Old 10-04-07, 11:32   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
lose the league game, win the cup tie, win the cup tie, lose the league game

What's in an Omen? Gregory Peck maybe. Billie Whitelaw even. Some sporting omens seem to be true for a long time, e.g. Spurs winning the cup in the year ending in 'one', or hertz doing it when it ends in 'six'. However, they don't really concern us before Sunday, but I think recent instances when we have played a side one week in the league, then the following week in the cup do. And it is for that reason that I didn't take Saturday's disappointment as sorely as I usually would have.

I'll justify my viewpoint that Dunfermline's victory bodes well for the semi by citing the following successive scoreline sequences:
- Sat 14.2.87, league, Clydebank (h) 4-1
- Sat 21.2.87, SC, Clydebank (a) 0-1
- Sat 2.4.05, league, Dundee Utd (h) 3-2
- Sat 9.4.05, SC, Dundee Utd (N) 1-2.

The perceptive amongst you will have discerned that in both of these league first, cup second successive weekend double-headers we won the league only to lose in the cup. Surely it stands to reason that just after playing and losing to a team you would desire an opportunity for vengeance as soon as possible. And that you literally would be 'up for the cup'. Wouldn't it?

Well, we've got that opportunity. Let's do it.
Old 10-04-07, 11:51   #2
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side

KeithTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: lose the league game, win the cup tie, win the cup tie, lose the league game

Makes sense, lets hope your logic stands up on Sunday

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
KeithTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 11:54   #3

Re: lose the league game, win the cup tie, win the cup tie, lose the league game

We've done it in reverse as well; who can forget beating Celtic on pens after the 4-4 draw in the Skol Cup (weds 4.9.85) before getting humped 5-0 at home by them in the league on the Saturday?
Old 10-04-07, 17:00   #4

by the way, zondervan has helpfully pointed out that only last season we beat them 2-1 there in the league (weds 26 oct 05) before losing 0-3 at the same venue in, ooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhh, that phucking lovely, gorgeous, snoggable, huggable, gleaming, shiny silver bauble we won under the managerial regime of a certain gadgie called Johnny Collins fi Galashiels just 23 days ago.

History is with us.

As we seek to create Hibstory.
Old 10-04-07, 17:16   #5

AndyG is on the way to a first team debut

Did the same thing not happen with Aberdeen a few years ago aswell? Might be wrong on that one though and don't have time to google it.

AndyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 17:19   #6

Andy - similar sequence of fixtures, not quite a double-header. We played at Hampden on Sun 9.4.2000, losing 2-1 after Russell Latapy's solo goal gave us the lead. Andy Dow equalised for us before an African player (who since has died) scored a wonder goal for their winner. We then played them three weeks later at ER (Sat 29.4.00) and Kenny Miller's last goal at ER (and penultimate one for Hibs) gave us a 1-0 win.

All the omens point to us.

Which could count for sweet phuck all, of course. But let's try and be positive!
Old 10-04-07, 18:19   #7

MagicParMan is on the way to a first team debut

Think the african player might have been Hicham Zerouali...

anyhoo... Mon The DA... see you all Sunday

MagicParMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 18:32   #8

hibbill2002 is a jewel in the roughhibbill2002 is a jewel in the rough

We've done it in reverse as well; who can forget beating Celtic on pens after the 4-4 draw in the Skol Cup (weds 4.9.85) before getting humped 5-0 at home by them in the league on the Saturday?

big o'leary,s penalty, went right over ma heid...and the feckin shed roof

hibbill2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 19:27   #9

Think the african player might have been Hicham Zerouali...

anyhoo... Mon The DA... see you all Sunday
You in court like ?

Old 10-04-07, 19:34   #10

no i'll be at Hampden for round two of the double header with you lot!

we'll get our other goal we should have scored on saturday... another 1-0

Old 10-04-07, 19:37   #11

no i'll be at Hampden for round two of the double header with you lot!

we'll get our other goal we should have scored on saturday... another 1-0
Well Burchill would need to be a lot more clinical , a great stop by McNeill but he should have been given no chance. Many tickets have Dunfermline sold ?
Old 10-04-07, 19:40   #12

about 7000 so far... from what i'm aware...

Hampden is gonna be a pretty half filled place from what i gather overall...

Old 10-04-07, 19:41   #13

about 7000 so far... from what i'm aware...

Hampden is gonna be a pretty half filled place from what i gather overall...
Not great really , half full
Old 10-04-07, 19:49   #14

maybe there'll be a last minute rush...

Old 10-04-07, 19:51   #15

maybe there'll be a last minute rush...
Aye you never know , no wonder others don't take our game seriously when a national cup semi is half empty