Old 25-04-07, 09:14   #1

Was Last Night The End Of The Mowbray Era?

JC found a lot of things out last night and i think the changes will be quite drastic this summer.

Unfortunately players he wants to keep will probably leave and i can think of three who we will lose in the summer that none of us want to see going..

The obvious one is Scott Brown. He's a huge talent and i just hope he's not so foolish to look across the Motorway Eight as his talent is such that his level is the Premiership and IMO he's top quality. He's going to be a huge loss.

I think Murphy is off and has made it clear he wants to move back down south sooner rather than later. Credit to him for looking to do it in such a way that the club is compensated financially by a transfer fee. IMO he's the best full back at ER in my lifetime and a top professional.

Also Whittaker it would appear is quite rightly looking to increase his earning potential. IMO he's a player not given the credit he deserves by the support and is easily the most exciting right back at Easter Road in my lifetime...

The loss of our two full backs will be huge and although McCann and Stevenson are hugely talented it's a risk to go with such inexperience for an entire SPL campaign and an experienced player with the versatility to play across all four back positions is i'm sure a huge priority for JC and Jackie McNamara is the obvious answer..

It's obvious Killen will happily accept the more money on offer elsewhere.

Obviously we know about the departures of Stewart, Glass, Zibi, Simon Brown etc

Players who i reckon JC will offload could be quite a few with one or two surprises. Martis is a player i don't think is JC's cup of tea. I think there are question marks over Beuzelin, Sproule and Zemamma. All three of these are probably players who think they are better than they actually are. IMO they'll never play at a level higher than Easter Road. I'd not be surprised to see that all three move on to be honest..

Deano is a strange one.. Of all the players we could lose i really feel he could be a player whose departure we'll go on to regret. IMO he should have started the game up front last night as he's the goalscorer we're missing at the moment..

I just hope the surgery takes place ASAP so JC can get the squad for next season together for pre-season and not a revolving door in the fist three weeks of the new season..
Old 25-04-07, 09:21   #2

gone the hibees is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Was Last Night The End Of The Mowbray Era?

JC found a lot of things out last night and i think the changes will be quite drastic this summer.

Unfortunately players he wants to keep will probably leave and i can think of three who we will lose in the summer that none of us want to see going..

The obvious one is Scott Brown. He's a huge talent and i just hope he's not so foolish to look across the Motorway Eight as his talent is such that his level is the Premiership and IMO he's top quality. He's going to be a huge loss.

I think Murphy is off and has made it clear he wants to move back down south sooner rather than later. Credit to him for looking to do it in such a way that the club is compensated financially by a transfer fee. IMO he's the best full back at ER in my lifetime and a top professional.

Also Whittaker it would appear is quite rightly looking to increase his earning potential. IMO he's a player not given the credit he deserves by the support and is easily the most exciting right back at Easter Road in my lifetime...

The loss of our two full backs will be huge and although McCann and Stevenson are hugely talented it's a risk to go with such inexperience for an entire SPL campaign and an experienced player with the versatility to play across all four back positions is i'm sure a huge priority for JC and Jackie McNamara is the obvious answer..

Players who i reckon JC will offload could be quite a few with one or two surprises. Martis is a player i don't think is JC's cup of tea. I think there are question marks over Beuzelin, Sproule and Zemamma. All three of these are probably players who think they are better than they actually are. IMO they'll never play at a level higher than Easter Road. I'd not be surprised to see that all three move on to be honest..

Deano is a strange one.. Of all the players we could lose i really feel he could be a player whose departure we'll go on to regret. IMO he should have started the game up front last night as he's the goalscorer we're missing at the moment..

I just hope the surgery takes place ASAP so JC can get the squad for next season together for pre-season and not a revolving door in the fist three weeks of the new season..

Just a pity Jackie hates JC wi a passion and vice versa

Gearing up for the finale
gone the hibees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 09:22   #3

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

yES. Expect to see a very different Hibs team and squad come August.

Also, expect to see very experimental, youthful Hibs teams in the season's four remaining fixtures.

Even if all four games are lost - something we'd all hate; matches against the scum, huns n dodgers are never, ever meaningless - the priority is preparing the Hibernian FC first team of tomorrow.
Old 25-04-07, 09:22   #4

Naked Chef will become famous soon enough

We can only try and be positive about next season. This season is over for us now amd hopefully next season will be something to look forward to and be excited about.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 09:25   #5

yES. Expect to see a very different Hibs team and squad come August.

Also, expect to see very experimental, youthful Hibs teams in the season's four remaining fixtures.

Even if all four games are lost - something we'd all hate; matches against the scum, huns n dodgers are never, ever meaningless - the priority is preparing the Hibernian FC first team of tomorrow.
Agreed dude.

