Old 27-06-07, 06:50   #1
Officially Radge

Rep Power: 5 Hibs_Official is on the way to a first team debut
Thinking Goalkeeper signs up

Hibernian is delighted to announce that terms have been agreed for Yves Makabu-Ma-Kalambay to join...

More...
Hibs_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 06:53   #2

Casino cash: £12488
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice
Re: Goalkeeper signs up

What a great week!!3 days 3 signings

Who's it gonna be tomorrow?Big Arno
Old 27-06-07, 06:55   #3

Casino cash: £4892

Hibs must be very confident in this guys ability to have sanctioned a three year deal for a 20 year old goalkeeper. He is about the same age as Andy McNeill after all. I would have preferred a more experienced keeper to be honest, but as I say he must have been very impressive for Hibs to have signed him on such a long deal knowing what a crucial position it is for us.

Welcome to Hibernian Yves
Old 27-06-07, 07:01   #4

Casino cash: £4892

Originally Posted by beefy View Post
What a great week!!3 days 3 signings

Who's it gonna be tomorrow?Big Arno
Hope so...
Old 27-06-07, 07:03   #5

Casino cash: £4150

I have a feeling this lad is gonna be good.

AND

bloody hell 3 signings in 3 days....great stuff JC/TC/RP
TranentHibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 07:32   #6
I'm a Pogues Radge

Casino cash: £501

Welcome to the Famous Hibees Yves......
Old 27-06-07, 07:37   #7
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2664

You've got to be pleased with the last few days.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 07:37   #8
Bad Moon Radge-ing

Casino cash: £845

Have I missed something then........whats the contract???

I only skimmed the report but I didnt see jack sheet.

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
ECKtheHIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 07:38   #9

Originally Posted by Bobby S View Post
You've got to be pleased with the last few days.
Agreed! Its great stuff!
Old 27-06-07, 07:39   #10

Originally Posted by ECKtheHIBEE View Post
Have I missed something then........whats the contract???

I only skimmed the report but I didnt see jack sheet.
3 year deal.
Old 27-06-07, 07:43   #11

Casino cash: £125
vCash: 50000

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
Hibs must be very confident in this guys ability to have sanctioned a three year deal for a 20 year old goalkeeper. He is about the same age as Andy McNeill after all. I would have preferred a more experienced keeper to be honest, but as I say he must have been very impressive for Hibs to have signed him on such a long deal knowing what a crucial position it is for us.

good news

can I ask where it says 3 years, I've read it a couple of time and I cannae see that bit

Edit: just read it properly this time
Old 27-06-07, 07:45   #12

Originally Posted by JamieHibby View Post
good news

can I ask where it says 3 years, I've read it a couple of time and I cannae see that bit

Edit: just read it properly this time
I missed it the very first time as well. Weird!
Old 27-06-07, 08:13   #13

Casino cash: £1395

He was the understudy to two cracking keepers. Probably saw that his chances at Chelsea were few and far bewteen.

It's what we need a BIG STRONG KEEPER. McNeil has always looked a bit small to me.
persevered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 08:27   #14

Originally Posted by persevered View Post
He was the understudy to two cracking keepers. Probably saw that his chances at Chelsea were few and far bewteen.

It's what we need a BIG STRONG KEEPER. McNeil has always looked a bit small to me.
Spot on, someone who commands the area. Any player who's been at PSV and Chelsea must be a great talent.
Old 27-06-07, 08:54   #15

Casino cash: £1907
vCash: 10750

Great stuff Hibernian
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 08:57   #16
Wish I was a German Radge!

Casino cash: £4887
Rep Power: 5 ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by TranentHibee View Post
Spot on, someone who commands the area. Any player who's been at PSV and Chelsea must be a great talent.
Was Zibi no understudy to Dudek at PSV?!
Old 27-06-07, 09:00   #17

Casino cash: £979
Rep Power: 2 vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post

Think we all would have but in these days you have to pay a lot for a good experienced keeper - ordinary and inconsistant experienced goalies come reasonably cheap but we've brought in loads of them over the last 10 years and we know what they were like... so worth taking a chance with a promising looking keeper. FWIW I reckon we will go for another keeper as well.
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 09:01   #18

Casino cash: £380

good stuff hibs welcome Yves
Hibee_Lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-07, 09:06   #19

Casino cash: £13013
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

I'm less keen on this signing than on any of the other ones tbh. I feel that McNeil is a bit lacking in experience, but has done okay. His howler in the last derby was preceded by making a couple of very good saves which kept us in the game at that point. So yes, he's made mistakes, but at least there are signs that he's got the potential to be a very good keeper imo. If we were going to be signing another one, I would have much preferred it to be one who was experienced who could bring him on.

The other thing that I would say is that there is no reason to believe that the fans will have any more patience with the new guy than with McNeil. He will make mistakes, every keeper does. The reaction of the support is liable to be the same as with every other keeper we have had recently, immediate loss of faith and confidence in him, and calls for him to be dropped.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 27-06-07, 09:10   #20

Originally Posted by green&whitedynamite View Post
not sure mate!
Old 27-06-07, 09:17   #21

Casino cash: £13013
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by green&whitedynamite View Post
Feyenoord I think...

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 27-06-07, 09:22   #22

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Feyenoord I think...
i think you're right there.
Old 27-06-07, 09:27   #23

Casino cash: £9815
Rep Power: 9 CraigHFC has a spectacular aura aboutCraigHFC has a spectacular aura about

Welcome to Hibs Yves!
Old 27-06-07, 09:45   #24

Casino cash: £289