Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,348 | Posts: 597,871 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby
"We are not in a position as a club to sign the finished article"
This is the current mantra from John Collins and previously Tony Mowbray.
Can anybody please define what JC is actually meaning here ? Is he saying that in 2007, the fourth biggest club in Scotland with a turnover of around £9 Million per year, the highest season ticket sales ever, millions in already from transfer fees with much more to come in the summer, wage savings galore, commercial sales rocketing, substantial income from our cup runs so far this season, are not in a position to sign an established SPL player from the likes of Motherwell, ICT, or Falkirk ? If he means that we cannot sign a top class player for a huge amount of transfer fee, then I would go along with what is being said. I also fully support the signing of young highly promising players like Haji. However, in the summer Collins, amongst other things, will have to try to replace one of the best midfield players in Scotland, and probably one or two others like Killen and Stewart as well as trengthening overall. Are we to assume from this statement that we won't be able to bring in experienced replacements in the summer ? At a time when we could be celebrating (hopefully) a cup win soon, I would like to feel confident that the club were genuine in it's attempts to maintain the high standard of football we have produced in the last few years and even better it. This will only be done if we combine the recruitment of talented youngsters with established players who have seen it and done it. I really hope Petrie can recognise this in the summer when the time comes for John Collins to beigin piecing together his own team. I just worry a wee bit for our future signing prospects when I see this statement being trotted out periodically.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
Re: "We are not in a position as a club to sign the finished article"
I think, and within this I also hope, he means that the player in reference from Iran, is of a standard higher than the likes of player playing at Falkirk , Motherwell etc. However he is not yet acheiving or has not yet fulfilled his potential, and at Hibs he can hopefully blossom into a player of a higher standard than the other mid-table SPL clubs.
If we wanted to, I am sure we could pick up players of the Jim Hamilton, Ian Black or Scott MacDonald mould, however signings ,again, such as the Iranian lad are a demonstration of a greater ambition. Perhaps? |
![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Also as soon as there is a half decent player outside the OF, they will just bid that extra bit and obviously bigger wages to stop other teams developing. If its not the OF then any decent player in Scotland would be snapped up by a lower English side who still offer more money. (Richie Foran as an example!) As much as I don't like it I can't see much changing unless a big investor comes in with a lot of money to throw around (still maybe not the best thing though! look at Hearts!) I'd rather me in our position than the JT's. I agree its a sad state of affairs but what can you do? |
Finished Article players don't play in the SPL for any club.
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge
Gow or an unproven fella like Benji. Rae or a part timer called Sproule. Sure it's no gonnae work every time however the proof of the pudding is in the depth of your scouting system. Hibs approach to this, dovetailing with the youth system augers well for the future IMHO. BIG G
I assumed the finished article to mean guys who can and do play for their country at full international level. In this regard Scott Brown is almost the finished article. I believe we cannot sign players who are the finished article purely on the basis of wages. Think of the level at which English footballers are getting £5K , I bet there are none playing in the premiership on a regular basis getting that or less and even a lot of clubs in the english championship will be getting more.
I think what JC is saying is that we will be scouting out players from youth systems, guys with real potential to become the finished article. We can improve them, enjoy their talent and sell them on. There are clubs all over europe who operate on a very good youth system coupled with a good scouting system who manage to be successful.
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
I think I've said this before on similar threads, but is a player ever the finished article?
Sure, Ronaldinho, Gerrard, Henry might be nice in the green and white shirt of Hibernian but it's a bit unrealistic. I much prefer the position we're in now as opposed to a few years ago with the likes of Ivan Sproule, Benji, Whittaker and Zemmama strutting their stuff as opposed to Jimmy Boco, Paul Tosh, Lee Power and David Elliott. I'm confident Hibs have got an idea of where they want to be in the next few years - Financially, they might not have the clout of a few others in the SPL, but with a shedload of hard work both in terms of scouting, the training centre, youth development - the futures never looked this good in a number of years/.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hibernian F.C. - We Own The Capital To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
We have got too relise that were a selling club and thats the simple facts of things. With the trainig facillities being built and some good prospects coming through and hopefully that should keep coming. I think what gets on some fans nearves is with some occasions when we look like we can do something and the january window comes we expect/hope that petrie puts his hands in his pockets and bags us at least 3 top sinings to help us on our way, but this never happens and the season peiters out.
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
I'm not so sure what this statement means. Fine, guys like Ivan, Hogg, Benji and the new guy Haji have some way to go to becoming the player they are capable of being when we signed them, but the likes of Jones, Martis and Donaldson have proven themselves in their careers and are probably as good as they'll get.
I'm happy for JC to talk down the amount of money we are willing to spend if it means we wont be held to ransom when the chequebook comes out and I think this was his intention. All the talk of the money made from ticket sales, player sales and even sponsorships should be offset with the purchase of the new training facility and the repayments of the new(ish) stands. Overall, I'm happy with things the way they are at the moment. If we're to continue to buy young improving players or lower league but highly regarded lower league players, we have to make sure that we maintain the overall quality of the squad. |