Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,364 | Posts: 597,983 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 18-07-07, 08:48   #1

tricky will become famous soon enough

Hibs linked with Roy O'Donovan

the story is from the Retard admittedly, what do the RoI Hibbies reckon about this one?

18 July 2007
HIBS EYE UP CORK HITMAN ROY
By John Gardner
HIBS are weighing up a bid for the top scorer in Irish football, Roy O'Donovan.

The 21-year-old Cork City striker, a Republic of Ireland Under-21 and B cap, returned home two years ago following spells with Coventry City and Cheltenham Town.

Wigan, Wolves, Watford and Nottingham Forest are among the clubs now being linked with the youngster who has hit 19 goals this season.

Cork manager Damien Richardson yesterday said no definite offer had been made for the player but believes it is only be a matter of time.

He said: "Roy has what it takes to be make it and the most important part of his game is his mental strength.

"I think he has the ability to play for the Republic of Ireland one day.

"We're used to speculation concerning Roy. Now that we're into July, it wouldn't surprise us if somebody did come in and make a definite offer."

Cork value O'Donovan, who has turned down a new deal with them, at around £450,000 but whether Hibs would be willing to pay that for a player who is out of contract in November remains to be seen.

However, the speedy forward would appear to fit the profile of players Hibs boss John Collins is targeting.

O'Donovan admitted he is keen to leave Cork. He said: "I'm expecting to move on sooner or later but nothing's sorted yet.

"Sometimes you have to go with your head rather than your heart and I want to play at a higher level."
Old 18-07-07, 08:51   #2

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Hibs linked with Roy O'Donovan

IMO I think he's a wee bit overhyped but still a decent player, would take him at hibs

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-07, 09:00   #3

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Its reported in today's Irish Independent that with less than a half a year left on his contract he will be leaving for 'England' this month. Seems he is linked to Wolves, managed by old ROI boss Mick McCarthy?

Old 18-07-07, 09:12   #4

tricky will become famous soon enough

Its reported in today's Irish Independent that with less than a half a year left on his contract he will be leaving for 'England' this month. Seems he is linked to Wolves, managed by old ROI boss Mick McCarthy?
aye lookin at some of the other clubs linked with him I'd imagine we have nae chance.
Old 18-07-07, 10:21   #5

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

aye lookin at some of the other clubs linked with him I'd imagine we have nae chance.
i but we thought that about o brien as well
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote