Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,873 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby
Down On The Farm(er)
Does anyone else like the UK Subs? No? Fair enough then. Anyway, there seems to be lot of criticism of Rod Petrie on this site, and a perception of him as being parsimonious, as if he has pecuniary autonomy that I was under the impression Tom Farmer had not invested in him. I was under the impression that Petrie was under strict instructions from STF to work within a tight budget, I feel that RP is only ensuring his continued employment by doing so and that the individual we should be directing our queries - over what appears to be a lack of ambition - to is STF himself.
We should all remember that STF is not a football fan. We should also remember that, like most capitalist entrepreneurs, neither is he a philanthropist, i.e. the whole objective of his owning Hibernian FC is to one day sell the club and make a tidy profit. I would suggest that when the ground is fully renovated, i.e. when the present East Terracing has been demolished and the ground resembles a wee green matchbox, and the training facility is fully operational we may be sold to some other multi-millionaire. But, of course, this would only be on STF's terms. Judging by some of the posts by fellow Bouncers on here today I think quite a few people really need to cook themselves up a fix of reality; let us accept a few perennial truths about Hibernian FC and the wider predictable pantomine that is Scottish football: - Rangers and Celtic have far more money than any other club in Scottish football - All the other clubs (including our neighbours with their lofty nocturnal emissions) are paupers - Rangers and Celtic pretty much control the demagogic media - Football players, generally, are stupid and lazy and only want as much money as possible for as easy a life as possible (in that last respect I would suggest they are no different from the rest of us in our respective professions) which explains why Murray and Riordan and now probably Brown want to play for Rangers/Celtic - Supporting Hibs is as much a pleasure as a penance - Hibs do not win trophies often - Hibs do not have a big support unless we are successful. The only possible entity that could alter any of the above seven inalienable truisms about the club that we all adore would be the emergence of a Jack Walker type figure. And before this monetary messiah could emerge he or she would have to exist; I know of no such being in existence and I know a lot of Hibbies. So do you. So do virtually all the other Hibbies you know. Until such an individual enters the equation accept that Hibs will never be more than a selling club who will play in Europe once or twice a decade, lose far more derbies than we win, lose worryingly often to beatable opposition in cup ties and average lower crowds than at Tynecastle. But also accept that we'll generally play skillful passing football, that we'll continue to develop players of the ability of Collins or Brown, that we'll shock the huns as often as anyone outside of Celtic, that when we win on derby day it's almost like a cup final. And that when we get to a cup final you'll probably get a ticket. And once every score or so years we'll lift a trophy. And the feeling then could be compared, in sexual terms, to the joy of being locked in a room and used and abused, in turn, by each member of the Pussy Cat Dolls. Remember that the good times following Hibernian FC more than make the bad times worth it. But we'll never achieve much more than we have over the past three years while STF pulls RP's moustachioed strings. The Rodster is just a puppet. No more. And for those of you who seem keen to push Collins out of the door and seem to be lamenting Tony Mowbray's departure and even suggesting that Mark Proctor might have been the better appointment I would say this; has it occurred to you that, bright guy that TM is, he (TM) realised that he had taken Hibernian as far as he could and that (like many managers, in many different professions) he didn't want to be around for the fall-out when the inevitable slide commenced? Is that possible? Is that at all feasible? The period 2004 - 07 can largely be categorised as 'The Good Times', while the period that immediately preceded it - following the break-up of the Sauzee/Latapy team and Judas McLeish's defection to the lodge - can largely be categorised as 'The Depressing Times'. Those were transitional times. We've just entered such a period. What are all you loyal, fanatical Hibbies going to do then? Are you going to sulk and stay away? Will season ticket sales decline to 5,000 or so again? Or will you (finances and personal circumstances allowing) continue to back the team as best you can? Cos it's at times like these that your team - and your club - needs you the most. And one final point - and I always feel awkward about making this kind of judgemental remark about fellow Hibbies because I live 400 miles away and since April 2005 I've only attended 12 Hibs games so I can hardly claim to be there every week - I was very disappointed that the best part of a thousand tickets for our end were unsold on Saturday. Christ, I was there; I flew up on Friday. I was under the impression that tickets for derby day were very difficult to get a hold of so I would have thought that some of those Hibbies who can't usually get a brief for Swinie might have made more of an effort to be there. I can never understand how we can take 30,000 to Hampden for a cup final - which we won - yet two months later less than a tenth of that number manage to travel to the other side of town. I suppose that's Rod Petrie's fault as well then?
GOING TO PRESS RADGE
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
Re: Down On The Farm(er)
Post of the week....
