Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,874 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 12-06-07, 11:34   #1

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

Forth One - HIBS interested in Mason

Says we are interested in signing him, along with Killie. Been said here before but I'd probably take him as a good sqaud member. He's a good pro.

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 11:36   #2

Re: Forth One - HIBS in for Mason

Says we are lookin at him, along with Killie. Been said here before but I'd probably take him as a good sqaud member. He's a good pro.
Never really stood out to me. In saying that, neither has Brian Kerr.
Old 12-06-07, 12:14   #3

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Forth One - HIBS interested in Mason

As you said good squad player. Seems as if he can put in a meaty challenge for a wee guy. But id rather see someone like McCann get there chance against someone who would be average squad player.
Old 12-06-07, 12:38   #4

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Always thought Mason was a good player and should have been playing at a better team than Dunfermline. Hopefully, he will sign.
Old 12-06-07, 12:59   #5

As you said good squad player. Seems as if he can put in a meaty challenge for a wee guy. But id rather see someone like McCann get there chance against someone who would be average squad player.
Maybe McCann at right back and Whittaker in the Scott Brown role? Whittaker is good at driving forward. McCann is a solid full back.
Old 12-06-07, 13:00   #6

HailHail has a spectacular aura aboutHailHail has a spectacular aura about

Another realistic and probably useful signing target.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 16:30   #7

Always thought Mason was a good player and should have been playing at a better team than Dunfermline. Hopefully, he will sign.

Most of the(relegated
) pars fans i know think the same. The fife fud said to me only last week that he, Mason, would do a good job for Hibs.

Cannae see his name on the back of many strips thouhg!!

Old 12-06-07, 16:40   #8

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

Most of the(relegated
) pars fans i know think the same. The fife fud said to me only last week that he, Mason, would do a good job for Hibs.

Cannae see his name on the back of many strips thouhg!!

And you take notice of a guy who dresses as a cat

Old 12-06-07, 17:17   #9

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

Would rather see better quality than Mason coming in.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 18:29   #10

Jazthehibby is on the way to a first team debut

I heard he said to someone in Livingwell that he would rather play for Preston Athletic than Hibs.

Said he would never play in a green top, EVER.

Good enough for me as he is shit
Jazthehibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 18:33   #11

Seen the title and thought for a brief fleeting moment we were trying to get on refs good sides.

I can't even think of the player tbh which I suspect means he isn't particularly good or shit.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 12-06-07, 18:38   #12

PILTONSTANY is just really nicePILTONSTANY is just really nice

Seen the title and thought for a brief fleeting moment we were trying to get on refs good sides.

I can't even think of the player tbh which I suspect means he isn't particularly good or shit.
He's from Leith and is a Hibby but i think he's pish TBH.

Old 12-06-07, 19:18   #13

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

If mason is really any good then why has he been at Dunfermline since December 2000?
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 20:33   #14

We need a strong defensive ball-winner in midfield, badly..

Mason would fit the bill. I've always been quite impressed with him and I think he would be an excellent addition to the squad.
Old 12-06-07, 20:40   #15

Fair enough GM, that's your opinion and some others on here seem to share it. To be honest, I've not seen much of Mason but a Pars-supporting friend of mine says he's nothing special although he has a decent attitude. He also wonders if Mason might improve with better players around him.
Old 12-06-07, 20:49   #16
Zemmama Radge

18-Ally-75 is on the way to a first team debut

Jail Bird Man Champion!

I heard he said to someone in Livingwell that he would rather play for Preston Athletic than Hibs.

Said he would never play in a green top, EVER.

Good enough for me as he is shit

Which one is it then

18-Ally-75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 21:44   #17

I think Mason would do a job for us as he's a player who's always impressed against Hibs. He has averaged almost 30 games a season for pars over the last few seasons so he can't be that bad!!
Old 12-06-07, 21:57   #18

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

1 word..................SHYTE!
Old 12-06-07, 22:06   #19

I think Mason would do a job for us as he's a player who's always impressed against Hibs. He has averaged almost 30 games a season for pars over the last few seasons so he can't be that bad!!
The question I think, is not whether Mason is that bad - it's whether he's good enough to be given a contract by Hibs. I'm not deluding myself about our current stature in the game here. JC has already emphasised, quite rightly, that he will not be signing players who are no better than what we've already got. I reckon Kerr can give us a bit of dig and what about Chisholm? He looks very promising and I would not like to see him drift into oblivion for the sake of signing some guy who is maybe no better and who will not be able to eventually move on from Hibs for a price.
Old 12-06-07, 22:37   #20

The question I think, is not whether Mason is that bad - it's whether he's good enough to be given a contract by Hibs. I'm not deluding myself about our current stature in the game here. JC has already emphasised, quite rightly, that he will not be signing players who are no better than what we've already got. I reckon Kerr can give us a bit of dig and what about Chisholm? He looks very promising and I would not like to see him drift into oblivion for the sake of signing some guy who is maybe no better and who will not be able to eventually move on from Hibs for a price.

I can see where you're coming from GH but I really do feel that Gary Mason would fill a gap in the midfield and bring some much needed experience to that part of the team. There is no doubt that we lacked a steeliness in the middle of the park against the Pars and that's what probably cost us a place in the final.
Old 12-06-07, 22:54   #21

Fair points SH. There's little doubt that Hibs lack experience and a tough streak when needed. For me it's just a question of which players and in which position(s) the priorities lie. My point of view is that while Mason may be a useful addition to the squad another holding midfielder is not one of the top priorities at the moment.
Old 13-06-07, 09:50   #22

Decal Joe is a jewel in the roughDecal Joe is a jewel in the rough

Is that a Hibby like Riordan or Thomshun?

Or one like Dargo who desperately wants to play for Hibs but can't get a look in.
Old 13-06-07, 11:26   #23

Penners is on the way to a first team debut

mason is definately a hearts fan, met in the beechwood bowling club before a derby last year decked out in maroon.
Penners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-07, 17:05   #24

Decal Joe is a jewel in the roughDecal Joe is a jewel in the rough

mason is definately a hearts fan, met in the beechwood bowling club before a derby last year decked out in maroon.
That's the impression I was given as well tbh