Malcontents Read and Weep
Too much time on your hands is something that applies to players rather managers. Long gone are the days when Brian Clough used to build up for a big cup tie by taking a week off in Ibiza. The modern manager is rarely out the ground before tea-time any day and time with the family can be counted in days at best.
As John Collins and his Hibernian players sit around this afternoon awaiting tomorrow’s Tennent’s Scottish Cup semi-final with Dunfermline Athletic, each ought to think about the way they have spent the past week as one of the most important games of the season loomed. One went to France to spend two days in the company of his children over the Easter holidays, mistaken in the belief that a team he had already led to one piece of silverware this season was focused on the next prize. Another 19 went to a bar in Edinburgh and, allegedly, plotted to oust their manager. Collins was unaware of the meeting of the dissatisfied element of his squad with Rod Petrie, the chief executive. He was brought up to speed when he returned on Wednesday. The moles in the dressing room had taken care of that. The grumbles about Collins’s approach and training methods have, in some eyes, put a question mark over his future after just six months. Collins said after the CIS Insurance Cup final success against Kilmarnock last month that his players would become legends around Easter Road if they could succeed in adding the Scottish Cup to the trophy room as well. Notorious might be a more apt description. If Collins delivers two trophies, does Petrie listen to that dressing room and sack his manager? It would make him a laughing stock. Already Rob Jones, the captain, appears embarrassed because everything from their “private” meeting with Petrie ended up in the tabloids. “What’s said in the dressing-room stays in the dressing-room,” Jones said. The fact that it did not should underline to Jones that not everyone has the same agenda. There is no greater source of unrest than envy; those not in the team, feel they should be; those who are, feel they should somewhere else earning more money. The ripples of discontent were out a few weeks ago, before the taste of that CIS Cup champagne had dried on everyone’s lips. One senior Scotland player intimated to me that he had heard Hibernian was “not a happy place to work”. Why should it be? Happy players are, generally, those who are not being pushed to their limit. Contrast the scenes at Fulham and Hibernian over the past few days. In West London, players paused for the television To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. s and delivered glowing testimonies for Chris Coleman, who had just been sacked. In Edinburgh, the procession of players was done in public but the verdict on their manager delivered “in To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ” If Fulham’s players had been slaving for Coleman, it would have been on the training ground and on the pitch. They have not, which is why the Premiership club took action. Ironically, within minutes of Coleman’s sacking, one former Fulham player, Sylvain Legwinski, criticised his former manager and said that the place had gone soft under Coleman, stating that training sessions were shorter under the Welshman than they had been under Jean Tigana, the previous manager. That statement was endorsed by Jay DeMerit, the United States defender, who sais that he could not understand why his American friends at Fulham clocked off at 12 noon when was still at Watford’s training ground until 3.30pm. Legwinski, like Collins, had been brought up on Tigana’s work ethic at AS Monaco. Training sessions twice a day under the Cote D’Azur sunshine were no picnic, but it brought the Principality club a French title in 1997, to which Collins contributed, and took them to the semi-finals of the Champions League. If it was good enough for a young player called Thierry Henry, similar methods ought to be good enough for Hibernian’s less-vaunted reputations. Ironically, in the French media, Collins was being spoken of as a replacement for Coleman at Fulham before the latter was even sacked. Should Hibernian decide to sack their manager, either with or without a second trophy, it is highly likely that Collins will end up in a bigger job because he has already added to his reputation. Will his dressing-room detractors be able to say the same?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Aged Radge
Re: Malcontents Read and Weep
Hmmmmmm. I wonder if Katy and Barry Ferguson were involved. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. They will be happy enough if they win the Cup. :Shrink11:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Spot on thread
JC has played at a higher level than any of these fuds Some of them obviously have a higher opinion of themselves than is right and no respect for a bright hungry enthusiastic manager. He has made mistakes IMO - some comments attributed to JC about needing half a team and he can appear a touch "arrogant" although only in glimpses - but all winners have that streak or most do anyhow. Inexperience is probably a more decent explanation for how JC can be perceived. Im fully behind JC and if he were not to be the Hibernian manager next season or in the near future I would serioudly consider a spell away from my beloved Hibernian - but probably wouldnt go through with it anyhow - Ive seen worse situations over the years and I dearly love the Club. Everybody behind the Club now - The best brand of fotball the worlds ever seen..........Gaun The Hibs. |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
It actually sickens me that they are complaining about training sessions being too hard etc.
THEY ARE EARNING FORTUNES!! They should be made to work out their effin skins on that traing park. How else to they expect to improve. God you'd think they had a hard life or something. |
This talk of JC playing at a higher level got me thinking. Could he be of the same type as Bertie Auld, who, whenever challenged as a manager, would whip out his European Cup Winner's medal, and ask if the challenger had won the "fuckin' European Cup" ? JC undoubtedly has accomplishments of that magnitude in his locker, which he could bring out if needs be...thoughts?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I agree, a great thread. Almost every kid has dreamed of being a professional footballer and these guys have managed to actually make it. And they're now not being paid an insignificant amount to do so. Yet they think they're being pushed too hard when at worst, they're in from 9 till 3 four days a week so that they can become better footballers! You or I work a damn sight harder, for longer, for less money and if we dared to speak out about our manager or complained we'd be booted before we could finnish the sentence. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Great post Paddy, hope the support shows JC tomorrow that were behind him, Johnny Collins green and white army PRE-MADDONAS nae fecking army.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. good 2 b To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
put them in to a normal working class job doing a 10 or 12 hour shift to make them just about make ends meet then they would be begging for a "hard training session" with jc its so frustrating knowing it is us woring 10 or 12 hour shifts to pay they ungrateful bastewards wages they should be looking up to jc thinking any advice would be good advice knowing of his succesful career basically imo i think it is a lack of ambition they are happy staying at this level so why work harder than ever to stay at the same level
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Just what i was thinking, spelling and grammer spot on, and not a swearword in sight! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Players who want to be in the team need to impress on the training ground and take their chances when given it on the park. Bertie Auld was a cigar smoking, ten men behind the ball nugget. euro cup medal or not.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |