Players have downed tools since CIS Cup win
There is no doubt about it IMO.
Watching that apology of a performance tonight against the worst team in the league has convinced me that a good number of our players lost the appetitite for the remainder of the season after lifting the CIS Cup at Hampden on March 18th. We have only scored 3 goals since that game, and have now disgracefully crashed out of the Scottish Cup to a team which will probably be playing First Division football next season. The impression I get is that a number of the players either thought that their work was done at Hibs after winning the CIS Cup, or are simply looking for a move out of the club as soon as possible. Hibs passing was shocking tonight, whereas we were baing lauded for our passing only a few months ago. Our set-pieces are fast becoming a joke. David Murphy took every single corner and free-kick tonight, and nothing came out of any of them. The players look burnt out. After about 25 minutes tonight I was fearing the worst. We simply didn't seem to have the energy or drive required to get behind the Pars defence at any stage. We could have played all night and not scored. I think a lot of the dressing-room problems the other week perhaps came about through frustration on Collins and Craig's part as they had detected that the players were just not going to be up for the Scottish Cup games or the remainder of the league season. The CIS Cup Final was the endgame for them. Another pish performance at East End Park a few weeks ago would have been too much to take for a manager who will simply not settle for resting on Laurels or complacency. I have to say, there are a few things which worry me about the Collins/Craig set-up, but in general they have done well by winning a trophy. However, the season is now over, and they have to start clearing the decks of some of these players who clearly do not want to be at Easter Road any more.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: Players have downed tools since CIS Cup win
All I want to know is why the players are not getting tired so easily
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We have a good batch of players but only a few simply put in the great performances each game we want to see...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
apart fi the 2nd half v aberdeen in the scottish and of course the final itself hibs have been poor since xmas. its the same old ....we simply are not strong enough each and every season to last the pace..the cis win is just papering over the cracks.
errors have cost us dear and i hate to admit it we as a team have missed thompson. final 3rd has been bad for a while , weve also badly missed killen in the way we play as a team and simply cant change our style to suit. bring on the close season ....... a need a rest am feckin drained |
the feckin painful wait to get out of the car park at hampden gave me plenty time to ponder this, and regrettably i think your assessment is spot on. to think on the giddy wave of the CIS win i thought we might give hearts a record pumping, and even mount a renewed push for a top 4 finish, while cruising to a scottish final i thought we might well win, and certainly getting into europe. now, i feel like in some ways i let myself be sold a pup. the cis win, as you say, has turned heads a bit. the true bigger picture is the same themes as always; inconsistency, inability to convert superiority into results, mental and physical fragility. brown for me drove us tonight. with him gone, on top of KT who on his day belied his own slight physique the way he dished it out, i fear that i can't see where the aggression we need is going to come from.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Not that this is an excuse or anything |
In 3 games in 17 days against the side looking most likely to be relegated from the SPL we've not scored a goal let alone looked like winning any of the fixtures..
It suggests to me that we are a team actually in a false SPL position.. |
However, I thought the players looked well up for it and I genuinely think they gave their all. I thought it was a decent team performance with no major failures and one stand out in broonie. |
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
The post Xmas slump isn't anything unusual as it happens every single year.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Tonight was yet another example of players being unable to find that extra bit of mental strength and toughness and unfortunately when the questions were asked of them they just weren't able to deliver on one of the most crucial games of the season To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Big players deliver on the big occasion and they do it consistently and you could see exactly why tonight that Scott Brown is indeed a very big player To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. as for the others they delivered once this season in magnificent style To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. and maybe that all that's can be asked of them. JC knew this and his attempt to freshen up the team was brave but really rather foolish. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 18 year old boys trying to make their way in the game really shouldn't be exposed to starting a crucial Scottish cup semi final and his substitution of Chisholm for Boozy was a quite pointless exercise in futility. Brutally average players like 'Wee Hoggy' are the obvious scapegoat but if you can't score a goal in 3 hours against Dunfermline (4.5 hours including the league game) then you really don't deserve to progress to the cup final. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hibs didn't lose this game tonight though, they lost it in January where RP/JC and TC hadn't done their homework at all and despite Killen's injury and the literally £ millions of pounds of transfer money and gate money and cup run money generated this year, they sat on their wee bums and brought next to nobody to the club to bolster a tiny squad that really only has 15 players. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hibs history is littered with missed opportunities and this season the management of RP/JC and TC scored one wonderful goal but they also missed an absolute sitter as well. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
A Darling Radge
maybe in some way its a blessing in disguise...if we'd scraped through tonight we'd have the inevitable ticket scramble for the final with everyone and their granny trying to get to a game that we'd no doubt get humped in and then we'd have the usual one game in europe where we'd crash out to dukla prague on away goals ultimatley leaving us feeling as we do now...hopelessly deflated..maybe its best to cut out the middle man and just be depressed now rather than saving it for may and september...
nights like last night just highlight a total lack of depth in the hibs team, losing KT and Killen would affect any team but its annihilated ours. The finishing last night was utter toss, i like benji and fletch but neither have enough strength/fight about them.
Our midfield also looks shockingly lightweight, hibs always seem to lack biting/aggressive midfielders. time to get one in.
#16 | ||
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
One of the problems of the Mowbray era was the lack of first team opportunities for the under 20's: something that has been identified, and rectified under JC.
Formerly Cockney Radge
What would we have given for a penalty box predator last night??
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The number of times the ball rolled agonisongly along the six yard box or was crying out just to be poked over the line...ach..so frustrating. As has been said its no surprise that since Killen's injury we have struggled but once again the make do and mend, penny pinching, short termism of the mouser has cost us probably our best chance in recent years to get the holy grail. (and any income from a UEFA Cup campaign) Mind you in light of how piss poor the team has been since Killie not qualifying for Europe is probably a blessing. I won't be eagerly scanning the papers or websites for exciting new signings or even players i may previously have heard of. As per we'll be making the papers for palyers going out the way for multi millions while watching journeymen arrive at ER. Same old, same old abd the lessons are never learned. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Will still be the there next season tho'..mug that I am. Gav