Old 28-04-07, 14:28   #1

Rep Power: 4 Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
What's in a collar?

Hibs have won three trophies in my lifetime (two in my time as a supporter) and finished runners-up in another seven finals. We've also won the First Division Championship twice but I don't count that as a 'proper' trophy for a club of Hibs' stature. Also, during those near 36 years we've had at least eighteen different strips. And there'll be another one next season. And the changes are always subtle as our classic green torso with white sleeves, known the world over, is retained. I think only St Etienne, briefly in the 80s, of Europe's clubs have had a similar strip. The changes are usually made on the collar, i.e. it's either a plain round neck, e.g. 2000-01, a round neck with a kind of overlap, e.g. 1985-86, a v-neck, e.g. 2004-05, a v-neck with a kind of overlap, e.g. 1987-88, or a polo top style collar, e.g. 2005-06. However, of these various sartorial styles the round neck is the most successful, as in each of our three League Cup victories we've always worn a round necked top. Though this season was the first time we've won green shorts in so doing. I'll be honest I'm not a fan of the green shorts, I would prefer us to wear white shorts and white socks. Those accompanied by that emerald green top and white sleeves just looks cool as phuck, smart as anything. It's so aesthetically pleasing that if it were a painting it would be the Mona Lisa, if it was a woman it would Audrey Hepburn in a classic pose. With or without cigarette.

Yeah, Hibs are a sexy football team.

hertz, on the other hand, are so repulsive that if they were a work of art then they'd a Tracey Emin tollie type pretentious, pointless wanky abortion in the Tate Gallery.

And if they were a woman then they'd be Nora Batty's piles.

****s.
Old 28-04-07, 14:33   #2

Casino cash: £4036
Re: What's in a collar?

you ever thought about getting some of these thoughts into a novel? Sure it would be a cracking (if not random) read
Old 28-04-07, 14:46   #3

Thank you Jack. I do fully intend to write a novel at some point, hopefully, in the near future. It's something that I've wanted to do for years. I hope I don't come across as an arrogant twat but I do think I have ability as a writer and it's something I really enjoy doing. Who knows. It's one of the many reasons I so love this site, i.e. it affords me the opportunity to practice writing.

Also, me and Ian (HailHail) will hopefully collaborate on a book when we've both got time. He's busy with other projects at present and I just seem to be permanently busy working 50 hour weeks.

Need to get my own PC then I could spend my many skint weekends developing ideas that are currently gathering dust in the attic of my mind.
Old 28-04-07, 14:54   #4

Casino cash: £17620
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Seven Tattoos View Post
Thank you Jack. I do fully intend to write a novel at some point, hopefully, in the near future. It's something that I've wanted to do for years. I hope I don't come across as an arrogant twat but I do think I have ability as a writer and it's something I really enjoy doing. Who knows. It's one of the many reasons I so love this site, i.e. it affords me the opportunity to practice writing.

Also, me and Ian (HailHail) will hopefully collaborate on a book when we've both got time. He's busy with other projects at present and I just seem to be permanently busy working 50 hour weeks.

Need to get my own PC then I could spend my many skint weekends developing ideas that are currently gathering dust in the attic of my mind.
What kind of novel are you thinking Scott. WIll it be a book of short stories reminiscing on days as a hibee or an actual workof fiction....do both if you feel inclined. Hope your good dude

Old 28-04-07, 14:55   #5

Cheers Iain. Better nash now, to get the bus to the old man's where we'll listen to Radio Scotland through his sky box/digibox/whatever the phuck it's called.

Both.
Old 28-04-07, 20:58   #6

Casino cash: £5020
Rep Power: 6 The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Cheers Iain. Better nash now, to get the bus to the old man's where we'll listen to Radio Scotland through his sky box/digibox/whatever the phuck it's called.

Both.
Scott,

Was that your old man on the Radio Scotland phone in?
Cunningham from South Wales. Hello Cunningham
Old 28-04-07, 21:08   #7

Casino cash: £2921

It's so aesthetically pleasing that if it were a painting it would be the Mona Lisa, if it was a woman it would Audrey Hepburn in a classic pose.
I was recently asked to define the pleasure Hibs give to my life...

I replied that a good Hibs win was like a menage a trois with Jodie Foster and Audrey Hepburn

Nora Batty on the other hand is too good looking to be a Jambo...

BTW Shirts with collars are cack... much prefer a simple crew neck...
as the majority of our winning teams are home grown maybe this is a Scottish thing ?

thats the collar not the sexual fantasies
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-07, 21:10   #8

Casino cash: £2921

ok... a bet
knock up a book worth publishing...

and I'll publish it
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-07, 21:16   #9
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23251
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by The Hibby Pirate View Post
Scott,

Was that your old man on the Radio Scotland phone in?
Cunningham from South Wales. Hello Cunningham
I heard that whilst stuck at the friggin bridge , he was talkin about biased refs and was spot on .
What about the hun moaning about Boozy getting the MOTM and what was that decision teaching kids who play football , what about the sash , fenian blood pish what does that teach anyone . ERSE
Old 28-04-07, 22:22   #10

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
I heard that whilst stuck at the friggin bridge , he was talkin about biased refs and was spot on .
What about the hun moaning about Boozy getting the MOTM and what was that decision teaching kids who play football , what about the sash , fenian blood pish what does that teach anyone . ERSE
TBF, at no time did that guy say which team he supported.
But, like you, I just knew he was a hun
Old 28-04-07, 23:58   #11
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23251
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by The Hibby Pirate View Post
TBF, at no time did that guy say which team he supported.
But, like you, I just knew he was a hun
Aye you could be right but he sounded like a right tool
Old 29-04-07, 07:55   #12

