Killen leaving
According to JC on Radio Scotland. He says it is very unlikely that Chris Killen will be at Hibs next season, and he is now looking for another striker. Also reported on teletext ITV.
Chris Killen was an excellent signing by our previous manager Tony Mowbray, and has scored many goals for us. I know he has been injured a lot, but playing in theposition he does means he is always going to be vulnerable to injuries. We have missed his physical prescence and goal threat a lot since his injury in January, and we badly need to replace him with a similar type of player. If Collins wants to continue with the 4-3-3 system which was working very well for us up until Killen's injury, we need to bring in someone who can perform a similar role to Killen in the team. We have not been anything like as good since Collins was forced to revert back to a 4-4-2 formation. Thanks for the goals Chris, and all the best for the future.
Re: Killen leaving
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
http://wm.stv.tv/270407 Hibernian.wmv
Brown, Killen, Stewart, Maybe Murphy, Maybe Shiels. Brilliant, im looking forward to next season already. NOT. |
no surprise really yet another who suffers a serious injury gets supported by the club throughout it and then leaves.
I hear that the reason Killen is regularly injured is a he as some kind of spinal disorder making him slightly 'squint'. That is why he sugffers from regular back and hamstring type injuries. There again maybe its pish ?
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
Jason Scotland , may be the man to replace him ??
Grumpy Auld Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
On current form i.e the last 15 or so games, he woudlnie be a great loss.
![]() Join Date: May 2006
what about john sutton from st mirren (i know that falkirk are interested ) but i think he would jump at the chance to play for the hibees:
Always liked him as a player, first seen him when Dundee were at E.R. Would be a good signing IMO. Plus he'd be for nout... since we are skint
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Killen isnae daft
he knows he is approaching fitness again ,he knows what Hibs are offering and his agent will have been sounded out by a few other third parties so he will have a rough idea of the money he will be able to get at another club next season. He is good enough to play somewhere in the middle of the English championship and it's not difficult to double your signing on fee and double your weekly wage so it's an easy call for him. I really don't buy into this loyalty card as he really owes Hibs nothing as he hardly chose to be injured and is only getting the money his 1 year contract entitles him to. Had this been a career threatning injury it would have been hello, goodbye, thanks for all the fish and now bugger off and here's some crocodile tears to help you along(just ask Tom Smith). Football is a brutal short term game game and a player as injury prone as Killen must take every chance he has to maximise his earnings so good luck to him wherever he ends up.
At least Killen has got a fitba brain. Always handy when yer playing ....erm, fitba
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
He is a strong CF
Not particularly good in the air Cumbersome on the floor And a bit slow as a chaser Good football brain yes but v injury prone Did well for us but there must be plenty of similar players around who would have similar range of CF type attributes No great loss I say Scotland is reputed to be moody but the big Smurren boy looks capable (Sutton) McMenamin would be good too IMHO
Well it's no great shock but no great loss either because although he is a handy striker with a bit of presence he is far too injury-prone to be a real asset. He's been getting full-time wages for part-time job. No hard feelings either though. Good luck Chris wherever you end up.
Iv'e always thought of him as slow as a weekend in jail, hope he signs for the yams
![]() Join Date: Apr 2004
Is there some reason why JC doesnt try Deano and Fletch up front as part of a 4-4-2?
Liike tomorrow for instance. Deano is the man. With Clayton Donaldson, Benji, and Damon Gray also in the squad, why buy another striker? JC: Dont Sell Deano! |
Remember his first goal??
IIRC it was on that bloody marvelous sunday last february at ibrox!! A day that will live long in the memory. :YAYYY:
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
#22 | |
I know what you mean, and I also think Dean Shiels and Fletcher should be tried out as a strike partnership in these remaining games. I always have this feeling however, that managers sign players to fit into a system of play. I think Collins likes the 4-3-3 system which we used a lot at the start of the season to good effect. To play this system you need a big strong striker to hold the ball up, occupy the central defenders, and bring others into play. With Killen about to go we have no-one to do that if JC wants to get back to his favoured system for next season. Hence the reason i think he will bring in another Killen type striker. I hope Dean Shiels is still a Hibs player next season, because he is a talented lad and a good finisher. I would like to think there is a place for him in the Collins team for the 07/08 campaign.
#23 |
The Biggest Baddest Bounciest Radge