Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,871 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 03-04-07, 16:00   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Any Edinburgh football supporter born after 27 October 1962

If you support either Hibs or hertz and were born after 27 October 1962 (when the scum last won the League Cup) then in your lifetime the respective trophy tallies of the capital's two sides are, as follows:
- HIBERNIAN 3
- hertz 2.

Moral of the story? Hibs are more successful than hertz over the past 45 years.
Old 03-04-07, 17:34   #2
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Any Edinburgh football supporter born after 27 October 1962

They're 2-1 ahead on tennents' 6s though.

Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 17:53   #3

Canon Hannon is on the way to a first team debut

If you support either Hibs or hertz and were born after 27 October 1962 (when the scum last won the League Cup) then in your lifetime the respective trophy tallies of the capital's two sides are, as follows:
- HIBERNIAN 3
- hertz 2.

Like it!

Canon Hannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 19:14   #4
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

So, if we manage to win the SC this season, we'll be even

3 League 1 Scottish to us,
2 League 2 Scottish to them.

Have they ever done the double?

Did Ehbirdeen do it at any point?

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 19:48   #5

Canon Hannon is on the way to a first team debut

So, if we manage to win the SC this season, we'll be even

3 League 1 Scottish to us,
2 League 2 Scottish to them.

Have they ever done the double?

Did Ehbirdeen do it at any point?
Remember the Dryborough Cup needs to be included. It is the defunct Cup winners Cup version in domestic business.
Canon Hannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 20:35   #6

hertz have never done what most of us would consider to be the 'double', i.e. the championship and the Scottish Cup, but in 59-60 they won both the league and the League Cup, so, to be fair to them, they have won a 'double' of sorts.

Aberdeen won the traditional 'double' in 83-84 and they also won two trophies in the following seasons:
82-83 - SC and ECWC
85-86 - both domestic cups
89-90 - both domestic cups.

To my knowledge, outwith the OF, no other club has ever won more than a single trophy in a season.

However, as most of you will recall, I suggested back on 31 October last year (when JayCee's appointment was confirmed) that he could be to Hibs what Tommy Walker was to hertz, i.e. a great player who won nothing at the club during his playing days but who swept the board as a manager.

Well, Johnny Baby has started well alright. And wouldn't it be ironic if his Hibs team, in his first few months as manager, emulated the success of the Aberdeen team that killed both our cup dreams in his debut competitive playing season of 85-86?

As the late Billy Fury once sang:
'We're only halfway to Paradise
So Near, Yet So Far Away'
Old 03-04-07, 20:52   #7

Ma good pal, Ratto 7 AKA 'Wild Bill' to the damsels of Musselburgh, has just pointed out that during those same 45 years hertz have been relegated on three separate occasions (thrice in five glorious years) and that we only suffered that ignominy twice.

Also, on both occasions we returned immediately. And, as champions. The scum, on the other hand (Jeremy Beadle's coq), finished runners-up behind Morton in 77-78 and the team who we might yet meet in the cup final, St Johnstone, in 82-83. Also, 82-83 was the second successive season in the First Division as on the last day of the 81-82 season hertz hosted First Division champions Motherwell in front of a big crowd 'for the time' (I've read sections of Mercer's book) of 14,000. Well, a Willie Irvine (later of Hibs) goal ensured the points went west and six goals for Killie at Palmerston ensured that First Division football was again played at the shitpit.

That's twice Killie have pipped hertz on goal average or goal difference on the last day of the season.

We tend to score five when we meet the Ayrshire men on the big occasion though.
Old 03-04-07, 21:07   #8

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

Remember the Dryborough Cup needs to be included. It is the defunct Cup winners Cup version in domestic business.
No exactly Cup-Winners Cup, mair Champions League

How you qualified:

The top 4 goalscorers from the auld First & Second Divisions(they were the only 2 divisions at the time) from the previous season, were entered into the Dryborough Cup for the following season. So qualification was merited on your league performance. You scored goals and you got in. Hertz never qualified at all for this tournament.

It was played at the begining of each season(it only ran for 4 seasons) and a 1st Div team played a 2nd Div team in the first round. Games were played midweek but the Final was played at Hampden on a saturday. Celtic played in every Final and only won 1(on penalties), the Huns played in 1 but never won it(lost on penalties), Aberdeen played in the first and won it, and the Hibees won both finals they played in, beating Celtic 5-3('72-73) and 1-0('73-74). In Fact, Hibs beat Celtic in 3 Hampden Finals on the trot in the space of a year, DC 5-3, League Cup 2-1 and DC 1-0.

Bit o' history on the games for the young'uns

Dryborough Cup 72-73
Hibs were 3-0 up through an Alan Gordon hat-trick, although some Weegie Media ffuds tried to take away his glory by saying it was an OG by McNeil. Sellick came back to make it 3-3, and in extra-time Jimmy O'rourke and Arthur Duncan scored to make it 5-3.

Dryborough Cup 73-74
Another one that went to extra-time, this time Alan Gordon scored in the very last minute with a header.

Old 03-04-07, 21:12   #9

DEEKS is on the way to a first team debut

not stictly true!

I was born in 1987 (post your stated date) and the score is 2-2!

sorry for bein a cheeky we prick!

DEEKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 21:13   #10

The Hibs passing in that 5-3 game was amazing. I've only seen it on the TT video but it really is something else. I would have to say that even the current team, Tony Mowbray's team and the Sauzee-Latapy side for all their respective class never played as good football as that team.

And the extra-time goals by Jimmy O'Rourke and Arthur Duncan are, to coin David Coleman's catchphrase, remarkable.

If that video or DVD is still available and your a younger Hibbie who wasn't around to enjoy those days (like me) then get a copy.

Pure Hibbie class. No more, no less.
Old 03-04-07, 21:15   #11

The post should have read born between 28 October 1962 and 9 December 1972. My fault. Been a stressful day.
Old 03-04-07, 21:15   #12

- HIBERNIAN 3
- hertz 2.

sorry dude but

after 27 October 1962 and before mid december 1972

Old 04-04-07, 08:55   #13
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

No exactly Cup-Winners Cup, mair Champions League

How you qualified:

You scored goals and you got in. Hertz never qualified at all for this tournament.
Why does that not surprise me?...

Thanks everyone for the info.

Re the traditional double; it's not realistic to expect to win both those cups for teams outside of the Infirm (well, except for the big team...). So, the only 'double' on offer is the League & Scottish.

Well, I suppose there's the UEFA & Champions League...

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote