Collins and Craig confront irate West Stand fan?
Was anyone else sitting in the West Stand, behind and a bit to the right of the home dugout, just after half-time. Someone in that area shouted something at them, between the Rangers 2-2 equaliser and Whittaker's goal (the third) - at least I think this was the time. Anyway, someone in the crowd seemed to shout something about making a sub, someone is useless etc. etc. and both Craig and Collins reacted to it, shouting into the area that the 'abuse' came from, Collins especially shooting some pretty nasty looks, and Craig grabbed the security chief and a steward and demanded the guy was thrown out!! However we scored shortly after and nothing happened.
Did anyone else see this, or know exactly what was going on? Was the spectator out of order and shouting something unacceptable, or did he happen to deliver some 'home truths' that cut a little deep and Collins/Craig reacted to it? My immediate reaction was they shouldn't have reacted like they did, after all the Hibs fans do pay their wages? |
Mixu Paatelainen Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006
Re: Collins and Craig confront irate West Stand fan?
it was about the sproule substition
he was complaining about it but i didnt know what he was saying
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
I heard from my mate who sits in front of the boy that wis daein' the shouting that he wis givin' Ivan pelters about playing shite the last couple of weeks. Ivan reacted badly, had a go back, was pulled away by TC who then started to give the boy pelters.
Apparently |
Aye, because Ivan has been in such world-class, match-winning form of late.........
I thought it was slightly out of order for the management team to react and get involved, Collins basically looked at the guy like he was something he just scraped off the sole of his shoe, and then proceeded to make some smart jibe (as did Craig), the bloke probably was perfectly within his rights to shout out. Not the smartest PR move from JC & Co, at least not for the small collection of fans who witnessed it. |
Radge Hibby Leither
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
First Team In Europe Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
How can you say that. Do you know him ? As for no support (quote) he goes to every Hibs match Home/ Away/ Europe etc. Everyone is intitled to there opinion though.
Yes the 'supporter' was a bit stupid but hey he's paid his money and entitled to his view..
Poor stuff though from the employee's of our club. A bit like back in the Williamson days where opinions of the punters were not welcomed except in cozy telephone chats over mince pie suppers.. Sproule perhaps thinks it's ok to go behind his managers back to voice an opinion to the chairman but a punter is not entitled to his? |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
yeah, cocks all of those so-called fans that booed JC when he took off the man of the match!!!!
Aw and by the way, good resources telt me on Fri night , Deano will never play a whole 90 mins for Hibs again, thought my contact was going to be wrong, as Deano was playing superbly.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Everyone's entitled to an opinion, it surely comes down to timing though. Well done to the guy who thought he would encourage Sproule by mouthing off at him as he was about to come on and play, take a bow pal you are a prize plum!!
Just because you pay £300 plus for a ST, doesn't give you the right to be a knobend. If you've got a valid point to make, do it at the right time and not during a fekn game when you should be there encouraging the players.
We sit just along from the guy who was having words wwith Ivan - not sure what it was about, but surely if it was due to Deano being subbed, that can hardly be Ivan's fault. Anyway, Ivan gave him the middle finger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not very professional though.
Folk round about us where telling the boy to shut up and sit down. Pity about Benji's sitter. Why could'nt JC have taken hin off and put Ivan on? Great game. |
Everyone is entitled to an opinion - correct. How they voice that is another thing.
If you were at your work, which is where Ivan was, you have the right to expect to be able to go about your business without being personally abused. There is not one person on this site who would put up with some unknown person shouting at them at close quarters that they were crap at their job. Why is it that we think it is socially acceptable to behave one way in normal society and another when we enter a football ground? Nobody will mind the admins and private members on here going around here pulling other people up for crap posts in future because it is okay to voice your opinion in such a manner when you are paying for the privelige? I don't think so - do you? As for JC and TC defending IS. It depends what they said - and if all TC did was ask the fan to come and have a chat, then frankly what is the problem? He probably meant it. All fortnight we have endured tales of the management being aloof from the players and the moment they show solidarity and try and protect one of them from (what sounds to be) personal abuse, they're pilloried too? They cannae win. There are times and places to voice discontent and there are ways of doing it. Abusing one of our own as he is about to come onto the field of play (against the Huns)at close range, in ear shot would almost certainly be counter-productive. How on earth could it be anything else? P.S. And the Deano is a martyr theme is odd to say the least...
I agree that you pay your money and have a right to vocalise your thoughts, however I don't think people should be shouting, swearing and gesturing directly to a player or official. I'm sure you wouldn't be able to abuse somebody like that in the Street so why start it at a football match! |
Maybe he was inspiring Ivan to play better, by calling him sh*t so he'd prove he wasn't?
Maybe not...... |
However, every punter IMO is free to say what he or she likes. It's them that will look the fool. |
I overheard a couple talk about this incident on the way out of the ground. Apparently the guy shouted that Ivan wasn't fit to wear the shirt!
I can't agree with the 'you pay your money so you can shout what you want'. I don't like some of the over-the-top personal abuse even opposing players get (OK a wee dig at KT is acceptable!). If this guy gave Ivan this level of vitriol then he deserves to get rounded on by Ivan, JC, TC and anyone else. What is the point of dishing out this kind of abuse? OK, Ivan's form has dipped recently (although I did think he made a positive contribution when he came on yesterday) but this erse's vocal contribution with his opinion of Ivan does no one any good. I know I shouted a couple things in frustration on Tuesday in regard to a few players performances but it wasn't abuse. If a player is wearing a Hibs shirt they should get the backing and encouragement of the fans, anything else is self indulgent and not of benefit to the team or club. I just wished Ivan had scored, you can bet he would have made a bee-line to the dug out area to celebrate! |
Smirnoff Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Tommy Craig told the fan he was an embarassment to this club
Radge Hibby Leither
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
if he was shouting abuse at ivan then he is
Although it would be rather hypocritical to suggest that the last month hasn't been an embarrassment to this club, being caused by the management and playing staff.
#23 |