Happiness Is A Warm Gun
'Happiness Is A Warm Gun' is one of The Beatles's more obscure tracks and it appeared on The White Album, which was released in 1968. Nineteen Sixty-Eight is also the year that John Collins entered this Wonderful World. Or at least that's how everything has seemed since 3.27pm on Sunday. He also pretended to point a gun and shoot my Dad, brother and myself as we stood outside 348 Easter Road on Sunday evening and cheered the victorious cavalcade as it sped up towards the stadium. Happiness was certainly the emotion I felt as I watched in a bizarre combination of awe and ecstasy.
However, it's rather depressing having returned to Wales, to work and the mundanity of the Real World. I call it the post-Edinburgh depression, but I've made my bed and I'll lie in it. I just hope that whatever form of dementia afflicts me in later life does not rob my mind of the cherished memories I accrued over the sixty hours of the past weekend. Father and I had flown up from Cardiff on the Saturday morning and were pleased to discover that we weren't the only Welsh based Hibbies up for the weekend. After my mate Neil picked us up and dropped the old man at his B & B I dumped my gear at Allan n Gill's before heading to the Balfour where zondervan, John Rutherford and Shetland Davie and Jamie thought it was still Friday night. The morning evolved into the afternoon in a memoryless haze of vodka, before it was Jaynes Bar's turn to swap me Don Revie for my hard-earned bonus. To be honest, Noel Edmonds would have proud of the deal I got because there is a void in my mind until about 8 o'clock by which time ma wee bro had arrived from Manchester and we then headed to sample the Italian cuisine of Giulliano's. I think I probably owe the staff and some of the patrons of said eaterie an apology (because being in the more advanced stages of inebriation as I was) I demonstrated why people know me as Sweary Scott. I'll wash my mouth out with Palmolive when I get in. From there it was a fast black to the Royal Nip for what Craven had told me was going to be a pre-final Bounce piss-up. It certainly was. Again I'd like to publicly apologise to Andy, his staff and any customers I may have offended or just generally bored shitless by bouncing around in my own wee world, taking my top off, showing ma tattoos (as if I'm the only phucker who's got any), doing press-ups (badly) and trying to get anyone, everyone and no one to join me in a tuneless rendition of 'Wallace Mercer is dead and we're no''. So, sorry folks, but it's strange the blissful sense of utter oblivion the higher stage of consciousness being oafyertits gives you. However, I have to say I did enjoy the evening in there even if we briefly nashed over the Four In Hand, where again I was told to keep my top on. It's always good to bump into Gunner, Greenman, Paddy Barry, Northern Ireland Hibbie, Hibadelic, Lix and her pal Karen. The night didn't end until late on and BoozySuzy, zondervan and myself headed back to Allan n Gill's. BoozySuzy nabbed the spare room so it was the couch for me, but before that Gill shaved ma chest. Why? I don't phucking know. Craven filmed it and provided a running commentary of it and showed it to Lix in Tamson's yesterday afternoon. Apparently it lasts eleven and a half minutes! I eventually crashed out, fully clothed at about 5.30 on Sunday morning and when I woke up I still felt a bit mad with it. Allan and Gill have a tradition of Bloody Marys and cheese burgers at theirs on the morning of a big game and their front room was pretty packed with people enjoying their hospitality. The Bank Hotel was the next port of call as it's one of the few places you can legally get an early morning peeve in Edinburgh on the Sabbath day before we boarded the 'David Essex Hibernian Ultras' coach. It had a sign on the front window with a picture of Essex's coupon superimposed on Garry O'Connor's body as he euphorically celebrated that late, late goal against the scum back in August 03. The bus journey was quite fantastic and was aided by the consumption of wine, beer and cigarettes despite concerns that non-smoking sobriety would be the order of the day. Anything goes with the David Essex Hibs SC! Craven had booked us into a Rangers supporters club in Cambuslang and I have to compliment the staff and customers of said establishment for their hospitality and the cheapness of their bevvy. They also played zondervan's cup final CD and a good bounce was had to tunes by the Sex Pistols, Rod Stewart, The Automatic etc.. Around 2.15 pm we headed to Hampden where my Dad, brother and I split from the rest of the groovy gang as our tickets were for the South not the North. I think we got a wee bit lost before eventually taking our seats at about quarter to. We were sitting alongside Kenny Hogan, Davie Ince, Masher Mackie, Kevin Robertson and Ian Robertson of the Glasgow branch and it was great to see them all again. The conditions were pretty atrocious and I must confess a wee bit of concern that if the elements deteriorated that the match might actually be abandoned. Fortunately that was not to be the case. And do you know who I attribute that to? The legend that is Rob Jones, that's who. Not only is he only the third Hibs captain to lift a cup since 1902 he also influences the weather! As many other Hibbies noticed, judging by the discussions in Jaynes and Tamsons yesterday, the sleet and snow subsided after he opened the scoring! A master of metereology as well as Hibs