Killen blaming Hibs
Hibernian striker Chris Killen has revealed he turned down the offer of a new contract because the club would not commit to a long-term deal.
Hibs boss John Collins is already looking for a replacement for the target man after talks broke down and Killen has been linked with a move to Cardiff and reports also claim Hearts have made him an offer. "It's just disappointing it's only a one-year deal because I was looking for a bit more security than just a year," said Killen. "I am talking to clubs willing to offer two and three-year deals." He added: "I spoke to the club about the possibility of getting a longer deal but they said that was all they could offer. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Re: Killen blaming Hibs
I know he's injury prone but with his goal scoring record surely Hibs could have given him a 2 year deal?
Who do we believe?????
![]() Join Date: Aug 2003
What and everything in the papers are true?????
This is yet another red herring which players frequently throw out to the media when they opt to move rather than sign a new contract with their existing club. Chris Killen is leaving Hibs for more money, nothing else. The "yearly contract" thing not offering him "enough security" is a load of pish. In the 18 months he was contracted to Hibs he was injured for about half of it yet we still continued to pay his wages, and indeed Collins said in January that the 1 year offer was still on the table even although his season had been written off. That still wasn't enough for him, as he knows he could earn a lot more by moving back to England. I liked Killen as a player, but that's all he is, a player. We will sign a replacement and move on.
I just wish footballers wouldn't insult the fans intelligence with this sort of crap. The same fans who fund their wages.
I find it really strange that wages for footballers have went up so much in the last 10-15 years when it would appear from their public statements that none of them had ever really thought much about the financial aspects of moving somewhere else. The only reason a player has ever moved is apparently because "they need a longer deal" or "it's an opportunity to move up a level" or "this is a great challenge"...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Completely agree To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He could have signed a 1 year deal on the understanding that if he performed and stayed injury free, then an extension would be forthcoming.
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Killen is being unfair here. We all know that most clubs in all senior divisions down south pay more than most clubs in the SPL bar the OF. He would earn more for Notts County in the Div2 than for Hibs in the SPL.
Given his injury record, Hibs were possibly concerned about the long term. TBH who can blame them where Killen is concerned? I'll be very surprised if he ends up at a club paying less money in wages than Hibs. ie watch this space for a lower league English club transfer coming here soon...
Killen?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Championship teams like Cardiff might have the financial luxury of taking that chance. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He would have been better taking the 1 year deal with a view to extending it if he stayed injury free for say 6 months into his deal,or is that too easy To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jamie - Hibeesbounce Technical Team. For all technical issues.. please email To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ...SCOTLAND's SHAME! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Ok he is injury prone , but for his goal scoring record i would be more than willing to give someone a two year contract, even more so when we know he can cut it in this league. If he was still fit, guarenteed he would be top of the scoring charts.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Contract spats are always very revealing in relation to internal club politics and this one is no different.
On the one hand puir misunderstood Chris is trying to sell a cheeky wee dummy by implying that if it had been offered a two year contract he would have stayed To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. when in reality he knows that he is good enough to play in a lower English championship side for far more money than Hibs will ever offer him. Hibs on the other hand are exposed again for penny pinching as a proven striker who might have been close to 20 goals this season is allowed and in fact is probably forced to leave. JC/RP know he wasn't going to ever sign a one year contract so why insult his intelligence with such a silly offer in the first place. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. These situations highlight the dilema for Mr Petrie who showed great ambition To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. with Arpignon, The Telly and Luna yet the three of them took the club for hundreds of thousands of pounds for little return. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Compare this with Agathe who went for nothing when he would have been worth £750,000 if he had had a 2 year contract rather than the parltry two month one Hibs gave him. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Overall it is probably the wrong footballing decision to ease Killen out but I think he was leaving anyway and JC/RP and Killen himself all knew this.
It says on BBC teletext that he is linked with Hearts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. WELCOME HOME DEEKS |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. compared with Run DLC and that really pretty pop star. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. isn't really that contentious is it. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. However since you ask Arpignon, Luna and 'The Telly' must have emptied Hibs for close on a £1.5m whereas DLC cost £750,000 was paid £500,000 and was sold for £1.600,000 while Nelly was an on loan irrelevance. So financially DLC was the better deal though in football terms they all flattered to deceive and none of them were worth the money they milked from Hibs so I can see where Mr Petrie is coming from when it comes to granting expensive contracts for overseas players.
How hard would it have been for Hibs and Killen to agree a year contract with options for further years depending on appearances? Not very hard at all, and I suspect wherever Killen ends up he'll be on such a deal. Despite what he says, clubs will not be falling over themselves to offer him a long term contract given his injury record.
Killen doesnae want to stay, he wants more money, no big deal. It would be better if he could be upfront and honest about it. The fact he's already talking to other clubs before deciding whether to stay with Hibs sums it up for me.
I'm absolutely gutted about the Killen situation. He is definitely one of the best strikers we've had at ER in recent times, and if it wasnt for his injury record probably wouldnt be playing at this level probably more the top teams in the championship. We aren't going to find another Killen in the lower leagues in england im pretty sure. Its a massive blow to lose him. Plus considering we have no money, we are never going to be able to get a really decent striker for next season.
Any reasonably competent striker playing themselves up front for Hibs is liable to score a decent amount of goals because we make a lot of chances. I think Fletcher has had a very mediocre season and he's comfortably into double figures, as is Benji who's been in and out the side all season. If either of them were starting up front themselves every week I'd happily say they would score 20 goals a season. Killen came in, done a job, was regularly injured, and was a different option to a lot of players we've had up front. Killen was good for us, but Hibs were very very good for him. If he signs for Hearts he'll be lucky to reach double figures in a season and that's assuming he'd be able to stay injury free.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I think Chris Killen leaving is a very big loss for us up front. We need a player with strength and skill, and the ability to read the game well. Our younger players don't have all three (yet). All players get injured, particularly those who put themselves about a bit on the park; but some are not missed. Killen clearly is missed, as has been shown in many of our recent performances. JC says he wants commitment from players. Here is a player who wants to commit and appears to be very driven in setting himself footballing targets. Don't believe it's about just money. If driven only by money, then would not have come to Hibs in first place!! Why the hell are we only offering a one year deal then? FFS Hibs rethink this decision and get a longer deal on the table. |