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Who needs smelling salts when you have Seven Tatoos telling you what it's like being a Hibby.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 'The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.' |
Time For Action Radge
I was just about to write something similer, but you stole my thunder.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Lovley piece Scott. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
GOING TO PRESS RADGE
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
You will need to be quicker the next time auld yin.....
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 'The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.' |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Brilliant post mate BTW dont suppose you could get together a consortium??? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge
[quote=Seven Tattoos;634771]
The only possible entity that could alter any of the above seven inalienable truisms about the club that we all adore would be the emergence of a Jack Walker type figure. And before this monetary messiah could emerge he or she would have to exist; I know of no such being in existence and I know a lot of Hibbies. So do you. So do virtually all the other Hibbies you know. QUOTE] As always, ST, I agree with the majority of what you say. I do remember, though, Brian Kennedy being mentioned in desptaches prior to our 'great adventure (Copyright Tom ' demon headmaster O'Malley)' as someone who was interested in buying the cabbage. I see that he has now transformed Sale Sharks into a highly succesful and dynamic side, albeit they play with the same shape balls as Dyke features Gordon and the PBS melrose sevens select. This guy is apparently a hibbie and yet, for reasons unknown, was turned away by STF (most probably and understandably because the profit would not have been great for him.) As some other bouncers have suggested, perhaps STF is about to take a seat in the departure lounge and is attempting to ready the club for an imminent sale. A debt free club with it's own ready-made stadium and training complex would be an attractive proposition for any prospective buyer. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Whatever happens, today's events are not surprising or overly annoying to me. We have been down this road so many times before. It's part of what being a hibbie is all about. To paraphrase the annoying youghurt advert with Reeves and Mortimer - to enhance the pleasure, you must first feel the pain To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Baradge of fire
Scott,
as always you are all over the feeling i have at the moment, you're an eleqouent cant with a great turn of phrase. From a business point of view Hibs are flourishing..............who the f**k goes to football to look at profit and loss margins? GGTTH (Scott write a fkin book for Fk sake)
'A man will fight for many things, Glory, his country, the glistening tear on a childs cheek........ But personally I'd mud wrestle my mother for a ton of cash, an amusing clock and a sack full of French porn' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He's not the Messiah he just Scores Goals To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Scott, Bomber - great to get pished with you both on Saturday at the Taxi Club.
Oh, can I also say - for the benefit of those who didn't attend the Bounce POTY - that Saturday night was the most proud I've been to be a Hibbie since the cup final day and night. Big Up, Nuff Respect to: - Colin - Paddy - Jamie as ever for the work they put in to ensure such events go ahead. And also to, of course: - IVAN and - DEANO! That was a Hi-Bees Bounce! (I'll write one of my yawnathon posts about it the morn - chuffin' knackered now, time for bed).
Baradge of fire
'A man will fight for many things, Glory, his country, the glistening tear on a childs cheek........ But personally I'd mud wrestle my mother for a ton of cash, an amusing clock and a sack full of French porn' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He's not the Messiah he just Scores Goals To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Proud Wearer of the Radge Badge, Gadge
Absolutely spot on Seven Tattoos.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. And now for your next trick, watch in amazement as all the doomsayers of today somehow manage to miss this thread entirely and continue preaching their Dads Army style 'we're doomed I tell ye' premonitions elsewhere. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wheat - I recall the speculation well. We can only hope that possibly BK would be willing to supersede STF at some point in the next few years.
But - and this is my last wanky musical reference (until tomorrow!) - 'the answer is blowing in the wind'. D'you reckon Bob Dylan's a Hibbie? I mean, the guy is blatantly too cool to be a Jambo?
A Darling Radge
i too like the uk subs...i 1st saw them at the astoria abbeyhill in 1980 and i have seen them about 15 times since,the last time being last year at the boxwars gig at studio 24....they usually play edinburgh about once a year and i have been fortunate to have got pissed with charlie harper on a good few of those occasions..the guy is a true punk rock legend and is still shameless about singing 'teenage' even though he is now 62...they dont do 'down on the farm' much these days but charlie told me the royalties from guns'n'roses doing it kept him in bondage trousers for a good few years...as for the rest of your post?...i'd tell you to go and write a book if i was as sycophantic as some of the other posters on here but i realise that a good book requires more than a command of english and a penchant for removing your clothes and displaying your tattoos whenever a drop of the old amber nectar passes your lips...it requires a plot,good characters,witty narative and a devilishly cunning twist at the end...no computer is however required,robert louis stevenson never had a computer,niether did mathew ,mark,luke or john and between them they sold a fair few books,so no excuses 7....write that book,your public awaits...oops,was that too sycophantic?
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Warhead Warhead Warhead To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Beautifully crafted writing To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.