Old 20-04-07, 07:55   #1

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about
This is why collins and the players cannae trust the record

SCAPE GOAT
EXCLUSIVE HIBS LATEST ... Shelton: It's wrong to blame Michael for revolt ... it was the group
By Chris Roberts
HIBS outcast Shelton Martis last night insisted Michael Stewart has been made the scapegoat for the club's rebelllion.

Martis jumped to the defence of the fiery midfielder, who has been axed by boss John Collins.

The Easter Road manager insists his decision to terminate Stewart's contract was taken for football reasons only. But Collins told Rod Petrie to sanction a new contract offer for the former Manchester United starlet four months ago.

Stewart thinks he has been singled out as the troublemaker after skipper Rob Jones and his team-mates came out backing their boss last week.

Record Sport broke the exclusive of the Hibs revolt against the management team after a bust-up following the Dunfermline defeat. Stewart was not responsible for demanding showdown talks with Petrie but he has been made to look the chief offender.

But Martis, who was flanked by Stewart at a "Kick Racism out of Football" event, came out fighting for his former team-mate.

Advertisement

He said: "It's a difficult situation. I have sympathy for Michael because it looks as if he is the one who has caused all this trouble.

"But it is not him - it is the group - and for him to be sacrificed is a bit harsh.

"You know how football is - sometimes it can love you and sometimes it can hate you."

Martis admits he too was dropped from the squad altogether after Collins told him he had lost his "sharpness".

The 24-year-old was nowhere to be seen after playing in the 1-1 draw with St Mirren on April 4.

Martis said: "The gaffer said that I have not been sharp lately. Of course I have been trying to get my confidence back and my sharpness."

Martis' future looks bleak but the defender insists he is going nowhere. The August 2006 signing from Darlington has vowed to fight his way back into the side -if not this season then next.

Martis said: "It never entered my mind to leave.

"If we reach the Scottish Cup Final and make UEFA Cup football next year then why would I want to move anywhere? Maybe you can move to a lesser level in football but I want to play European football and all those things come into my decision.

"I am so happy in Edinburgh and I can have no complaints with the club. Next year will better for me."

Martis also admits he can have no axe to grind with Collins about losing his place to Chris Hogg.

Hogg has forged a central-defensive partnership with skipper Jones but with them playing in tandem Hibs have lost two and drawn two of their last four games.

Martis said: "I have not been playing and Hoggy has been doing well. He has been great despite what has happened so I can't say too much because the team has been doing well."

But the events of recent times have stunned Martis. He said: "I have never experienced what has happened in recent weeks. It is the first time I have ever had this sort of thing go on.

"I don't mind but it was not nice for the gaffer and for the club itself.

"We had to try to go home and not think about it but it wasn't easy to forget about.

"The way we were talked about by people and the media was not nice. But we have to move on and forget what happened."

But Martis thinks the statement and the clear-the-air talks with the management has united the club again. He said: "It has brought everyone together again. We have never been apart but maybe a couple of players have.

"We are all the same and maybe it was blown out of proportion.

"But we are still a unit and will play like a unit. We won the cup as a unit and we are going for another cup."

Martis believes his team-mates can now get past Dunfermline and beat Celtic to win the Scottish Cup.

He said: "I am always confident that we can win the cup final.

"This is a big tournament for us and what has happened will make us stronger."

Martis is looking ahead and he has promised Collins that he will be a better player next season. He said: "It has been a big step up from League Two to this level.

"I have been doing quite well but it is not my best season. It can get better though and I am still getting used to the game.

"Next year I just want to do more and I can do more. I just have to fight hard to win back my place and I am confident that the manager will be fair to me.

"If I can prove that I am playing well and deserve my chance then I am sure I will get it. This is a big club going places and I want to be a part of it.

"It has been a tough time for everyone but we have so much we want to do.

"I want to keep getting better with each season but first I have to be playing on a regular basis and that's my next aim.

"Things change quickly in football and I might be back in the side soon and talking about keeping my place.

"I am still very happy to be here and I just want to make sure that I can impress the gaffer.

