Old 25-04-07, 10:15   #1

ForzaFred is on the way to a first team debut
For Better Or Worse, Till Death Us Do Part

The subject header probably says it all - while disappointed, most of us have been disappointed many times in the past, but we'll front up for more of the same next year..

But there have been moments of elation too let us not forget - not so long ago even.

In disappointing moments such as we are experiencing now, I pull out from an old wallet a press clipping from the Edinburgh Evening News I have kept since the 8th May 1972 .......let's see............35 years now.

Yes 35 years!!

Its miraculously still in tact, if going a bit yellow now.

It was written by whom was then the television reporter for the Edinburgh Evening News and says in full..........

"The Hampden tragedy, of acute discomfort to me over the weekend it should go without saying, isn't the end of the world.
Smile friends, sure in the knowledge that Hibernian, the pride of Edinburgh, will be back on your screens next season for your favourite entertainment.
Just put your dreams away for another day."

The weekend's result the up and coming TV critic referred to was a 6-1 Scottish Cup final defeat by Celtic.

Yep, that was a disappointment too, especially as I was there, but there have been many others along the Hibernian Highway to date.

I find when I pull out that now ageing bit of paper and read it, as I do it has just occurred to me, on a yearly basis, it seems in a strange way to help ease the pain of the most recent disappointment, and puts things into perspective in such times of angst.

In short, we are Hibs supporters. When we signed up for the gig nobody promised us it would be an easy ride, but we stick with it.

We're wounded just now, and we'll moan and groan a bit, probably point a few fingers.
But we'll be back
Because we're Hibs supporters.
That's what we've always done.
And that's what we'll keep doing

My Scottish Cup dreams have been lovingly and carefully folded, and neatly placed away in the drawer, being kept safe for next season.

ForzaFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 10:27   #2
Nijinsky Radge

arthurduncan is on the way to a first team debut
Re: For Better Or Worse, Till Death Us Do Part

good post but I feel like an addict mate - not just after last night but that was the nail the coffin - I feel like a dirty addict - obssessed by a pasttime that brings me occasional highs but usually lows, and which I have to beg borrow or steal to pay for. Why did I sit there last night while I could have been at home with my beautiful new baby daughter? Addiction. Is addiction a good thing? No. Do I need to develop a healthier relationship with my football club? Yes. Should I spend more time with my baby rather than pishin about with Hibs? Yes. Will I? Probably not. Just off to sign a cheque for £430 for a ST and top up - money which could better be used on decorating the spare room to make it look like a nursery.

My name is Arthurduncan and I am an addict.
Old 25-04-07, 10:57   #3

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Well said Fred. By the way, I know your brother Pat and your ne
Graham; I used to serve them in The Balfour and it was great to see them both in Jaynes on Sunday 18th March this year.

We're Hibbies and we're loyal supporters. This season is, to all intents and purposes finished. Let's look forward. JC has the potential to become the best Scottish manager since Alex Ferguson if his arrogance and drive count for anything. Basically he's had to take his predecessor's over-rated team, full of players he either doesn't rate or they don't like him or they are unwilling to comply with his instructions, and he has already won one trophy. Do you really believe Mowbray's Hibs would have beaten:
- hertz in the QF
- St Johnstone in the semi
- Killie in the final?

Do you?

Cos I don't.

At times like these it's easy to be negative, to emphasise the disappointments, to forget the positives and the achievements.

This has been our first trophy winning season in 15. This season witnessed the first ever cup final (at the twentieth attempt) that Hibs led at half-time. The first ever cup final in which we scored five goals. Rob Jones became only the third Hibs captain to lift a cup since 1902 - that's 105 years ago, as if we didn't know.

I know that I will cherish for ever the memories of those five goals in the freezing cold, on a miserable, damp, sleet-drenched day in The Weege, a day on which polar bears would have stayed in and watched Eastenders. I'll cherish the Bounce to 'Chelsea Dagger', the Proclaimers and the metereologically inappropriate 'Beautiful Day' by U2. The bus journey, with more cans of Stella than a booze cruise to Calais.

But most of all, I'll cherish standing with my Dad and my brother, outside the house my Dad grew up in on Easter Road, as the victorious Hibs bus sped along, with the silver phosphorence of the gleam on that magnificent silver trophy that now resides in Leith.

It's been a good season for Hibs.

Tomorrow Never Knows, George Harrison wrote, but d'you know something? I think tomorrow for John Collins' Hibs, i.e. when he's got rid of the malcontents and the not-up-to-the-jobs, will be even better.

I, for one, can't wait for next season.
Old 25-04-07, 11:05   #4

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

The subject header probably says it all - while disappointed, most of us have been disappointed many times in the past, but we'll front up for more of the same next year..

But there have been moments of elation too let us not forget - not so long ago even.

In disappointing moments such as we are experiencing now, I pull out from an old wallet a press clipping from the Edinburgh Evening News I have kept since the 8th May 1972 .......let's see............35 years now.

Yes 35 years!!

It was written by whom was then the television reporter for the Edinburgh Evening News and says in full..........

