![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
After last night and now that the important issues of league cup and Scottish cup have been decided I think it is time Hibs addressed the issues raised by the players on the manager.
For a start throwing Chisholm and Gray when we have experienced players like Sowunmi and Stewart and talented players like Zemama not even quoted I have to question WTF is going on. If you take a cold hard look at it the only issue Collins has successfully addressed is the Goalkeeping one. He did this by bringing in a 19 year old and all his subsequent decisions on first team selection have followed this pattern. Player not performing throws in a laddie. At this rate we will lose Murphy, Whittaker and Jones as well as Brown. On Collins team selection for the semi and replay though: Boozy was waste of space, he hides for most of the game. Sproule was the wrong choice too because in games where the opposition bank 9 men behind the ball there is no space for him to exploit down the wings. Deano should have played from the start. The players who went to Petrie had nothing to gain from doing so. From what I hear they were asking Collins questions about training methods, reviewing tactics and mistakes on video etc and Collins just gave it a deaf ear. All this shite about players not being happy with harder training and diet etc is nonsense. I must admit when I first heard about it my immediate reaction was that Collins was just working them a bit harder in training and was not as fatherly a character as Mowbray. Now though I am really worried that JC simply doesn't have a clue. He seems not to study the opposition and develop a game plan. He seems to simply say to players that it is all about what you do and hopes the rest falls in to place. Let's face it we looked ordinary against QOS and were lucky to through. The two games against Dunfermline were crying out for a midfield player who could win the ball for us and Michael Stewart was the obvious selection. Stewart has been made the scapegoat for leading the players against Collins but I think they had some valid questions. It made me sick to hear all the Hibs fans shout one Jonny Colllins last Sunday. How demoralising for the players, who lets face it. Only have one interest at heart and that is a desire to win football matches. Isn't that what we want too? I'm sure Collins wants to win to but he should stop rattling on about his own fitness and physique and take a look at his man management skills and tactical awareness as a manager. Unfortunately I think the damage may already be done and we will lose the positive direction that Mowbray took the club in. I'd suggest sacking Collins and appointing Mark Proctor as manager. Something Petrie should have done in the first place. |
Mixu Paatelainen Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006
Re: Is Collins up to the job?
i was a bit dissapointed at his selaction as he brought on chisholm when zemmama wasn't even on the bench last night!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I also agree that sproule was absoulutly terrible last night To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Top Geezer: while you raise some interesting points and there is validity to much of waht you say I cannot agree with your conclusion. Clearly, the fullness of time will prove you right or wrong.
I'm of the opinion that the players, given the timing, i.e. a week before a semi against a team certain to be relegated (they are), and JC's location, i.e. not there, behaved in an inappropriate and cowardly manner. And that if they had any ambition to win that bl00dy cup and become Hibs legends, not to mention win a second medal themselves, then they should have put up and shut up until the conclusion of that cup run. That they did not, that they seemingly could not, smacks of blatant selfishness and total disregard for us the supporters. As Smurf has rightly pointed out on another post, last night was effectively Mowbray's men's last Hurrah. Except it wasn't. They weren't good enough. Weren't good enough to be a well-organised, committed but ultimately not particularly good team. JC is very much a novice and he has made mistakes and will continue to make mistakes but I think the time to really judge his efficacy or otherwise as a manager will be this time next year, i.e. once he's got a full season with his team behind him. As I stated elsewhere there are many currently at Easter Road who will soon depart. An intelligent football man like JC will have identified that Hibs need a new spine, i.e. a new keeper, another tough centre-half to play alongside Jones, an aggressive ball-winner to reply Broonie and a rumbustious striker to replace Killen. If he can sign the right guys in these key positions and play them along with the talented younsters coming through then I'm JC will prove his mettle as boss. But don't expect anything in the way of good results between now and May 20th, which incidentally is my Mum's birthday.
FWIW though i'd much prefer to see Mark Proctor having a wee word in the ear of the subsitutes coming on than Gordan Marshall like last night with Deano.. |
![]() Join Date: May 2006
mowbray took us to 2 semi,s same result pumped out ,was he then up to the job, lets not forget when a team shuts us down all over the park we cannot handle it,lets just wait till next season see who comes in then judge collins, christ the way things are going we will soon be like hearts no stability with our manager
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
"inappropriate and cowardly" not sure about this. They waited until after CIS Final was out the way. I know that the SC was important too and belive me I am gutted. I honestly thought we'd win both. This is not the fault of the players though. If I worked for a boss in any organisation and he was not giving an appropriate response to a direct work related question then my recourse would be to ask his boss to intervene. This is entirely appropriate in a work situation. I would say the players were brave in asking Petrie to intervene. Of course if they intentionally were undermining a boss with a view to getting him sacked then that is cowardly and inappropriate but what were their intentions and what did they have to gain by sekking Petire's intervention. I think that the intention was to get JC to answer questions about tactics and training instead of ignoring them. Time will tell as you rightly say but I fear that we may be past the point of no return with some of our current playing staff. I hope you are right and JC is the man who brings even more success but I am yet to be convinced. More than that I think his errors will lead to long term damge for our club. Short of sacking him I hope Petrie has enough courage to reprimand him for not doing his job properly and that in future he maintians meaningful dialogue with his staff. |
As for the initial post, i agree with some of your points but not your conclusion. I think zemmama (unless he was maybe injured??) or shiels should have started last night and sproule brought on to run at a tired deffense later in the game. Fair play to JC for giving Gray his chance (he deserved it and fletcher hasn't done much recently) but he couldn't really make much of an impact. Beuzelin has been poor for weeks but there isn't really any replacement for him, as Stewart wont play for Hibs again. That was the real ending of the Tony Mowbray era, next season will be the real test of JC's management and his team. GGTTH To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mental Matelot Radge
All this wailing & gnashing of teeth really makes me weep. If, at the start of the season, we'd been offered a top 6 place and a cup win who would have taken it? Lot's of folk lamenting Mowbray's departure, but as Eden has pointed out we were pumped out the last 2 semi's against a) a relegation bound Dundee Utd ( who used the win as a speing board to stay up and b) a humiliating walloping from the Gunts. I agree with 7 tats &Smurf. Judge JC after he's had a season with his team and not Mowbray's
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
Got to give him time to build his own team,but his reliance on youngsters may well be misplaced.Lets hope he goes for experience throughout the spine of the team.The team of the last 3 years whilst exciting to watch wasnt quite good enough however with the signing of a few experienced guys they might well have been. I am glad though that they won a trophy as their play did deserve it.
The season should IMO be judged in the main on the SPL. If we are honest we'd concede that the SPL is absolutely Colin Nish and to finish 5th or 6th is no real achievement. Top six for a club like us is IMO no achievement. Also 2 years ago we were 3rd, 1 year ago 4th and it's looking likely we'll be 6th this year. In terms of SPL performance it's no 'upward spiral'. It's yet another year of no European qualification. The Cup win was superb and it has to be given it's place. A wonderful run and delightful performance on the day. Emotional stuff. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. However, had Boaby won the CIS Cup in 2004 would we have finished that season saying it was successful? |
[
However, had Boaby won the CIS Cup in 2004 would we have finished that season saying it was successful?[/quote] Of course we would Kenny. Our support is as fickle as any other.
In fact Hibs played reasonably well last night, despite the obvious failure to break down a (pub) team that was as cynical and physical as they come. Once again you have to remember that Collins is a novice, he will make mistakes, but I think he's getting it right, he could do with more help from our tightfisted board. The same board that last season let our top scorer go just before a semi final. Remember the Blobby years ? |
Whatever Collins flaws are at this easly stage of his managerial career, at least by his actions he disnae think entertainment should be confined to the cinema. |
Van Zanten Ya Radge
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Last edited by Broxburn_Hibby; 25-04-07 at 20:42. |
JCs main issue is that he has tried to make his mark on the team too early. Major work is needed on the squad yes but this should have been done at the end of the season.
He is putting too many young players into the team and this is not right esp in a semi replay at nil nil with the pressure well and truly on. Im a Hibby through and through and like us all we should get behind JC and give him a chance to get his own team in - and btw we defo need some experience and a McGinlay type marauding midfielder asap. Reserve judgement until this time - and mon the Hibs Hibernian Forever. |
![]() Join Date: May 2006
kettles your spelling is atrocious, are you still bevied
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Van Zanten Ya Radge
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. oh dear.It has been rectified To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
The big challenges are to replace Brown, secure Killen and find a quality keeper. Missing out on the UEFA spot may be a blessing, as there will be no distractions from SPL business. |