Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,871 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 15-04-07, 23:45   #1

Blackbeard is on the way to a first team debut

We're missing Thomson

Not Thommo himself but the extra player to play fetch and carry at the back of midfield. We had an extra strong midfield with Broony, Boozy and Mikey with Thommo at the back. Since he's FO-ed to the Wild West and, with Mikey's illness/drop in form, JC has played Scotty and Boozy in KT's roll. This definitely has had an adverse effect on our play.
JC said he had other players who could play Thommo's role. Yes, he's correct. But we've taken better players away from more important roles to cover this position.
IMO this is one reason for the drop in the team's form.
Throw in Killen's injury & the systematic depletion of the playing staff in general (Glass, Deek, Caldwell, Shiels, etc).

Oh,and BTW, the last thing we needed before the most important game of the season was a prile of dummyspitters.
Old 15-04-07, 23:47   #2
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

Re: We're missing Thomson

Not Thommo himself but the extra player to play fetch and carry at the back of midfield. We had an extra strong midfield with Broony, Boozy and Mikey with Thommo at the back. Since he's FO-ed to the Wild West and, with Mikey's illness/drop in form, JC has played Scotty and Boozy in KT's roll. This definitely has had an adverse effect on our play.
JC said he had other players who could play Thommo's role. Yes, he's correct. But we've taken better players away from more important roles to cover this position.
Throw in Killen's injury & the systematic depletion of the playing staff in general (Glass, Deek, Caldwell, Shiels, etc).

Oh,and BTW, the last thing we needed before the most important game of the season was a prile of dummyspitters.
Yep

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 00:19   #3

Angry Re: We're missing Thomson

I right !! we miss thommo like a hole in the heid. Also stewart is too busy powdering his nose to be A big time CHARLIE!!!! THINK ABOUT THE VIRAL INFECTION ?? only my thoughts THO !!

striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 00:25   #4

Alexc1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Couldn't agree more with this post. Scotty in particular got more involved further upfield when KT and Stewart were in midfield. When he was driving forward today the Pars defence could not cope with him. Hopefully he will be encouraged to play further forward in the replay.
Alexc1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 08:01   #5
Nijinsky Radge

arthurduncan is on the way to a first team debut

Whatever we think of him personally, I agree we really miss Thomson's workrate in the pocket in front of the central defence and his link up with Brown etc. Possible reason for Boozy's loss of form is he is being asked to fill the Thomson role.
Old 16-04-07, 09:04   #6

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

That was the same eleven players who destroyed Killie in the CIS Cup Final. Cant mind anyone saying we missed Thomshun then and Killie are a far better team than Dunfermline.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 10:08   #7

GlesgaeHibby is on the way to a first team debut

Yea we beat killie wi that team, but our last 4 results, W1 D2 L1 against, lets be honest shocking opposition, have been terrible. I couldn't agree more that we are missing a player to take the ball from the defenders and feed it to players like broon to allow them to drive on up the pitch.
GlesgaeHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 10:17   #8

KeithTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Dont totally agree with this thread, i think this is more down to form than anything else. Nobody was saying anything about Thomson when we destroyed Dunfermline. We need our strikers to start scoring again, like Dixie said, if we score 1 goal, a whole load will start and we will kick back into form. Lets hope that we start on Saturday at Pittodrie

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
KeithTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 12:14   #9

HibeePaddy is on the way to a first team debut

Its not specifically thomson we miss...more the player to do the dirty work in front of the back four. Brown and Beuzelin are wasted playing that bawbags old role.
HibeePaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 14:26   #10
Zemmama Radge

18-Ally-75 is on the way to a first team debut

Jail Bird Man Champion!

Yea we beat killie wi that team, but our last 4 results, W1 D2 L1 against, lets be honest shocking opposition, have been terrible. I couldn't agree more that we are missing a player to take the ball from the defenders and feed it to players like broon to allow them to drive on up the pitch.
And what game did we win...

The Holy Goalie
18-Ally-75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 14:33   #11

And what game did we win...
Falkirk, 2-0 at home, the week before the final

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
Old 16-04-07, 14:35   #12
Zemmama Radge

Jail Bird Man Champion!

Falkirk, 2-0 at home, the week before the final
Not one of our last four games though

The Holy Goalie
Old 16-04-07, 14:44   #13

Not one of our last four games though

Are we not talking league games?

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
Old 16-04-07, 14:53   #14
Zemmama Radge

Jail Bird Man Champion!

Are we not talking league games?
Even then waht was said would be wrong

Falkirk W
Hearts L
St. Mirren D
Dunfemline L

The Holy Goalie
Old 18-04-07, 09:31   #15

hibs1986 is on the way to a first team debut

Dont totally agree with this thread, i think this is more down to form than anything else. Nobody was saying anything about Thomson when we destroyed Dunfermline. We need our strikers to start scoring again, like Dixie said, if we score 1 goal, a whole load will start and we will kick back into form. Lets hope that we start on Saturday at Pittodrie
Don't know if this is the same game, but after the one at East End Park just after Collins arrival, Scott Wilson said that the introduction of Kevin Thomson dismantled Dunf. He said that they felt they were containing Hibs before then, but once he came on Hibs were a different team , and they couldn't get near our midfield because of the hold he took of it. Just reporting what he said!!!!! Dinnae shoot me....
hibs1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-07, 09:53   #16

Tibs has a spectacular aura about

We blatantly miss Thomson. can't see how anyone can say we don't. he was crap for the last month or so before he left, but before that he was a very big part of the flowing, attractive football that was played.
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-07, 23:25   #17

bigbopper8 is on the way to a first team debut

we are missing Deano more than Thommo, he has started 8 games this season and scored 8 goals, it's not his fault that he has been injured for the last 3 months, but as far as i know he is back fit and well ,having played last week in Sunderland. Mid-Field is missing a cutting edge in final third. This would be the recipe with what we have at our disposal BOOZY and BROWN in central mid- field roles. SPROULE on right STEVENSON on the left and SHIELS in Behind BENJI. much better balance and depth with goals and creativity. not sure about Stevenson but who else have we who can play wide left?
bigbopper8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-07, 23:38   #18
A Darling Radge

willie groves is on the way to a first team debut

not sure about Stevenson but who else have we who can play wide left?[/quote]

erm...john collins?
willie groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-07, 23:59   #19

stenhouse hibby is on the way to a first team debut

Thompson is to busy taken splinters out his arse with the amount of time he is sitting on the huns bench
stenhouse hibby is offline   Reply With Quote