Become the legends...
The Bounce Player Of The Year dance, 2003.
It's something I will remember all of my days. It was a night that was a fantastic success - we had a great laugh, made new friends, and put faces to the names on here! But it's for another reason I'll always remember it. That was the night when I made my dads dream come true - and boy it STILL feels great. Seeing yer auld man reduced to a simpering idiot is an eye opener. "Naw. I cannae. I'm no goin over" was what he said to me, with a goofy looking smile on his face. HE WAS GENIUNELY NERVOUS!!! The reason? He had watched me walking back to the table and I said to him - "There's someone I want you to meet." I had just been over to talk to one Pat Stanton - my dads hero!!!!!! Now, don't get me wrong - I don't know Pat, but I had met him once before, and as any Hibbys who have talked to him, he's extremely personable. So I was quite happy to go over and tell him that my faither hero worshipped him, and could I bring him over to meet him. I virtually had to take my dad by the hand and go over to Pats table, where they shook hands, and started to chat away. I took a photo of the two of them, and I swear, the smile on my dads face is the most genuine smile I have ever seen in a picture. It clearly meant the world to my dad - so in turn, it did to me too. I was feeling good about myself, and settled down to have a few more bevvies, sniggering away to myself how my dad could be such a sap! Then I went up to the bar................................................................. where I passed Keith Wright! OH MY FECKIN GOD! KEITH KEITH KEITH!!!!! This was the man who won us the Cup - the ONLY cup win I have ever seen. I was completely and utterly starstruck, and I had NEVER been like that before, and have not been since. I told myself I was going up to say hiya, went to take the first step, and bottled it. You know how you are about to do the top board at the Commie pool and then stop yourself? It was like that. About 8 times. You know something? I never did go and talk to him. THE hero of my life and I just couldn't do it. All of a sudden I realised how my dad had lost it!! A new batch of players have the chance to make themselves the same figures in the eyes of a whole new generation of Hibbys tomorrow. I would LOVE to be at a Bounce do, and dragging my boys up to talk to Ivan Sproule - hero to my boys - as the man who scored 2 in the cup final against Killie to win the cup. To be honest, I'd take any one of em. COME ON!!! GLORY GLORY TO THE HIBEES Hibees-Mad
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
GOING TO PRESS RADGE
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
What a superb post mate i am sitting listening to Sunshine on Leith reading this about greetin......GGTTH
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 'The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.' |
Re: Become the legends...
BRILLIANT J
Jamie - Hibeesbounce Technical Team. For all technical issues.. please email To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ...SCOTLAND's SHAME! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Outstanding
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge
great post ,feel the same way when MR STANTON is in the boozer when i am there ,just cannot talk to him ,i go to bits like a bairn , a true hero
Benji or Fletch will do just fine, mind! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |