Gary O'CONNOR
Glasgow Evening times reporting that the English press are stating that Tony Mowbray has made a bid to bring Gary to West Brom.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Re: Gary O'CONNOR
If they get promoted this would surprise me. O'Connor wouldn't make it in the EPL.
I would suggest that he's at least on a par with people who are semi-regulars at half the clubs in the Premiership. He's no as good as Drogba or the likes obviously, but someone like Ameobi or Marcus Bent? Aye, nae problem.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
As a man with Evertonian sympathies, he is far better than multi million pound Beattie fo rexample. I wish him good luck.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I don't feel the big man has the required quality for the Premiership but who knows if his attitude is correct?
![]() Join Date: May 2006
I would wish him all the best |
Tell you what, if he does end up in the Premiership next season, and gets 20 or more starts, I'm willing to give you a little charity bet for Dnipro that he ends up in the top 10 goalscorers outwith Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, and Man Utd players.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
He's certainly better than some of the stikers at the bottom end of the Premiership. But there is a huge gulf in class between Watford and Man U., bigger than between Celtic and Dunfermline, in my view.
If I were a betting a man, I'd put a decent wager on him playing for Birmingham next season.
If Lee McCulloch can play in the Prem then Garry O certainly can.
As much as I admire him, and his style of play, I do not think he would cut it. The game is too technical for him down south, and I feel the quality of defender he'd come up against week-in, week-out would be too strong for him to compete.
Can you honestly see him getting ANY change from guys like Carvalho, Ferdinand and co...? |
I can defo see him competing with Prem strikers such as Beattie,Lita,Zamora,Bent,Heskey,Radzinski,King etc.
Prem clubs are looking at strikers in lower English leagues,say Sharp from S****horpe and McLeod from MK Dons if these lads are good enough im sure a Scotland international with a proven goal scoring record would be good enough to make the grade.
Interesting to hear that Gary MacKay is no longer the agent of GOC either.
That surely puts an end to his move to the PBS To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. WELCOME HOME DEEKS |
#19 | |||
There was a similar thing on a thread the other day stating Nakamura is the only guy in the SPL who could make it in the Premiership. I'm sorry that's all pish! As somebody pointed out McCulloch plays in that league, Khizanishvili went from the Huns and plays regularly for Blackburn, McFadden is starting to establish himself at Everton. It's a big league and not every Squad is jam packed with Superstars, there are many players in the SPL who could slot into Premiership squads comfortably. Let's not forget GOC is an Internationalist who has been scoring goals in a strongish foreign league where he has more difficulties than 'physical defenders', off course he would fit in! Mind you WBA probably wont get promoted anyway! Birmingham might! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|||
I don't see any reason why Gary couldn't make it in the over-hyped and over-rated Premiership in England. As previous posters have said there are a number of strikers playing regularly in that league whose attributes are certainly no better than Gary's and his experience of playing in a very technical Soviet league will have made him an even more complete footballer.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Best league In europe at the moment and if it wasn't for fact it's England, most people would agree. I am certain of that.
#22 | |
![]() Join Date: May 2003
O'Connor's not a great player technically so he might not make it in spain or italy but in the premiership his pace, strength and finishing would help him score a few goals. |