finest captain since Franck Sauzee. You're never safe at one nil but since the Scottish Cup Final second replay in 1979 the first team to score in a final involving Hibernian FC has triumphed. I felt that this would be no exception. Half-time in a cup final and the Hibs a goal up. Something new to my 64 year old Dad and my brother and I. In fact, have Hibs ever gone in at half-time in a cup final a goal to the good? I think I'm right in saying that it hasn't happened since 1902 and possibly not even then or during our inaugural trophy success of 1887. I will happily stand corrected by Gunner or Bobby or SlovSam. Or any other Hibbie whose statistical knowledge of the club is greater than my own. This new 'leading' experience certainly engendered an exuberant half-time Hibbie bounce and I have to say that 'Chelsea Dagger' by The Fratellis is my new fave song. Ever. I've been unable to get its very catchy tune out of my head since Sunday and I don't want to. 'Harmony In My Head' is a song by the Buzzcocks but I hope that Fratellis song is on constant repeat loop in the CD player between my ears. The start of second half saw Hibs take the momentum again and when Benji twisted and turned before unleashing a virtually inch perfect rising shot past Combe we went crazy. Me, my Dad and my brother were leaping about like psychidelic salmon! It was just one of those beautiful moments when you knew that today was going to be your day! Our seats in the South Stand afforded us a magnificent panoramic view of the ocean of ecstatic green and white that the Hampden arena was. Shortly after I had to go for a Colin Nish that I had valiantly fought off since half-time but, fortunately, it ended not a nanosecond too soon as immediately I got up the steps I saw Fletcher's raker that whizzed past Combe and surely put the result beyond doubt. I could see ma Dad and brother as I did a wee mental dance, seemingly bouncing on air before I joined them for a family hug. As we all know, Hibs had only scored three goals in a cup final once before, in the same competition 33 years ago. We lost that day. We certainly weren't going to lose today. However, shortly after the Jambo we all love to hate (well, I don't really like many of them if I'm being honest) - Gary Locke - appeared Jefferies's Jesters reduced the deficit and briefly looked as if they might make it a tense last ten minutes. We needn't have worried as Benji bulleted a shot past Combe for the fourth with five minutes to go! This was sensational! The Hibs four one up in a cup final! Who'd have thought it? Pre-match I'd've settled for a 1-0 victory with an injury time og off a certain part of Gary Locke's anatomy that rhymes with his surname. At that point I shouted to everyone in my immediate vicinity 'let's make it five'! An old guy sitting right in front of me echoed my sentiments before a combination of Combe's cock up and Fletcher's finesse made it that very score! 5-1! Five one! Five goals to Hibs, one to the opposition! In a cup final! Much as I'd dreamed of seeing a Hibs captain lift a cup again (those 15 years, 4 months and 19 days were too long without a trophy) I didn't want the game to end at that point. I don't think any Hibbie did. We might have been in Heaven, but we're greedy, us Hibbies, we wanted seven! Shortly after the final whistle was blown and that strange sensation of feeling like I'd woken up from a dream was experienced. I've only ever experienced that once before at a football match. And Jim Jefferies managed the opposition that night as well. I refer, of course, to the 6-2 derby win SEVEN years ago! As the players cavorted on the pitch and the fans lifted their scarves the tannoy system serenaded us by playing The Fratellis again (surely this song now has Hibbie Bounce status) before 'I'm On My Way', 'Sunshine On Leith' and '500 Miles'. The sight of that cup being lifted with green and white ribbons on it, by two men in green shirts with white sleeves was monumental. Watching it being paraded on the pitch and the look of genuine elation on the faces of the Hibs players was a joy to behold. I didn't want to leave the ground but leave we did before embarking on the return to Sunny Leith. The bus back contained enough bevvy to stock up a decent sized Haddows and us thirsty Hibbies managed to arse it all before we were dropped off outside Jaynes Bar. Jaynes was heaving and it was murder getting served but evenings like this don't happen that often. There had been much discussion about where we would go to watch the jubilant bus journey before wehateharry suggested we just stand outside Jaynes and watch it going past. Father then decided that we should do that before cutting along Dalmeny Street and down Easter Road to stand outside his old house. The sight of that open top bus, with Tommy Craig and John Collins holding aloft that silver evidence of the tangible success we had achieved that day is something I will cherish forever and a week. The photo album in my mind is gazing, lovingly, at the sight of Ivan Sproule dancing like a nutter directly opposite the entrance to Jaynes. Again, 'Chelsea Dagger' provided the musical accompaniment. We then headed over to Tamsons to get a peeve before walking the 100 yards or so to stand outside the house my old man grew up in. Seeing the natural ecstasy etched on the faces of John Collins, Ivan Sproule, David Murphy and Steven Fletcher, in particular was amazing. Sixteen years ago my Dad had food poisoning and went to his bed after