I hope the nucleas of players who played v Aberdeen play in every remaining SPL game. It's experience that can't be bought.
Old 25-04-07, 09:32   #6

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

It is probably about time for a change. Winning the CIS cup was great, but its as far as this team is going to go.

Brown, Murphy and possibly Whittaker I expect to be on their way. If we were to get a decent enough bid for Fletcher I would take it as well. Beuzelin must be shown the door this summer.

Collins says there is no money to spend. I'm not so sure. If he is telling the truth and there is none then it is going to be a long hard season next year.
Old 25-04-07, 09:45   #7

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Pretty much agree with all that (bar j mcnamara). We definately need surgery, but TBH, at the mo, I'd happily let ALL players leave who dont wish to play for the cabbage, because next season the only thing I want is a season without our top players/captains going to a feckn glasgow club, and nae kids who have a good run at the beginning of the season demanding huge wage rises and wanting to leave. A year of stability is needed as far as I can see. Also, at times I think a lot of us need to realise that we're not as good as we think we are!
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 09:47   #8

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

I think we need to give Beuzelin at least another half season. If he can get back to his very best, he's a player of the type of quality that we're not going to be able to replace. I really rate Beuzy, and despite the fact that he's basically not kicked a ball since his injury, I'd be gutted if he left in the summer. For me, he still does at least one thing in every game that just leaves you speechless, and that's a big part of why I watch football. Players like Beuzy and Brown don't come along that often, which is why we need to keep a hold of them for as long as we can.

Brown will be off, hopefully to the Premiership. I can see WBA coming in for him if they get promoted. If he's going to the Premiership, it's not going to be to one of the top clubs just yet. More likely a newly promoted side, or a bottom half team for now. If he goes west, even for a good fee, I'll be very disappointed.

I hope we hang onto Deano, I think he's deserved a better crack at the first team, though to be fair, injuries have limited him this season. I really rate him.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 10:02   #9

HibeeZab is on the way to a first team debut

I think beuzelin has signed a contract extension has he not?

Agree with everything else you've said, next season will be a totally new side (as it was when mowbray took over), and I dont think that is a bad thing. Mowbray brought us a few gems in murphy, beuzelin etc, and i think JC will do the same.

As long as we get some decent fee's for the outgoing players (and get the useless dross off the wage bill) then I think JC will have scope to redevelop this team.
Old 25-04-07, 10:50   #10

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

I think the Mowbray era was over when Mowbray was still here.
Let me explain.

We played some nice football,but the defence under Mowbray was a shambles. Just before he left, he tried to paper over the cracks by getting in Jones, and McNeil. Although he never played McNeil.
I think he was just waiting to leave, and basically going through the motions.

Collins inherited this team, and found things wrong with it that maybe Mowbray didnt see,or didnae want to see?

I think Collins has sacrificed the flair a wee bit,and tried to add a bit of steel to the team,but Johhny boy it aint worked.

Hibs under Mowbray, played some of the best football I've seen at ER. Under Collins they tend to try and build from the back more,and it all starts from McNeil. This disnae work all the time,especially when you set up your team to play with a target man week in week out.When your target man is injured it disnae work. But we still insist in doing it. Sometime it needs a boot up the park but we dont do this.

Last night was a prime example of sacrifice flair for a win. Bamba was absolutley gash,but we still insisted in playing round about him,instead of right in his face.Play on top off him, and he was guaranteed to give away free-kicks around the box.Ok we tried this now and again last night,but Benji was going down far to easy for my liking, and obviously the fcukwit with the whistle felt the same.
Also Benji isnae Killen.

It's great giving laddies/bairns a chance, but not in a Scottish Cup semi final.
I think there's a battle of wills now at ER,and Collins disnae give the impression he's the type of guy to back down.
The body langauge of the players is all wrong, and it looks like they would be delighted if the season finished now.

I dont doubt that Collins is the man for the job. But he better start coming up with some players. Namely a Goalkeeper who disnae always try and make a tv save,and catches a cross,instead of flapping at it. A midfielder who can play between midfield, and defence, with a bit of steel in him. And a forward who disnae always fall down like there's a fcukin sniper in the stand, everytime someone looks at him the wrong way.

One last point. Collins has played at a very high level, with some very good coaches. So why, oh why, do we still do the same routine at every corner/free kick. It's shit Johhny boy, and it aint working. So lets try something else.

These are just my opinions so dinnae shoot me.

I'm just fcukin pissed off, as I thought we had a really good shout of ending the bogey.

'When the Hibs, go up to lift the Scottish Cup I'll be deed'.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 11:12   #11

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

One last point. Collins has played at a very high level, with some very good coaches. So why, oh why, do we still do the same routine at every corner/free kick. It's shit Johhny boy, and it aint working. So lets try something else.
This is one of the things that worries me. Our sole tactic from corners and free kicks is to aim the ball at Jones and hope for the best. We need to vary it as teams know what we're going to do and flood the area around him.Use him as a decoy once in a while ffs!

Also, is Murphy the only person who can take corners? He must cover some distance in this task alone. He takes them from both sides. To be honest, it's not as if his delivery is that perfect. Last night he took a corner from the right that was cleared for a Hibs throw on the left. He then had to go the full width of the pitch to take a long throw! Surely somebody else can cross a dead ball.

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 11:15   #12

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

T-shirt Kenny????

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 12:15   #13

II dont doubt that Collins is the man for the job. But he better start coming up with some players. Namely a Goalkeeper who disnae always try and make a tv save,and catches a cross,instead of flapping at it. A midfielder who can play between midfield, and defence, with a bit of steel in him. And a forward who disnae always fall down like there's a fcukin sniper in the stand, everytime someone looks at him the wrong way.

That does my head in as well. I really rate Benji but he needs to learn that if he goes down everytime someone goes near him he'll be 'the boy who cried wolf' and will get treated as such. Stay on your feet son and maybe things will open up in front of you, go down too easy and you give the ball putting the team under pressure away plus you run the risk of getting booked for diving. Fair enough Benji does get a lot of attention and if its a foul its a foul but theres no need to guild the fekkin lily.

Old 25-04-07, 13:35   #14

Kenny,

This must be the first time I've ever agreed 100% with every word of your post!

Surgery is indeed required and I agree that it should be carried out ASAP. Murphy and Whittaker will be very hard to replace if they go and I too will not be surprised if a few "big names" go as well. But Saturday's gritty performance against the Dons showed that JC has others coming through and I wouldn't mind seeing some of them getting the remaining games of this season to establish themselves and give JC the chance to build for next season.

Whatever happens though, I'm renewing my ST and going along for the ride again.

Old 25-04-07, 14:03   #15

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

I think there are question marks over Beuzelin, Sproule and Zemamma. All three of these are probably players who think they are better than they actually are. IMO they'll never play at a level higher than Easter Road. I'd not be surprised to see that all three move on to be honest..
I dont know whats happened to Boozy lately. I think its too early to pass judgement on Zemmama - he's not really had a proper run in the team.

But I certainly disagree about Sproule. He still has a lot to learn in the game but there can be no faulting his commitment - i think his hunger is often misconstrued as arrogance. Sproule is a breath of fresh hair among the cult of metrosexual-VIP in City-bacardi breezer drinking wideos that has been prominent at ER in recent years.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 14:46   #16

dazzhfc is on the way to a first team debut

Just a pity Jackie hates JC wi a passion and vice versa
why do they no get along?
Old 25-04-07, 15:31   #17

I hate to repeat myself but i still think we're a bit lightweight , i also think if Murphy leaves we need to sign another LB cos Stevenson would be wasted there . I'd also disagree with Stretch about Bamba , i thought he had a very good game last night
Old 25-04-07, 15:42   #18

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

I was expecting this squad here next season:

McNEIL (+Grof, Curtis)
McCANN WHITTAKER JONES HOGG MARTIS McCAFFREY STEVENSON MURPHY (+Smith)
SPROULE SHIELS KERR CHISHOLM LYNCH BEUZELIN ZEMMAMA (+Notman, Ayre, Martin)
FLETCHER BENJELLOUN DONALDSON CAMPBELL GRAY

But with suggestions that Shiels, Martis, Murphy and Whittaker could all be on their way, either sold or released, we're looking at either signing an entire starting XI, or struggling to make the top six. Which would be an appalling reflection on 'defeat' snatched from the jaws of 'victory' from the board and the management team. If we will have no money to sign new people 'period', then we should not be selling anyone - including Scott Brown, only decent consistant player we now have - 'period' IMO.

If we end up with this team next year:

McNEIL
McCANN HOGG JONES STEVENSON
SPROULE BEUZELIN KERR ZEMMAMA
FLETCHER/BENJELLOUN DONALDON

Subs: Grof; Martis, McCaffrey; Chisholm, Lynch; Fletcher/Benjelloun, Campbell/Gray

then we will probably be looking at finishing 7th or 8th. That team can not compete with the InFirm, Yams, Sheep - nor with Kilmarnock or Dundee United if they continue their good form of this season. We would be fighting it out with Falkirk and ICT in lower mid table, while Motherwell, St Mirr