Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,866 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 19-03-07, 01:03   #41

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

Re: pitch invasion

I'm on about a kid standing watching at the fence
i'd say stop people celebrating all together - all that jumping about in the east stand is bound to cause someone a staved finger.
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:04   #42
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough

Ace Blackjack Champion! Pressure Shot Champion! Straw Game Champion!

complain to the police for being heavy handed then.
Like the innocent Huns in europe you mean?

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:04   #43

vCash: 3900

Spell Racer Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

how big a threat WAS this to public safety?
pretty small, i'd say.
there was more outside when the police horses decided to steam in to us at the south, fuckin joke

Old 19-03-07, 01:07   #44

Tibs has a spectacular aura about

Re: Not to put a dampener on the win but...

Let's be clear here: the deplorable scenes at Easter Road this evening had nothing to do with the police, council or the club, they were due to the appalling behaviour of small but sizeable portion of the Hibs support present. The police and stewards had an obvious duty to close the West and North lower tiers since they were clearly full and a crush would have developed. Howevers, before they could open the upper levels some Hibs 'fans' began attacking the stewards and fire doors and rushing into the ground. I personally saw Hibs supporters prising open Lower Fire Exit 6 on the West Stand. There were 2 stewards behind it, an older stout bloke and a young lad of 18 or 19. The older guy sent the young guy to get police help, he single handedly attempted to stop dozens of fans rushing into the access passageway beyond and was attacked, punched to the ground and given a beating - he required medical attention I believe. I'm sure his family are delighted by our League Cup win tonight.

Meanwhile inside the stadium hundreds of other 'fans' were unable to resist flooding onto the field of play - while many were children a large proportion, maybe as much as half in the first invasion, were adults. Being drunk is no excuse, if anything it makes such events even more pathetic. Were it not for the children involved (following the wonderful example of their parents very possibly) I would have fully supported the police using their full array of methods to quash the crowd trouble.

What I would comment on is that the decision to abandon the stadium tour halfway through was a mistake. It caused the second pitch invasion since the event just 'stopped' instead of petering out; it spurred 50% of the stadium into booing (because they thought the players had decided to stop); and it spoiled the evening for those responsible supporters who occupied the West upper tier and both South tiers (including myself). Young children were in tiers leaving the South stand upper.

While none of this should overshadow the momentous nature of this day in Hibs history, those involved in the above events should be highly ashamed of their behaviour, which might very well soil the reputation of our great club gained today.

Any fans arrested in the ground tonight should receive 5 year ban from Easter Road.
wow. thank feck that after a day of standing on trains and standing at the game I decided to go home, having recently hurt my back and needing to rest it. that sounds horrendous, especially the steward getting beaten up. sad way to end a great day.
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:12   #45

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

From the front row of the South upper I counted around 400-500 people at least, at the height of the second pitch invasion. And one dog in a body warmer...... The Rock Steady steward I was talking with estimated rougly the same. I then left as they were clearing the tier to divert resources to the East (I think they feared people refusing to leave, or giving them the run around) on police orders I believe.

The situation at Albion Road junction was ridiculous, and was probably a bit dangerous as well, both the crush of people going down the pavements around the barrier wall, and the parked lorries covered in fans (many doing the Hibees Bounce...) shouldn't have been there. The police also blockaded Bothwell Street - why? The crowd was so stagnant by the police box at Albion Road I thought it was entirely blocked, only when I looped back 20 mins later did I get around to stadium.

And why was admittance by pouring through fire exits, and not through turnstiles?
My memory is that the second pitch invasion only occurred after the whole event was pulled. I did see the dog you mentioned n all

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:12   #46

there was more outside when the police horses decided to steam in to us at the south, fuckin joke
to me, it sounds like the police dealt with this terribly (the stuff outside the stadium, and the steward beaten up).

violence is never excusable - but is always preventable if the police take a sensible approach to the proceedings.

the neds involved in the beating/violence should be banned perminently.
Old 19-03-07, 01:13   #47

how big a threat WAS this to public safety?

pretty small, i'd say.

anyone who wanted to be on the pitch was on it. everyone was happy...except the police and that twats who booed it.

if the police hadn't over reacted and let the players complete the lap of honour the story would have been...

no harm done.

end of story.

Idiot.
Old 19-03-07, 01:14   #48

well that's my arguement up the shitter.
Old 19-03-07, 01:14   #49

vCash: 3900

Spell Racer Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

Disagree, has valid points there cav, police were a joke

Old 19-03-07, 01:15   #50

The police will end any event if there is ANY threat to safety, note the use of the word ANY!!!

surely they should close the east stand every time we score against the OF/hearts? i've taken a few knocks there...

I boo-ed am i a twat???

no...but i'd say you're boo-ing was twattish behaviour.

just my opinion mind
Old 19-03-07, 01:16   #51

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

wow. thank feck that after a day of standing on trains and standing at the game I decided to go home, having recently hurt my back and needing to rest it. that sounds horrendous, especially the steward getting beaten up. sad way to end a great day.
I got a lovely Citylink coach to Glasgow, and stood on the train out. Went the wrong way around Hampden but was OK, my seat was adjacent to a handrail which blocked a corner of the pitch, was right at the back of the train queue coming out of Hampden, and got a freezing clattering scrapbucket of a Citylink double decker back, with a guidedog nibbling at my trainers for half the journey (don't ask.........).

But it was all worth it because it was a great game and a great atmosphere with great supporters of a great club. Got off bus on Princes Street, grabbed a McDonalds, saw open top bus tour (it did go pretty fast didn't it?) at Leith Street-London Road junction, night going fine, walked to Albion Road and from then on the night went downhill. And the reason was flimsy organisation by council and police exacerbated by the appalling behaviour of certain militant elements of our support.

I also hope the club privately apologise to the stewards who were attacked/injured.
HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:21   #52

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

What time were people in ER at?

What time did the team turn up at?

I reckon that it was 9:30+ before the team turned up, and folk had been there since 7:00.....

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:25   #53

Owen is just really niceOwen is just really niceOwen is just really nice

vCash: 4900

Surely a clever thing to do is let us season ticket holders have a small parade at ER on tuesday night. With paying customers on the wednesday?

Got the turnstile locked on me but got person behind me to put his hand through window and press button for turnstile. Got in!

Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:26   #54

Angry Re: Not to put a dampener on the win but...

From the front row of the South upper I counted around 400-500 people at least, at the height of the second pitch invasion. And one dog in a body warmer...... The Rock Steady steward I was talking with estimated rougly the same. I then left as they were clearing the tier to divert resources to the East (I think they feared people refusing to leave, or giving them the run around) on police orders I believe.

The situation at Albion Road junction was ridiculous, and was probably a bit dangerous as well, both the crush of people going down the pavements around the barrier wall, and the parked lorries covered in fans (many doing the Hibees Bounce...) shouldn't have been there. The police also blockaded Bothwell Street - why? The crowd was so stagnant by the police box at Albion Road I thought it was entirely blocked, only when I looped back 20 mins later did I get around to stadium.

And why was admittance by pouring through fire exits, and not through turnstiles?
when the bus reached a certain point in easter road the police decided to lock the stadium down. a quote from a rock steady supervisor

striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:28   #55

Angry Re: Not to put a dampener on the win but...

when the bus reached a certain point in easter road the police decided to lock the stadium down. a quote from a rock steady supervisor

and it spoiled not only my night but my wife and 9year old son

striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:34   #56

Tibs has a spectacular aura about

i heard there was a dog running about wearing last season's away top. same dog or was there more than one clothed dog at ER? and since when did dogs start wearing clothes anyway?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 01:40   #57

James.g is on the way to a first team debut

It was that cold out there it was probably chasing penguins

good 2 b

James.g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-07, 02:02   #58

Went up to the stadium tonight with my wee ne
who is 5 years old, my dad, and my sister, only to find the barriers up and the police saying nobody else allowed in the stadium. Phuckin ragin

I so much wanted to be in the stadium when the cup was brought in. I did get down to the bottom of St Clair Street thankfully just in time to see the bus coming up Easter Road. At least we saw the cup and the bus, and we followed it to the stadium. My ne
was starting to get a wee bit scared of the noise by this time so we ended up just taking him home. I had a good few jars later in the Persevere later on though :YAYYY:

A joke that the stadium was half full to see the cup coming in. I understand there were further problems later on. What the hell is going on that we cannot have a full stadium to see Hibs bringing a cup home
Old 19-03-07, 02:03   #59
Roots Rock Radge

Dunc89 will become famous soon enough

Aye it was pretty shite that the polis cut tonights party at Easter Road(itwas mainly donw to those fannies who ran on the pitch, quagmire, that's why I bood. I want to see Hibs celebrate the cup win, no some random erses on the pitch!!)

But who cares...

We are the Hibs.

League Cup 07