the game while my younger brother stayed in and I went and got pissed as a fart at The Black Bull in Millin-Gavie. So we had missed Hibs' last victory parade and this was the first time the three of us had stood together and witnessed a sight as wonderful as this. I hope it's not the last. We had hoped to get up to the stadium but were told by others returning down St Clair Street that the bizzies had advised them the stadium was full, so we headed up Easter Road again where we bumped into Swoosh, his bird, Boozy Lynn, Lix and Karen again. They were heading to Tamsons and we joined them. It was rammed! I introduced ma bro to Big G and they had a lengthy chat about music, especially Arthur Lee who they both particularly admire. The evening was kind of strange as it was my brother (the good looking one) who was more exuberant than me (the mad one). I was content to sit, staring into space and just repeat randomly to anyone who'd listen '5-1'! I think they must have known the score anyway. Boozy Lynn enlightened as to the real reason for her moniker, i.e. it's a clever play on Guillaume's gauloise surname. Bam that I am I suggested it was just cos she liked a bevvy! Dad, Grant and I made a quick nash back to Jayne's for one before joining up with Lix and co outside Tamsons and getting a fleet of taxis up to her gaff in Bruntsfield. The party lasted virtually all night and the music was wonderful with many airings of the Fratellis yet again! The Stone Roses and The View also got a look in. Yesterday afternoon entailed a couple of pints in first Jaynes then Tamsons, where me and the old man bade farewell to Susan, Willie, Jimmy Fallon, Allan Munro, zondervan, Donnie, Lix, Northern Ireland Hibbie and the other Northern Ireland Hibbies. It has to be the happiest Hibbie weekend of my life. John Collins can point a pretend gun at me any time he likes. He can even point a 'Chelsea Dagger' at me!
Re: Happiness Is A Warm Gun
7T you've outdone yourself - that's the post of the final
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Good to meet you again at the weekend ye bam!!!
Scott , was that your flag tied outside Jaynes bar ?
Me and Cav clocked it on our way home |
Conor - it is always a pleasure to be in your company. It was great to introduce you to Grant and Ian and I very much look forward to (hopefully) seeing you in May and (definitely) in June.
The best parties are always in the kitchen!
Forza - yes. Zondervan, Hawthorn etc displayed towards the front of the North Stand, near the halfway line. We could see it quite well from our seats in the South Stand.
Lovin' your post and sharing your dream there, Scott. Now I understand how your recall on the music and circumstances of these days is so good - it's because the images are so vivid at the time - for you and us.
Great to meet you down at the Nip. Cheers for seeking me out, it was a true pleasure ma man. Take good care. Stu
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge
will you pleez pleez write a book scott your a phuckin genius with words...bow... post of the year sweary{elf}
A Radge Private Member
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Quality ST
Sharky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Sums it up brilliantly, as always ...
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Got some cracking photos .... trying to get them up in the Gallery now (cheers J'Mon! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Those yellow 'special event - no parking' signs are still all over my house ... cheers Conor!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. EXCEPT COACHES!!! There were some cheeky feckers on Leith Walk who claimed to be coaches, but we were wise to their game and moved them on To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jamie - Hibeesbounce Technical Team. For all technical issues.. please email To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ...SCOTLAND's SHAME! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Superb. The boy obviously thinks he's a coach To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
didnt realise that was you runnin around with your top off. somethin I ended up doin myself at one particular song (drink gets the blame again for my childish antics) anyway I was the one with the hibees bounce t-shirt on. If I was more sober I might have found out who a lot of other bouncers were, but never mind, theres always May
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Forza - yes indeed. zondervan attached it to the left side of Jaynes's exterior.
He also had one of those parking signs from Lix's! And he chored a bottle of her champagne, as did ma wee brother! Tieves, the lot of them!
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
What a post, what a legend!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Pleasure meeting you, yer brother and your father. Give them my best regards. Loving the no parking signs everywhere as well ! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Seem to remember making a prat of myself walking about telling folk no parking late on before I collapsed To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Luckily Scott's father I seem to remember removing the bottle of vodka from my hand after I had necked about half of it To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Also seem to mind talking to yerself Connor so apologies if I was an erse by that stage To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
#19 | ||