Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,873 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 12-05-07, 17:32   #1

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Angry Falkirk have more points than us !

Falkirk now have more points than us !
Old 12-05-07, 18:07   #2

We Hate The Hearts is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Falkirk have more points than us !

Aye, mind they have been playing the likes of St Mirren, Dunfermline, Motherwell etc. Then on the other hand we have been playing the likes of Celtic, Rangers Hearts etc. What a stupid thread to start!
name="movie" value="
name="wmode" value="transparent" /> ERROR: If you can see this, then
is down or you don't have Flash installed.
We Hate The Hearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 18:09   #3

Aye, fair enough, we would have hammered any team in the bottom six.
Old 12-05-07, 18:13   #4

Aye, mind they have been playing the likes of St Mirren, Dunfermline, Motherwell etc. Then on the other hand we have been playing the likes of Celtic, Rangers Hearts etc. What a stupid thread to start!
It's not that stupid a thread.
Old 12-05-07, 18:29   #5

We Hate The Hearts is on the way to a first team debut

It's not that stupid a thread.
Of course it is!
name="movie" value="
name="wmode" value="transparent" /> ERROR: If you can see this, then
is down or you don't have Flash installed.
We Hate The Hearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 18:30   #6

Oh no it isn't!!
Old 12-05-07, 18:36   #7

It is embarrasing tho'!!:
Old 12-05-07, 19:17   #8
Oh, what's occuring? Radge

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

It is embarrasing tho'!!:
I remember IIRC the season before Mowbray, we finished 7th but if there wasn't a split, we would have finished 5th! The split is such a bad idea and the person who came up with it should be made to sit on a sharp spike!

CraigHFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 20:43   #9
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

Aye, fair enough, we would have hammered any team in the bottom six.
Yeh like dunfermline easily eh

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 20:49   #10

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

This happens nearly every season!
The team in 6th play the 5 teams above them.
The team in 7th play the 5 teams below them.
Stands to reason that the team in 7th will win more points in the last 5 games.

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 22:02   #11

I remember IIRC the season before Mowbray, we finished 7th but if there wasn't a split, we would have finished 5th! The split is such a bad idea and the person who came up with it should be made to sit on a sharp spike!
Exactly, the split is the dumbest idea ever. Is there another football league anywhere that does this ?
Old 12-05-07, 22:07   #12

So have Barcelona!!"!!!!!

Shoot Collins!
String up McNeil!
Put a height limit for the dressing room which Jones can't pass!

See if Collins isnae sacked and Jose Mourinho isnae our new manager by next Monday I for one am no going back.

Total poofs btw...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 12-05-07, 22:41   #13

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

Exactly, the split is the dumbest idea ever. Is there another football league anywhere that does this ?
yes, the san marino league
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 23:37   #14

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

And the Croatian league. And formerly the Swiss, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian.........

There are only 2 alternatives
- a league of 10 teams
- a league of 20 teams
Neither are viable options. So we have a split, adding interest to the season. Why is it a bad idea? Can anyone give a reason substantial enough to ditch it? Go ahead.
HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 23:56   #15

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

And the Croatian league. And formerly the Swiss, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian.........

There are only 2 alternatives
- a league of 10 teams
- a league of 20 teams
Neither are viable options. So we have a split, adding interest to the season. Why is it a bad idea? Can anyone give a reason substantial enough to ditch it? Go ahead.
Turkish have never had it
Old 13-05-07, 00:12   #16

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

So have Barcelona!!"!!!!!

Shoot Collins!
String up McNeil!
Put a height limit for the dressing room which Jones can't pass!

See if Collins isnae sacked and Jose Mourinho isnae our new manager by next Monday I for one am no going back.

Total poofs btw...
Ye missed Murphy no trying a leg and Tam the groundsman whistling the Hearts song.

Old 13-05-07, 00:18   #17

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

A good summary is provided at:
Essentially, we have to recognise that in Scotland, we cannot sustain a 'big' league of 20 clubs because it means huge variation in quality (i.e. Queen of the South, Livingston, Clyde this season) and since only 3/4 European places, virtually everyone has nothing to play for. They were done away with in the 1970s on this very basis, as attendances plummeted when different entertainments came along.

Faced with the need for a league smaller than 18 or 20, we are left with 10, 12, 14 or 16. We used to have 10 - it was too small, and playing folk four times was too many, and there was still meaningless mid table games. With 14, you either play 26 games and invent another kind of split, or you have 39 - but that's 2 home 1 away or vice versa v everyone. With 16 teams, you play everyone 1 home 1 away but have to make up another 6-8 games with a split (but this time it's not redressing the balance as with a 12 team league, its making it uneven) or have League Cup group-stages, where no-one comes to watch and you waste the summer months. Thus in reality we only have 2 options: go back to 10 (as Rangers and Celtic and teams like Motherwell and Dundee Utd want), or stick with 12 and a end-of-season split. The other option are two leagues of 12, 1 home 1 away = 22, then splits into 3 sets of 8, 1 home 1 away = 14, = 36 in total, but it's complicated for the fans IMO.
HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-07, 09:34   #18

Louis Prima will become famous soon enough

Jackhammer Rampage Champion!

Thinking Re: Falkirk have more points than us !

Mmmm lets have a look at Hibs record against Falkirk

Although I do have to agree on the logic
Louis Prima is offline   Reply With Quote