![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Should we blame Marshall?
Looking at the amount of goalkeepers f*ck ups - not just one keeper, but three! Should we then begin to look at the goalkeeping coach?
I would normally say no - but basics such as positioning from various keepers at free kicks etc have been nothing short of a joke. Mcneil is good for a number two - lets no forget hes more than a decade off a typical keepers peak - but we have to look at another keeper. Anybody with experience, DeVries has been mentioned? But ironic today- after seriously struggling for goals since the cup final, then we score three and still fail to win. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. GGTTH To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Re: Should we blame Marshall?
Marshall has to go, just after the 3rd goal today collins gave him a bollocking and he dissapeared doon the tunnel.
Now after the previous huns game, marshall should have been working on free kicks like that with ALL the goalkeepers, either he hasn't properly done that or Andy just genuinely made bad judgement calls. Either was it has to be bye bye marshall |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
I think since he came on board our goalkeeping scenario has got worse.
Anybody agree? An absolute joke - didnt he come out last time and defend brown by saying his positioning was ok? Makes you realise how good Anderson was... where is he these days?
Perth Radge
mcneil is a young lad and in time i think he can do us a job but imo he would benefit from being understudy to a keeper with a bit of experince. as pointed out in another thread (poss by greenmachine ) a good keeper will gain you between 12-15 points per season |
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
That was the first thing on my mind as I was walking out of ER today. Having one goalkeeper who cant stand in the right place at a free kick is bad. Having two is plain wrong. Having three is simply bad coaching. What is it about ex goalkeepers automatically becoming coaches, as Marshall was an average goalkeeper at best and is quite clearly a rank rotten coach. I would honestly rather see him go than Malkowski.
We should sign Combe!!!!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
I remember after Brown made an erse of the first against the Huns in the last game Marshall said his positioning was good To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. he was at his back post on the 6yrd line leaving the entire goal wide open, what was good about that positioning We may not have had the best goalkeepers recently but when three different keeper continually make the same basic mistakes with their positioning at set pieces it leads me to think that the problem lies in what they are being taught. Marshall To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
He was sitting beside Strachan and GJP in the stand yesterday...
Maybe he was promoting the Old Firm for Setanta again.. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
I agree that we've been losing too many goals from free kicks but am I the only one on here who thinks Adam's second free kick yesterday was a good goal? Had a Hibs player scored it we would have been raving about it for weeks. Maybe McNeil's positioning could've been better but you can always find fault. Maybe we should have closed down Foster a bit faster last week and maybe the Rangers defence should have come out towards McCann a bit quicker. First goal though.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I don't mean to knock McNeil but we need to try and find someone who is more solid and experienced. |
Apparently apart from Celtic, we have conceded the least amount of goals from dead ball situations in the league (was in the evening news last week)
And about Adams free kick yes it was a great free kick but you KNEW he was going to do that, the whole ground knew he was, WHY NOT HAVE A BIGGER WALL OR PUT SOMEONE ON THE POST!?!?!? Collins was going mental after the goal at McNeil because of his ridiculously poor organization of his wall (see the highlights its basically saying 'put the ball here') And on Marshall, he must be culpable for some of it. Because the positioning of all our goalkeepers is poor sometimes and he should be rectifying that. According to John Park before he left, Marshall was an absolute wally! |