"We have had a good season but we want it to be better and put all those problems behind us."
What a truly rubbish article.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-07, 08:28   #2

mad giraffe is on the way to a first team debut
Re: This is why collins and the players cannae trust the record

the story is dying a death so they are clutching at straws.

refuse to buy that paper and refuse the free one in the evening. have to bite my lip to not tell the guys handing the evening one out where to ram it.
Old 20-04-07, 08:37   #3

Shelton has had his words manipulated here. I would hardly say he has been dropped from the fold altogether. He had a solid game at St.Mirren and is an able replacement for Jones and Hogg, who have the shirts - and rightly - at the moment. On that note - the best defensive performance this season had Martis and Hogg at Centre half at Parkhead.

Keep grafting Shelton. Dinny talk to any manipulative cuuntybaws either.

Old 20-04-07, 10:25   #4

GlesgaeHibby is on the way to a first team debut

keep in there shelton, agree with what was said above about shelton and hoggy being the best defensive partnership as shown at parkhead. jones and hogg looking strong just now though which is fantastic
GlesgaeHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-07, 21:43   #5

dazzamc7 is on the way to a first team debut

They are looking strong. Its just annoying that when we finally seem to be shutting up shop more at the back noone can put the ball in the net which has NEVER been a problem before!
dazzamc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-07, 21:48   #6

Shelton has had his words manipulated here. I would hardly say he has been dropped from the fold altogether. He had a solid game at St.Mirren and is an able replacement for Jones and Hogg, who have the shirts - and rightly - at the moment. On that note - the best defensive performance this season had Martis and Hogg at Centre half at Parkhead.

Keep grafting Shelton. Dinny talk to any manipulative cuuntybaws either.
I've been banging on about trying out Martis and Hogg for a few games. I think they would be a great partnership.

Old 20-04-07, 21:50   #7
Aged Radge

I've been banging on about trying out Martis and Hogg for a few games. I think they would be a great partnership.

And drop Jones!

Tell me it aint so.

Or is Jonesy the new Killen?

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 20-04-07, 21:54   #8

The Retards "Chief Sports Reporter", Keith JaxHun, has been "reportedly"
absent on Hibs matters in recent times, (around the end o' the transfer windae when Broony didnae end up a Hun as he(JaxHun) kept telling us he would) and seems to have handed the reigns to some fuckwit called Gary Ralston. This reprobate now has the task of digging the dirt on anything Hibs.

Old 20-04-07, 21:56   #9

And drop Jones!

:Shrink29:

Tell me it aint so.

Or is Jonesy the new Killen?

Never said that Doc. I think though (wow theres a first) that Hogg and Martis would work really well together. Could be wrong but that would be another first

Old 20-04-07, 22:03   #10

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

The saddest aspect of all of this is that the club still have that huge DR banner inside the ground and the ever expanding HI gang are walking around in jackets bearing the DR logo.

Bin the banner, burn the jackets and ban their journos.

That's the DR journos not the HI journos. :YAYYY:

There are no HI journos.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-07, 00:56   #11

hibeeshibs is on the way to a first team debut

I think Martis is no bad (even good when he's on form) so i'd like him to get stuck in and try win a place in the first team again!

hibeeshibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-07, 07:09   #12

I actually think Shelton speaks quite well in this article and speaks a lot of sense unlike other players recently
Old 21-04-07, 09:16   #13

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

They are looking strong. Its just annoying that when we finally seem to be shutting up shop more at the back noone can put the ball in the net which has NEVER been a problem before!
Wouldnae be surprised if Chris Killen's been getting a pile of get well soon cards.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-07, 10:43   #14
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

The saddest aspect of all of this is that the club still have that huge DR banner inside the ground and the ever expanding HI gang are walking around in jackets bearing the DR logo.

Bin the banner, burn the jackets and ban their journos.
I'm not fond of this either. It smacks of thirty pieces of silver and feels a bit hypocritical. Tell them to shove their sponsorship money.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-07, 14:48   #15

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

I think Martis is no bad (even good when he's on form) so i'd like him to get stuck in and try win a place in the first team again!
Did you see him today?

Bowfin

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote