'll disagree.

Have you followed the fact that only three clubs in Scotland have put a bid in for Naismith?

Have you followed the fact that the hun pulled out of the Naismith deal today?

Have you followed the fact that celtic now have at least 10 strikers on their books?

So if Naismith stays in Scotland its between coming to Hibs and staying at Killie now.

So we've NO chance of getting him? Are you saying he'd never leave Killie for Hibs?

Why's that? Doesnt sound like you rate Hibernian FC very highly if you think like that.

Old 23-07-07, 23:34   #11

Casino cash: £17610
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Since Hibs have ALREADY put a bid of £750,000 in for Naismith then that must mean that John Collins and Rod Petrie are brain dead too... by your reckoning.

I'll disagree.

Have you followed the fact that only three clubs in Scotland have put a bid in for Naismith?

Have you followed the fact that celtic now have at least 10 strikers on their books?

So if Naismith stays in Scotland its between coming to Hibs and staying at Killie now.

So we've NO chance of getting him? Are you saying he'd never leave Killie for Hibs?

Why's that? Doesnt sound like you rate Hibernian FC very highly if you think like that.

Right back at ya hibsbullah :dub28:

Old 24-07-07, 01:17   #12

Casino cash: £2079

Imo If Hibs really wanted Naismith we would get him!
If the Huns pulled out and he wasn't going anywhere and we had a bid Accepted By Killie he would come surely give him a grand or 2 more than Killie!
Old 24-07-07, 01:53   #13

Casino cash: £5865
vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 16 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

I'll disagree.

Hibs wont sign Naismith....when was the last time Hibs splashed out great deals of money for a player,...i'd love to see Naismith at Easter Road but until Petrie gets his cheque book out its not going to happen.
Old 24-07-07, 02:23   #14

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

are you brain dead?

Is that because it's spelled Naismith? I personally think there are scenarios where it makes sense tbh. Not many, and highly unlikely to happen, but "never" is complete pish...

I personally think that if Naismith doesn't sign for one of the OF he'll stay at Kilmarnock.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 24-07-07, 14:15   #15

Casino cash: £3184

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post
Hibs wont sign Naismith....when was the last time Hibs splashed out great deals of money for a player,...i'd love to see Naismith at Easter Road but until Petrie gets his cheque book out its not going to happen.
making a bid of £750,000 isn't getting the cheque book out?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-07, 14:22   #16

Casino cash: £1458

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post
he already has, to pay the compensation for Ma-Kalambay and O'Brien

who's to say he wouldn't do it again adn pull off one of the biggest signings in our history? provided Naismith keeps his rate of development and performances up, Hibs could potentially land three times what we paid killie. If there's one thing Rodder's knows its money and getting a return on it...
Old 24-07-07, 14:35   #17

Casino cash: £7890

For me, the biggest problem here is not whether Hibs could afford Naismith's transfer fee but whether they could afford his wages. His agent was talking today, in one of those heart-bleeding statements about poor players not being able to sleep at night, etc., about his client's frustration over not being able to earn tenfold what he is getting at the moment. That would suggest that wages are a significant concern for Naismith and that it's not only a first-team football matter. If this is the case then of course Hibs can't hope to get anywhere near paying those kind of wages - nor should they IMO.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-07, 15:13   #18

Casino cash: £1867

Originally Posted by GalegoHibs View Post
For me, the biggest problem here is not whether Hibs could afford Naismith's transfer fee but whether they could afford his wages. His agent was talking today, in one of those heart-bleeding statements about poor players not being able to sleep at night, etc., about his client's frustration over not being able to earn tenfold what he is getting at the moment. That would suggest that wages are a significant concern for Naismith and that it's not only a first-team football matter. If this is the case then of course Hibs can't hope to get anywhere near paying those kind of wages - nor should they IMO.
Exactly
He is looking for £8K a week and will get it at Ibrox
How are we going to pay that?
Old 25-07-07, 17:22   #19

Casino cash: £642

Originally Posted by hughieo View Post
Exactly
He is looking for £8K a week and will get it at Ibrox
How are we going to pay that?
in that case id offer him 5k a week then 4k for a win/goal bonus!
with a good signing on fee inc.

thats what hibs need to do.

Leeds 2006
gackohibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-07, 17:52   #20

Casino cash: £3664

Just been on Radio Scotland that JC has ruled out Hibs making an offer for him.
Old 25-07-07, 18:10   #21

Casino cash: £288

I think what was said earlier about needing a big powerful striker is much more of a need than another, small, quick forward.

Personally, if we were going to pull off a coup, I'd rather we got this Braatens(?) boy that we're now being linked to. If we get him for free, pay good wages plus bonuses etc to offset the higher wages that others offer, then we could make a healthy profit if we move him on.

Anyway know how tall he is? would he do that job? Looked pretty damn good in those youtube videos posted ealier
steve3096 is offline   Reply With Quote