Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,873 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 13-05-07, 17:48   #1

dazzamc7 is on the way to a first team debut

I want Zibi in goals for Celtic game, controversial but...

I was thinking about this and I am not saying that Zibi is a good keeper and McNeil isnt. Buut in recent weeks its been becoming clearer that there is even less confidence in McNeil than there was in Zibi.

And when Collins first came in and we went on that great run, playing our best football and conceding hardly any goals the back 4 and the goalie were:

Zibi Whittaker Jones Martis Murphy

Why dont we just try that again? once?

In general Zibi isnt a bad goalkeeper against anyone other than the JT's so why not try him for this game and see how it goes. End of season, nothing to play for

I always tought Zibi was a good shot stopper but his concentration (particularly against the yams!) is p!sh poor.

McNeil, in time, will become a good goalkeeper, but I think he needs to step out of the limelight for a while. it will do him good.
dazzamc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 17:59   #2
I'm a Pogues Radge

hibbymick is on the way to a first team debut

Re: I want Zibi in goals for Celtic game, controversial but...

I was thinking about this and I am not saying that Zibi is a good keeper and McNeil isnt. Buut in recent weeks its been becoming clearer that there is even less confidence in McNeil than there was in Zibi.

And when Collins first came in and we went on that great run, playing our best football and conceding hardly any goals the back 4 and the goalie were:

In general Zibi isnt a bad goalkeeper against anyone other than the JT's so why not try him for this game and see how it goes. End of season, nothing to play for

I always tought Zibi was a good shot stopper but his concentration (particularly against the yams!) is p!sh poor.

McNeil, in time, will become a good goalkeeper, but I think he needs to step out of the limelight for a while. it will do him good.
When Zibbi made THOSE howlers against the Jambos AND waving to the Yams when they cheered his name was one game to many for me.. No chance ..He should never make a kick/mess (delete where applicable) again for Hibs.. My opinion ofcourse..
Old 13-05-07, 18:00   #3

SmilingLeither is on the way to a first team debut

the very idea of zibi in goals is enough to make me think 'oh god no'. Things have seemed a bit poor of late, but i really dont think zibi is the answer. i would look more at a replacement coach. mcneil has made mistakes i'll agree, but i think he should still have a chance to redeem himself without people suggesting he should be dropped or put out on loan.

Seeing Mcneil run out fills me with more confidence than i ever had when zibi or brown came out.
SmilingLeither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 18:00   #4

Everyone has their own opinion, but I would rather have Zibi in goals any day of the week rather than Simon Brown! Grofs too young and McNeil needs a break
Old 13-05-07, 18:02   #5

the very idea of zibi in goals is enough to make me think 'oh god no'. Things have seemed a bit poor of late, but i really dont think zibi is the answer. i would look more at a replacement coach. mcneil has made mistakes i'll agree, but i think he should still have a chance to redeem himself without people suggesting he should be dropped or put out on loan.

Seeing Mcneil run out fills me with more confidence than i ever had when zibi or brown came out.
What about trying to persuade Klos to take on a player/coach role

Long shot but
Old 13-05-07, 18:03   #6
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

Simon Brown first half Grof second

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 18:23   #7
Anti-Old Firm Radge

murray will become famous soon enough

i cant believe im reading this tosh all hibs goalie arent upto the standard required.

Get groff in get the rest of them tae.
murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 18:31   #8

GlesgaeHibby is on the way to a first team debut

Zibi had a great run at gretna, is it a coincidence that he improved when not under gordon marshalls tutelage?

His distribution was always good, he set up many goals with his quick thinking and playing the ball out quickly to the correct player.

Made howlers in the hearts games, but who's to say he hasn't genuinely improved after being at gretna without the fans constantly on his back?

If he could improve his overall concentration he'd be a really good goalie
GlesgaeHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 18:38   #9

i cant believe im reading this tosh all hibs goalie arent upto the standard required.

So we put another young goalie in. Could that not turn bad like with McNeil. McNeil was too young to be thrown in at the deep end and Grof is EVEN YOUNGER.

McNeil will come good in time, Zibi could be a good goalkeeper so I agree with Glasgaehibby.

If you think about it how many howlers apart from Hearts games has zibi actually made?
Old 13-05-07, 19:01   #10

secallen is on the way to a first team debut

It's this attitude that makes life even harder for our goalkeepers. There's not much sympathy or nurturing going in their direction, we just use them and toss them aside when our miniscule patience runs out. We're NOT a big team (yet, maybe never will be), so let's not act like big team supporters.

Andy McNeil has come in as emergency cover in a crisis for which the fans are also responsible (undermining the GK's confidence). Even before he started, Andy knew what was waiting the moment he made the inevitable mistake that afflicts ALL goalkeepers - even big lanky ones with bad skin
He is to be commended for showing the courage he has and should be accorded a lot more respect.
secallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 19:16   #11

So we put another young goalie in. Could that not turn bad like with McNeil. McNeil was too young to be thrown in at the deep end and Grof is EVEN YOUNGER.

McNeil will come good in time, Zibi could be a good goalkeeper so I agree with Glasgaehibby.

If you think about it how many howlers apart from Hearts games has zibi actually made?
Thats a really good point mate, and It'd be interesting to see the answer.
Old 13-05-07, 19:19   #12

DistantHibee is on the way to a first team debut

[quote=secallen;633591]It's this attitude that makes life even harder for our goalkeepers. There's not much sympathy or nurturing going in their direction, we just use them and toss them aside when our miniscule patience runs out. We're NOT a big team (yet, maybe never will be), so let's not act like big team supporters.

finally some sense

iv been saying this all day. show some support to a player and his confidence will go up which usually means he'll ply better. iv never seen hibs fans like this, we used to support our players. its like we are turning into 'the huns'!!
Old 13-05-07, 19:36   #13

Hibernia is on the way to a first team debut

Zibi in goals your having a laugh lol. McNeil may have made a howler but IMO there were others Id drop before him like Martis and Jones.

Jones has been utter mince recently and to be honest I would not be gutted if he wasnt playing at the weekend. Martis as well is a big lad and is easy pushed off the ball and wins very little defensively.

Id go with McNeil stick Boozy alongside Hogg and have Whittaker and Murphy at back, Sproule, Chisholm, Shiels and Stevenson in middle of the park and Fletch and Benji up front
Hibernia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 19:45   #14

Having a laugh at Zibi in goals?
Each to their own I suppose but Zibi has been doing well at Gretna, probably because he wasnt getting hounded by hibs fans all the time (what would that do to your confidence!)

And its a serious question:

How many howlers apart from against Hearts has Zibi actually made?

A few bad goals let in last season that werent exactly his fault (Caldwell anyone?!)

Its a serious question and I'm not sure he's made many mistakes against any other teams!!
Old 13-05-07, 19:58   #15

Feel sorry for mcneil. The pressure he must be under coming in after the previous 2 must be immense. He's only 20 as well. Far too much pressure for a guy of that age. In time he'll become a decent keeper but it's too early for him now. Bring in an experienced keeper and let McNeil work under him for the next couple of seasons. He looked on the verge of tears on saturday after the second. Brown/Zibi never really gave that impression after their errors.
Old 13-05-07, 20:02   #16

Feel sorry for mcneil. The pressure he must be under coming in after the previous 2 must be immense. He's only 20 as well. Far too much pressure for a guy of that age. In time he'll become a decent keeper but it's too early for him now. Bring in an experienced keeper and let McNeil work under him for the next couple of seasons. He looked on the verge of tears on saturday after the second. Brown/Zibi never really gave that impression after their errors.
He did but he is a massive hibby and he knows that he has been culpable in a derby before and against rangers I suppose.

Needs a few years before he is a good goalkeeper but the talent is there
Old 13-05-07, 20:05   #17

He did but he is a massive hibby and he knows that he has been culpable in a derby before and against rangers I suppose.

Needs a few years before he is a good goalkeeper but the talent is there
Just backs up the point of bringing in an experienced cat
Old 13-05-07, 20:20   #18

Alcohol and drug abuse is bad for you!

Old 13-05-07, 21:42   #19

mussycabbage is on the way to a first team debut

For next week only - aye agreed on 2 counts

1) At leat Zibi should have some confidence but he is not the long term answer........can you really imagine him between the sticks at the next derby?
2) more importantly its JC's responsability to get Andy out of the limelight now.
He is a young goalkeepeer whose career is going down the pan. He has a catalogue of real howlers in recent games esp: Scotland, Jams x 2; Huns x 2 - did you watch his body language after the 2nd? Luckily the Jams did not throw too much at him after.

From a goal keepers point of view, ANY Hibs keeper will still have a huge problem with the back four constantly trying to play from the back like Brazil as ordered by the manager.
His infatuation with the short ball and passing around the back four kills all the tempo in our play that we had under Mowbrey and more often than not causes real scares in defence, and who gets the pelters from fans AND teammates - the Keeper
mussycabbage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 22:17   #20

I want Zibi in goals for Celtic game, controversial
not controversial

just completely stupid

mcneill is young and should be giving more time

zibi and simon brown should never be allowed anywhere near easter road ever again
Old 13-05-07, 22:18   #21

For next week only - aye agreed on 2 counts

1) At leat Zibi should have some confidence but he is not the long term answer........can you really imagine him between the sticks at the next derby?
2) more importantly its JC's responsability to get Andy out of the limelight now.
He is a young goalkeepeer whose career is going down the pan. He has a catalogue of real howlers in recent games esp: Scotland, Jams x 2; Huns x 2 - did you watch his body language after the 2nd? Luckily the Jams did not throw too much at him after.

From a goal keepers point of view, ANY Hibs keeper will still have a huge problem with the back four constantly trying to play from the back like Brazil as ordered by the manager.
His infatuation with the short ball and passing around the back four kills all the tempo in our play that we had under Mowbrey and more often than not causes real scares in defence, and who gets the pelters from fans AND teammates - the Keeper

only once against the huns.

The pressure being placed on this young lad is far far too much just now, you could see that on saturday he was nearly in tears. The lad needs support from an experienced hand before the pressure ruins him
Old 13-05-07, 22:34   #22

ZIBBY!!!!!! you must be joking
Old 14-05-07, 09:02   #23
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

Well when Simon Brown made the muck up vs rangers he was punching the ground and looked sorry for his mistake(s)