Old 27-03-07, 15:16   #1
Bad Moon Radge-ing

ECKtheHIBEE is on the way to a first team debut
New version of GGTTH?

I think its about time this song was updated to name some of the squad who won the league cup, and made us a force in Scottish football again, what do you think?

Ive been thinking really hard about this, playing it on my guitar but cant come up with lyrics good enough to fit the tune, I just played and sang the original chorus which would be blasphemy to take out but cant get any words to go in the verses, so does anyone want to help out?

Probably one of the strangest requests ever to be posted on The Bounce but I thought i'd give it a blast, and I remember the "Hibs Rover" tune from a while back, and someone made great lyrics to that so how hard can it be to do it again???

Heads together folks

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
ECKtheHIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 15:25   #2
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut
Re: New version of GGTTH?

My wee boy was playing the Fratellis this morning, I was singing along to the end with:

Hibees, Hibees I believe
in your emerald green and your pure white sleeves
Now the boys are bouncing mentally
One cup already and another one for those who believe

.... which doesn't help at all, so I'll shut up ..
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 15:31   #3
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

My wee boy was playing the Fratellis this morning, I was singing along to the end with:

Hibees, Hibees I believe
in your emerald green and your pure white sleeves
Now the boys are bouncing mentally
One cup already and another one for those who believe

.... which doesn't help at all, so I'll shut up ..
still its decent lyrics to a bouncin tune, if only we could all get intae singin it!

SAOR ALBA
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 15:43   #4
Listing Radge

Abdesallam Benjelloun has come from Morocco
to wear the famous green and white at Hampden in the snow
He scored one with his left foot and he scored with his right toe
as we went marching on ....
Old 27-03-07, 15:47   #5
Listing Radge

Johnny Collins played for us when he was just a boy
He sprayed the ball around the park, the lad was never coy
And now he's back as manager, he's brought a cup of joy
as we go marching on ....
Old 27-03-07, 15:50   #6
Bad Moon Radge-ing

Keep it coming mate, sounding fuckin class!

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
Old 27-03-07, 16:47   #7

We had a great side years ago that really went to town
They didnt feel like stopping til the hertz were seven down
and now we have a side that always plays without a frown
as the hibs go marching on...................

(nothing really to do with the cup but hey I thought I would have a bash at it).

Old 27-03-07, 16:56   #8
Bad Moon Radge-ing

Lovin it, could go a couple more verses and we'll be ready to rock:YAYYY:

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
Old 27-03-07, 17:23   #9
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Gie the baw tae BENJI
Old 27-03-07, 20:44   #10

Up to date lyrics or not, I have been saying for years that Hibs need to get an updated version of this song recorded. It would be great if they could get the Proclaimers to record a version of it with their backing band. The original recording (great song though it is, and it was brilliant at Hampden right after the final whistle), sounds incredibly dated and slow. We need a modern, updated version done, yes with some new additional lyrics perhaps. It would be great to have it ready for next season to blast out before every home game.

Then again, we'll probably still have that rousing, inspiring singalong Alive and Kicking being played to get the fans in the mood....
Old 27-03-07, 21:30   #11

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

Thats McBenji to you, Sir.

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 21:45   #12
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge

Wheat Hound is on the way to a first team debut

They came from Casablanca and they came from Grimsby Town,
Ivan came from Ireland for just five thousand pounds.
Johnny Collins came back home and said the ball is round
As we go marching on !!!!

Last edited by Wheat Hound; 27-03-07 at 22:31.
Wheat Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 22:12   #13

They came from Casablanca and they came from Grimsby Town,
Ivan came from Ireland for just five thousand pounds.
Johnny Collins came back home and said the ball is round
As we marching on !!!!

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-07, 23:30   #14
Aged Radge

Against the Lithuanians we laughed and scored for fun,
We played the Soapies off the park, and massacred the Hun
We took the Cup by scoring five, the party had begun
With our Sunshine on Leith Song

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 28-03-07, 00:35   #15

Davy is on the way to a first team debut

ok sod all to do with song above, but just happened to be listening to roxy music (nothing lasts forever) while reading post, and jotted some words down kinda quick. If you dont know the tune your gubbed

Nothing lasts forever
Jambo’s saviour seemed true
but they backed a loser
Romanov is screwed

Oh its lovely
O so lovely
When I see you cry
My eyes fill with joy

The Hibees victorius
Green and glorius
No more tears and pain
Just sunshine on Leith

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-07, 00:44   #16

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Big Jonesy scored the first goal he settled all our woes
Fletch,n,Benji scored a brace to make them our heroes
The cup was proudly lifted as everybody knows
The Hibs go marching on

Old 28-03-07, 11:22   #17

Against the Lithuanians we laughed and scored for fun,
We played the Soapies off the park, and massacred the Hun
We took the Cup by scoring five, the party had begun
With our Sunshine on Leith Song
Good effort Doc - liking yer work.