"The Hampden tragedy, of acute discomfort to me over the weekend it should go without saying, isn't the end of the world.
Smile friends, sure in the knowledge that Hibernian, the pride of Edinburgh, will be back on your screens next season for your favourite entertainment.

The weekend's result the up and coming TV critic referred to was a 6-1 Scottish Cup final defeat by Celtic.

Yep, that was a disappointment too, especially as I was there, but there have been many others along the Hibernian Highway to date.

I find when I pull out that now ageing bit of paper and read it, as I do it has just occurred to me, on a yearly basis, it seems in a strange way to help ease the pain of the most recent disappointment, and puts things into perspective in such times of angst.

In short, we are Hibs supporters. When we signed up for the gig nobody promised us it would be an easy ride, but we stick with it.

We're wounded just now, and we'll moan and groan a bit, probably point a few fingers.
But we'll be back

My Scottish Cup dreams have been lovingly and carefully folded, and neatly placed away in the drawer, being kept safe for next season.
I was there to.
And that somes up how I'm a Hibby

good post but I feel like an addict mate - not just after last night but that was the nail the coffin - I feel like a dirty addict - obssessed by a pasttime that brings me occasional highs but usually lows, and which I have to beg borrow or steal to pay for. Why did I sit there last night while I could have been at home with my beautiful new baby daughter? Addiction. Is addiction a good thing? No. Do I need to develop a healthier relationship with my football club? Yes. Should I spend more time with my baby rather than pishin about with Hibs? Yes. Will I? Probably not. Just off to sign a cheque for £430 for a ST and top up - money which could better be used on decorating the spare room to make it look like a nursery.

My name is Arthurduncan and I am an addict.
My name is Stretch and I am an addict.

It's like the fags. I just canny gie them up.

Well said Fred. By the way, I know your brother Pat and your ne
Graham; I used to serve them in The Balfour and it was great to see them both in Jaynes on Sunday 18th March this year.

We're Hibbies and we're loyal supporters. This season is, to all intents and purposes finished. Let's look forward. JC has the potential to become the best Scottish manager since Alex Ferguson if his arrogance and drive count for anything. Basically he's had to take his predecessor's over-rated team, full of players he either doesn't rate or they don't like him or they are unwilling to comply with his instructions, and he has already won one trophy. Do you really believe Mowbray's Hibs would have beaten:
- hertz in the QF
- St Johnstone in the semi
- Killie in the final?

Do you?

Cos I don't.

At times like these it's easy to be negative, to emphasise the disappointments, to forget the positives and the achievements.

This has been our first trophy winning season in 15. This season witnessed the first ever cup final (at the twentieth attempt) that Hibs led at half-time. The first ever cup final in which we scored five goals. Rob Jones became only the third Hibs captain to lift a cup since 1902 - that's 105 years ago, as if we didn't know.

I know that I will cherish for ever the memories of those five goals in the freezing cold, on a miserable, damp, sleet-drenched day in The Weege, a day on which polar bears would have stayed in and watched Eastenders. I'll cherish the Bounce to 'Chelsea Dagger', the Proclaimers and the metereologically inappropriate 'Beautiful Day' by U2. The bus journey, with more cans of Stella than a booze cruise to Calais.

But most of all, I'll cherish standing with my Dad and my brother, outside the house my Dad grew up in on Easter Road, as the victorious Hibs bus sped along, with the silver phosphorence of the gleam on that magnificent silver trophy that now resides in Leith.

It's been a good season for Hibs.

Tomorrow Never Knows, George Harrison wrote, but d'you know something? I think tomorrow for John Collins' Hibs, i.e. when he's got rid of the malcontents and the not-up-to-the-jobs, will be even better.

I, for one, can't wait for next season.
Again this somes up why I'm a Hibby.

There should be a place to meet to try and cure our addiction. Ooops there is... EASTER ROAD

" target="_blank">

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 11:27   #5

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Last nights trip to Glasgow and back was the most miserable football experience for many a long year. Everything went wrong and everything was shit from the moment we hit the M8 outside Edinburgh travellling at little more than 5mph in a shitey traffic jam. Missed the first 15 mins. Wish I missed the last 15.

Oh, aye, did I mention SFA stands for Soapdodging Fuckwits Anonymous.

Going to get ma ST and Cup TopUp this week. Would be cheaper paying for a session in Miss Whiplash's Torture Chamber. But that would be too easy and over too quick. Mental anguish and pain is the Easter Road way.

Oh, aye, did I mention SFA stands for Soapdodging Fuckwits Anonymous.

pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 11:33   #6

Location: Newry bout 5 miles from the border of the Republic of Ireland South Armagh/Down
Newry Hiby is on the way to a first team debut

Win, lose or draw i'll allways love Hibs we dont need to be slagging the players of. They will be as annoyed as us. We need to keep showing our support as Hibees and get behind the lads.

Newry Hiby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 11:36   #7

Yes 35 years!!

But we'll be back

Yup. Same old, same old. If you'd have said at the beginning of the season that John Collins would be our manager and that we would win the league cup and reach the semi of the Scottish Cup I would have been pleased.

It would have been good to get into Europe but now building a team which can be more consistent in the league is a priority.