Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,871 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby
Rep Power: 50 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 4000 Arcade Stats: |
Come on you memory men
Lauren has just produced a ticket from her room Hibs v Aberdeen 19/08/1998 (my 37th birthday)
It was a league cup game , can any of you guys give me some info on the game ? |
Re: Come on you memory men
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
The boy who conceded the penalty was wearing a bandage, game was live on telly as well. Believe it was Rowson who handballed it in the box to concede it as well, not 100% on that though.
we'd been beating 2-0 at home v stranrar the previous saturday
Perth Radge
happy days To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
don't remind me, i was there To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Your 37th birthday in 98. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. You must have had one hell of a hard paper roond then. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :YAYYY: To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. " target="_blank"> To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Well said Andy. Your column today was a rare nugget of sweetcorn in that very toly known as your opinion.© Seven Tattoos To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
iT WAS a Wednesday night game in the league cup. It was played just four days after our most ignominious league defeat ever, i.e. Hibs 1-2 Stranraer. In fact, we were two down until a late goal (by Skinner or Holsgrove, I think) halved the deficit. To put football in its perspective, that Saturday 15 August 1998 witnessed one of the worst atrocities ever perpetrated in Northen Ireland, i.e. the Omagh tragedy, the work of the so-called 'Real I.R.A.'.
Aberdeen, under the last manager to win a trophy for Hibs until 12 days ago, Alex 'Entertainment' Miller, had beaten Celtic 3-2 at Pittodrie on the Sunday. In a game in which the away side were awarded three penalties! I think they missed two of them. The match was live on terrestrial television in Scotland, with Archie McShreddedwheat providing the commentary (it's on my 'Champions' video from 1999, that the club produced to commemorate our promotion). However, I was working at the Axa Provincial call centre in Cardiff, on the 2 - 10pm shift and I always remember that late that afternoon I took a call from a guy in Edinburgh (I forget his name) who owned the Caprice pizza restaurant on Leith Walk. So I asked him if he was a Hibbie and he said they better win tonight! Sir, you got your wish! Didnae ken the score til about 10.30 after then bird had picked us up and drove us down the boozer, cue mad wee dance in the Horse & Groom, Cowbridge. Stevie Crawford got the game's only goal with a penalty going down the then-still-in-existence-slope with about nine minutes left. Of course, St Johnstone (who we might yet meet again this season) phucked us 4-0 in the next round. Their Kano inspired team then redeemed themselves in the eyes of Hibbies by pumping hertz 3-0 at Easter Road in the semi on Wednesday 28 October. Oh, Happy Autistic Days!
it was a no bad cup tie against Aberdeen that night
remember the next round away to St Johnstone think me and southfield were in the ground for about 30 minutes, arrived late and fecked off early in the 2nd half at four down, not the best To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Some English Aberdeen twat slagged us off in the papers after this game..
It was Craig Hignett complaining about receiving anti-english abuse from hibs fans.
![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Not a bad result considering we were playing a 4-3-2
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. HSC |