Taking responsibility.
With all the threads and bickering thats been discussed about the Hibs goalkeeping position off the forum also in the last few days I think its time a few fans start taking responsibility for comments made earlier in the season.
Malkowski cannot be excused, no matter how good his form has been at Gretna. Simon Brown isn't that far away from his standards set either. A combination of these two has probably aged a few bouncers throughout the course of the season a wee bit quicker than normal. Enough said about them though. Andy McNeil came in and looked alot stronger than what SB and ZM would do together in goals, FFS. His kicking was very poor to start with but I feel this is something that has improved game by game. His overall game has improved but im still not happy with his positioning sometimes. The point though, his mistake on Saturday (how many across Scotland that weekend?) is undefendable but who put him there 2-3years earlier than what most would describe an ideal time? Yes, the Hibs fans. I don't buy any tosh from JC that 'Im the manager I will make the decision' in the aftermath of yet another Zibi howler. It was the Hibs fans at games, messageboards, in the street, in the papers and on the radio that asked for the lad to be given a chance. JC mulled over it and put him in, this in combination with a few decent displays seen Andy retain his place. 3rd howler (in my opinion) down the line and some feel its enough and want another change. A similar request to the last, younger understudy Grof to replace McNeil. So now Hibs fans are looking to Damage the confidence of Hibs 4th choice keeper on the basis he had a stormer against Hearts Under19s along with John Park giving him a glowing reference. Nah thats pish. Atleast let the lad perform for the reserves for a couple of seasons (he hasn't played many this season FFS), play possibly a few friendlies and let him merge into first team plans on his own performance merits rather than a few impatient Hibs fans canny accept their own wrong decision 6-7 months previous. McNeil has had too much thrown on him this season and for this he was my YPOTY for the Bounce awards. In future, think before shouting for a change. Back the young laddie while he is still in the sticks. Same applies to Damon Gray who was requested upon very similarly. Keep the faith.
Re: Taking responsibility.
Well said K
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Well said, stick by McNeil
Ofcourse he was going to make a few mistakes, he's still very young. But for once this season the fans should stick by our goalie. He's been good for the majority of time he has played this year. Craig Gordon made his share of mistakes early on but he had the support of his manager and the fans and look how he's turned out. McNeil is a very talented goalie and will be even better next year having played his first season in top flight football.
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side
Alot of people on this forum are hipocrites. Remember back in December, when we were all calling for Zibby's head and for McNeil to be given a chance? And now that he has started to make mistakes, we (newbie's) are now deciding we want Zibby back (drugs are not the answer). He is young, inexperienced, and getting some much needed air time. Get off his back for once, this cannae be any good for his confidence, imagine him finding out his own supporters don't have any faith in him
Some very fair points there. Food for thought.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
I personally think that McNeill is an OK keeper but as has been seen when watching him playing for Scotland u20s/u19s he has a long, long way to go before he is ready to be a first team regular. |
What makes Hibs fans think we deserve a fabulous keeper because of our history and love affair with such talented ones is beyond me? They canny even let McNeil progress further than half a fecking season tae see if hes the answer. The next keeper down the line better have thick skin and a hearing disability.
![]() ![]() Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! Last edited by TattooedHibee; 14-05-07 at 20:43. |
![]() Join Date: May 2003
Good post Kieran!
The only reason for the OTT reaction from some Hibs fans is only because the past few seasons we've had poor quality in between the sticks! If there had been decent keepers the last few seasons then the blunder made on Saturday would've been put down as a mistake which McNeil should learn from! Zibi and Brown's errors have made the pressure on McNeil 10x worse than what it would've been for a 19 year old coming into the squad! I'm still behind Andy 100% and hopefully he becomes stronger through this!
Hibernian Football Club - Since 1875 "They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule |