Old 23-04-07, 11:06   #1

nanamag is on the way to a first team debut
Thumbs up directions to hampden,

morning all you bouncers i need you'r help, i stay in fife and we are driving to the game on tuesday but have always went by the supporters bus so have not got a scooby how to get there, i have been told that if i fallow the signs for rutherglen it is a stright road from there can anyone confirm this for me as i dont wont to get lost and miss half the game, any help would be great,

nanamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 11:37   #2

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light
Re: directions to hampden,

morning all you bouncers i need you'r help, i stay in fife and we are driving to the game on tuesday but have always went by the supporters bus so have not got a scooby how to get there, i have been told that if i fallow the signs for rutherglen it is a stright road from there can anyone confirm this for me as i dont wont to get lost and miss half the game, any help would be great,

Follow this link

Use the route planner put in your own postcode then put in G42 9AY.

Hope this helps.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Being another year older.
46 days 10 hours 35 minutes
Hibsean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 11:59   #3

goldenhibby is on the way to a first team debut

This is definitely the quickest way!!

M8 to <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" /><st1:City w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Glasgow</st1:place></st1:City>
Approx 30 miles from Hermiston Gate, Take turning for Carlisle/East Kilbride – Sign posted M74/A725<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
Follow this road A725 (Dual Carriageway) until you reach the M74 roundabout.
Go under the M74 and follow signs for East Kilbride A725 (Stay in Left hand lane)
Follow signs once under M74 for EK A725
Stay on this road (Dual carriageway)for approx 4 miles until you see a sign for East KilbrideA725/Glasgow A749
Stay in right hand lane when you see this sign (High flats on your left). The road spilts into 2. Stay in right hand lane sign posted Glasgow A749
Follow the A749 onto the 1<SUP>st</SUP> r/about. Turn right at this r/about/traffic lights (You will see a B&Q in front of you)
At 2<SUP>nd</SUP> r/about/traffic lights go straight ahead. You will see a Pizza Hut and a <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:PlaceName w:st="on">Retail</st1:PlaceName> <st1:PlaceType w:st="on">Park</st1:PlaceType></st1:place> on your left.
Follow this dual carriage way for approx 2 miles down the hill.(You are still on the A749) until you reach another r/about
At this r/about turn left (Sign posted Cathkin)<o:p></o:p>
After turning left follow this road for approx 400 yards until you come to a “T” junction.
At the “T” junction left and immediately first right (Only 50 yards after turning left). This will bring you past some houses and then past some shops.
Follow the road down the hill after the shops.
At the 1st set off traffic lights go straight ahead
Follow the road under the railway bridge after the 2<SUP>nd</SUP> set off t/lights
After you go under the bridge you will see a sign for Kings Park/Cathcart.
Turn left at this and follow the road all the way to the outskirts of Hampden
I would park near the end of this road
<o:p></o:p>
The above is approx 43 miles from Hermiston Gate

Good luck!
goldenhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 16:29   #4

This is definitely the quickest way!!

M8 to <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" /><st1:City w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Glasgow</st1:place></st1:City>
Approx 30 miles from Hermiston Gate, Take turning for Carlisle/East Kilbride – Sign posted M74/A725<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
Follow this road A725 (Dual Carriageway) until you reach the M74 roundabout.
Go under the M74 and follow signs for East Kilbride A725 (Stay in Left hand lane)
Follow signs once under M74 for EK A725
Stay on this road (Dual carriageway)for approx 4 miles until you see a sign for East KilbrideA725/Glasgow A749
Stay in right hand lane when you see this sign (High flats on your left). The road spilts into 2. Stay in right hand lane sign posted Glasgow A749
Follow the A749 onto the 1<SUP>st</SUP> r/about. Turn right at this r/about/traffic lights (You will see a B&Q in front of you)
At 2<SUP>nd</SUP> r/about/traffic lights go straight ahead. You will see a Pizza Hut and a <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:PlaceName w:st="on">Retail</st1:PlaceName> <st1:PlaceType w:st="on">Park</st1:PlaceType></st1:place> on your left.
Follow this dual carriage way for approx 2 miles down the hill.(You are still on the A749) until you reach another r/about
At this r/about turn left (Sign posted Cathkin)<o:p></o:p>
After turning left follow this road for approx 400 yards until you come to a “T” junction.
At the “T” junction left and immediately first right (Only 50 yards after turning left). This will bring you past some houses and then past some shops.
Follow the road down the hill after the shops.
At the 1st set off traffic lights go straight ahead
Follow the road under the railway bridge after the 2<SUP>nd</SUP> set off t/lights
After you go under the bridge you will see a sign for Kings Park/Cathcart.
Turn left at this and follow the road all the way to the outskirts of Hampden
I would park near the end of this road
<o:p></o:p>
The above is approx 43 miles from Hermiston Gate

Good luck!

thank you my friend for the map surly cant get lost now with that info,

Old 23-04-07, 16:41   #5

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

on m8, follow signs for Pollockshaws, stop at the club for a couple of hours, get bladdered, come away fae the Pollock, turn left, start singing like there's no tomorrow, and...............your there, easy!
FFS dinnae ask how tae git hame!

Old 23-04-07, 16:46   #6

HibeeEmma is on the way to a first team debut

Dont go the M73-74 Carlisle way!

I went there and got lost...found a hibs car and followed it through town and cities to get to Hampden last time!!!

Made it in the end though!

BEBO>>
HibeeEmma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 16:47   #7
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

The rutherglen/m73 route.

HailHail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 17:14   #8

is definitely not the way you want to go

Bounce Tours will be heading through to the Weege by the M9 >> M876 >> M80 >> A80 >> M8(J13) >> M8(J15) >> High Street >> Gorbals >> Aitkenhead Rd >> Hampden(purple car park, South Stand
)

see ye there

Old 23-04-07, 17:16   #9

crabit is on the way to a first team debut

Dont go the M73-74 Carlisle way!

I went there and got lost...found a hibs car and followed it through town and cities to get to Hampden last time!!!

Made it in the end though!
I got lost that way first time too but I persevered. The trick is that after you leave the M8 you head South down the M73 and then join the M74 to Glasgow. At the end of the M74 there is a choice whether you go through Rutherglen or along London Road past Celtic Park (as per the police recommended route).

I checked out my route on Google Earth which helped a bit as it's more visual. (btw the pic over Celtic Park was taken about 5 mins before a match kicked off and I spent ages checking out the numbers of cars and buses there were - no doubt that'll surprise none of you.)
crabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 17:48   #10

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Bounce Tours will be heading through to the Weege by the M9 >> M876 >> M80 >> A80 >> M8(J13) >> M8(J15) >> High Street >> Gorbals >> Aitkenhead Rd >> Hampden(purple car park, South Stand
)

see ye there
Interesting route - guess you are trying to avoid the congestion on the M8?

I've got thoroughly lost/delayed on the M73 route before (Ayr Utd semi where I wish we'd actually just given up instead of arriving at Hampden that miserable night). Going into Glasgow on the M8 and leaving at the Cathedral Exit J15 and then heading down High St across to the Gorbals and down Aitkenhead Road is in my experience the least confusing way. A Mapquest printout showing the route from the J15 M8 exit down to Hampden is really clear and easy to follow - used it for the CIS Final and even had time to stop at the Gallowgate and go for a pizza and a pint!
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 17:53   #11

Interesting route - guess you are trying to avoid the congestion on the M8?

I've got thoroughly lost/delayed on the M73 route before (Ayr Utd semi where I wish we'd actually just given up instead of arriving at Hampden that miserable night). Going into Glasgow on the M8 and leaving at the Cathedral Exit J15 and then heading down High St across to the Gorbals and down Aitkenhead Road is in my experience the least confusing way. A Mapquest printout showing the route from the J15 M8 exit down to Hampden is really clear and easy to follow - used it for the CIS Final and even had time to stop at the Gallowgate and go for a pizza and a pint!

Yep, the difference in road miles is only 5 miles, and the time saved by avoiding the slow crawl at either end will make a difference. At that time(7pm- ish) most of the city centre traffic around Cathedral - Gorbals would be minimal.

Old 23-04-07, 17:54   #12
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

)

see ye there
see you in the car park

HailHail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 20:17   #13

garethni is on the way to a first team debut

M80 >> A80 >> M8(J13) >> M8(J15) >> High Street >> Gorbals >> Aitkenhead Rd >> Hampden
As the great Meat Loaf would say... You took the words right out of my mouth
garethni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 22:10   #14
GOING TO PRESS RADGE

Deeks Second Coming is on the way to a first team debut

Just follow the crowds.......

'The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.'
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Return of the prodigal son
Deeks Second Coming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-07, 23:12   #15

well thank you all for you'r help but i'm even more

now, but no realy thanks i'm sure i will find it ok, mon the hibeees

Old 23-04-07, 23:27   #16

see you in the car park
what time is every one thinking of going at i could fallow the bus or cars to get there that would be easer for me,:YAYYY: i was realy thinking of going around 4ish so if i get lost i have time to find it but if i can fallow a bus then that would be better, what a heed

i;m, sorry for being a pest,thanks folks for your help,