Casino cash: £19304

go for it ya radge. i think you've got it in you, and i'd read it.

get yer finger out and get a pc. prices have tumbled in recent times, and you'll get one that's up to the tasks of word processing and web browsing for a couple of hunner.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-07, 16:36   #13

Bill - it was indeed the beardy man with the golden tooth, i.e. mon pere. He telt aes on Wednesday he'd be phoning him. That's actually the second time he's been on; the first was on Sat 27 August 05, after the Ivan Sproule game, when he made the moot point that both the 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons had Hibs away to the scum and the huns twice before the split. Something that was rectified for this season. On that occasion Jim Traynor described the old man as 'a gentleman and a Hibs supporter'. Yesterday he telt Dad that he wiz paranoid! I don't think he is, he's just sick after 60 years of seeing controversial decisions usually going against Hibs. It's always been the case in the 28 years I've been watching Hibs, e.g. the first Hibs game I saw (as opposed to actually attended) was the 1979 Scottish Cup final first game. Not that I remember the actual incident (I just recall it being a miserable day and Jim McArthur playing well, I was 7) but apparently Hibs should have had a penalty with about two minutes to go.

Anyway, he was maintaining a family tradition of being patronised on air by Scottish sports journalists. You might recall that away back in April 1994 'Scott Cunningham from Glasgow' briefly asked the combined wisdom of a totally uninterested Davie Cooper and a condescending Hugh Keevins what they thought of Hibs' proposed move to Straiton. As you'll recall Bill, being someone who's family is from Leith, I was firmly against such a move, believing it to be the likely the death knell for the club. I know there are guys like yourself, Kevin, Ian, Jack, Kenny, Peter etc who, for decades, have travelled everywhere with Hibs and done so from the west coast (I did myself for long enough and now make the pilgrimage from South Wales - the derby will be my eighth game attended this season) and there are many other Hibbies who travel from other parts of Scotland and all over England but the club's heartland is Leith. Our hard-core support (apart from the notable exceptions I've just mentioned) is very localised. Far more so than our bitter rivals. They are Edinburgh's team. We're Leith's team. And that is where we must remain if we are to prosper. Anyway, they pulled the plug on me, to be fair I was a bit emotional. Cooper just sat there looking thoroughly bored and the nasal one spouted some bland platitudes about 'supporters having emotional attachments'. For a kunt who worked at The Scotsman for phuckin' years (and therefore must have worked with known a fair few Hibbies and what is important to Hibbies) he demonstrated a staggering indifference to the plight of the club that has done more to pioneer what is good about the game than any other in Scottish football. But again, I refer to a letter in the Hibs v Morton programme of Saturday 9th February 1985, in which an elderly gentleman made the point that he had followed Hibs for about 40 years and that the media were, and had always been, generally anti-Hibs. I, as a 13 year old, in my first season of watching Hibs regularly, asked my Dad, then aged 42, what he thought of it, he just nodded solemnly and affirmed everything contained in the letter. That was 22 years ago. Nothing has changed.

Hutchie - I'll be sending you a PM mate.

EGB - Thanks for your encouragement and sorry for my rant from Wednesday. Matter closed.
Old 29-04-07, 19:38   #14

I was 99% sure it was him, but I couldn't remember his name and Ian didn't sound right (I suppose he was most commonly referred to as "Scott's Dad"). Unfortunately, another sign of my approaching dotage, the old memory isn't what it was. I do however remember the incident in the 1979 Cup Final. A stone-waller from my viewpoint in the old "Celtic" End. Colin Campbell (no relation) looked to have taken the ball round the keeper and was getting ready to roll it into the empty net, when McCloy sent him sprawling. The "mason in the black" (I M D Foote??) hurridly waved play-on much to the incredulity of everyone around me.
At least I can remember the important things!

As for your brush with the media, what programme was that on? You say Cooper looked disinterested, so was it on TV? Scotsport perhaps.
Old 29-04-07, 21:01   #15

Casino cash: £19304

EGB - Thanks for your encouragement and sorry for my rant from Wednesday. Matter closed.
no apology required, certainly not in return for anything i say about you which is quite independent of anything you said.

i'm sure i am guilty of being a a canute in some of my posts, but what i hope i can truthfully say in my defence is i'll happily take it back at me without bearing any kind of grudge. i try to post in the spirit of a heated debate between friends in the pub; sometimes it possibly doesn't come off right, but there's never any malice intended - apart from against huns.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-07, 08:52   #16

bILL - It was on Scotsport on Sunday 3 April 1994. We'd drawn 0-0 (again) with St Johnstone at ER the previous day. Dermot certainly saw it as I remember him introducing me to his mate Tom (who has, or at least had, the picture shop on Brunswick Street) as being 'the guy who ran Scotsport about Straiton'.

Anyway, all these phone-ins only really serve to make the caller look like a bit of a barmy zealot but it's a way of drawing attention to an issue that the media ordinarily choose to ignore. Quite clearly we can conclude that the media give not a hoor's hymen about the 'litany' (to use Ian's term) of bad refereeing decisions we've experienced this season, or, for that matter, whether we play at our home of the last 100 odd years. Contrast that with the rainforests that were devoted to both Celtic's and hertz's proposed moves to Cambuslang and Murrayfield, respectively. And a bad decision against hertz, huns or tims usually merits a good few column inches.

Whether we like it or not, the media treat us a 'wee team', and the scum as a 'big team'. And they also like to fawn to the lumpen bampotariat support of both of the bigot brothers by indulging them in their eternal nocturnal emission that they can actually be significant players on the European stage.

There's as much chance of that happening as there is of Gordon Brown abandoning his execrated policy of taxation by stealth.