Old 12-03-07, 09:40   #1
Officially Radge

Hibs_Official is on the way to a first team debut
Thinking Got the ticket.....

....Now get the gear!

Hibs_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 09:52   #2

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Got the ticket.....

....Now get the gear!

ANother advert

and link doesnt even work.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 10:00   #3
Toon Army Radge

StevieC is on the way to a first team debut

ANother advert
C'mon guys .. we cant moan that the club dont put items on the Bounce and then complain again when they do.

These are simply the articles that are going up on the official website. Its not as if they are picking and choosing the merchandising ones they are actually putting all the articles up.

Stevie Carr
StevieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 10:31   #4

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

C'mon guys .. we cant moan that the club dont put items on the Bounce and then complain again when they do.

These are simply the articles that are going up on the main website. Its not as if they are picking and choosing the merchandising ones they are actually putting all the articles up.
I believe that these are auto news feeds that the admins have set an automatic link to Steve
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 10:37   #5

These are simply the articles that are going up on the official website. Its not as if they are picking and choosing the merchandising ones they are actually putting all the articles up.
It's an RSS feed Stevie. This one is not too bad imo as at least it is advertising something Hibs related. Various other ones which have been on have included adverts for Bet 365, and one for a water cooler company...

The point is that RSS feeds are supposed to be "news" not adverts.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 12-03-07, 11:53   #6

Kenny will become famous soon enough

It's an RSS feed Stevie. This one is not too bad imo as at least it is advertising something Hibs related. Various other ones which have been on have included adverts for Bet 365, and one for a water cooler company...

The point is that RSS feeds are supposed to be "news" not adverts.
tisk tisk tisk Bet24

Old 12-03-07, 11:56   #7

tisk tisk tisk Bet24

I pay no attention to advertising anywhere as I feel it just encourages the feckers!

Any idea who runs that Farrelley Originals btw

quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 12-03-07, 12:09   #8

Kenny will become famous soon enough

I pay no attention to advertising anywhere as I feel it just encourages the feckers!
im the opposite - advertising directly affects me in every way - its that homer simpson drooling effect..

whooa bodyform, bodyform for you --- we hope its chips it chips --- make way for the mushrooms --- mitchel self drive where people come first --- you cant get better that a quick fit fitter we're the boys to trust --- you do the shake and vac and put the freshness back, do the shake and vac and put the freshness back --- ho ho ho green giant --- sterling tillicouty near stirling...!

Old 12-03-07, 12:15   #9

sterling tillicouty near stirling...!
Aye but thank feck Dougie the Hun was long ago binned..
Old 12-03-07, 16:06   #10
Toon Army Radge

What's an RSS feed???

I sometimes visit the official website and it looks to me like the posts made here by Hibs_Official are just links to each of the articles that go up on the official website, as they go up?

The club have been slated in the past for not informing the Bounce of things happening down ER way, and this simply looks like them now taking the time to post the links to all the new articles on the official website, no?

Stevie Carr
Old 12-03-07, 16:10   #11
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

RSS = Really simple syndication, Stevie.

I think it's a kind of programming for bairns wi' biscuit erses to enable links from other websites where a story with relevant content appears. Summat like that, anyway.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 16:33   #12

What's an RSS feed???

I sometimes visit the official website and it looks to me like the posts made here by Hibs_Official are just links to each of the articles that go up on the official website, as they go up?

The club have been slated in the past for not informing the Bounce of things happening down ER way, and this simply looks like them now taking the time to post the links to all the new articles on the official website, no?
No really. This is something which I suspect has been set up by Jamie which starts a new thread whenever something is sent out via RSS. When that feed comes from the official site it is marked as being started by "Hibs Official". There are also automatic threads started by (I think) "Admin Team" with RSS feeds from the Scotsman and the BBC. The threads start automatically when something is received via RSS. IIRC there has been more than one deleted on here from the official site when it is just basically spam. It is far from standard practice to use RSS for linking to advertising.

AFAIK there is absolutely no communication of stories which are on the official site to the Bounce other than RSS which you kindae have to have to alert news organisations about Hibs stories...
Old 12-03-07, 16:39   #13
Toon Army Radge

No really. This is something which I suspect has been set up by Jamie which starts a new thread whenever something is sent out via RSS. When that feed comes from the official site it is marked as being started by "Hibs Official". There are also automatic threads started by (I think) "Admin Team" with RSS feeds from the Scotsman and the BBC. The threads start automatically when something is received via RSS. IIRC there has been more than one deleted on here from the official site when it is just basically spam. It is far from standard practice to use RSS for linking to advertising...
Ah, I see .. (at least I think I do).

There isn't actually anything getting posted by anyone at the club on here, it is Jamie (or whatever other admin has set it up) that is actually pulling the story from the Official site everytime a new one is posted. Is that right?

Stevie Carr
Old 12-03-07, 16:48   #14

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

There isn't actually anything getting posted by anyone at the club on here, it is Jamie (or whatever other admin has set it up) that is actually pulling the story from the Official site everytime a new one is posted. Is that right?
It's automatic. Whenever a new story gets published on the Official Site it gets posted here within a few minutes. When it's just spam (gambling sites, lottery bidding sites etc.) we remove it.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 12-03-07, 16:50   #15

Nearly

I don't think there is any input at all required from an admin. I think it has just been set up to automatically start a new thread every time a new story comes through on an RSS feed.
Old 12-03-07, 23:46   #16

HibernianInteractive is on the way to a first team debut

Nearly

I don't think there is any input at all required from an admin. I think it has just been set up to automatically start a new thread every time a new story comes through on an RSS feed.
Correct, the messageboard software used here and on Hibs.net allows the Admins to set up automated posts on any of the site's forums containing a feed from any news source that operates an RSS feed.

These feeds have been around for a while with the BBC, Scotsman and other major news sites using them for significant periods of time. Hibs have had a feed for a while but it's never really been advertised much itself.

Some internet browsers and email applications have had the ability to display these feeds in readable format for a few years. Microsoft has finally caught up with them and has this option on IE7. Not entirely sure but the Vista operating system might have this option for the desktop also.

The main news feed has admittedly been taken over by advertising and we've recognised that and split the front page of the official site up (and therefore the content of the feeds that the Bounce will receive). Hopefully now, only news articles, announcements and some Hibs merchandising posts will appear on here from this feed with articles relating to sponsor activities appearing on the official site but not here.

Hope that all makes sense.....

HibernianInteractive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 23:58   #17

ANother advert

and link doesnt even work.

This is something that has been mentioned before and hibernian are in the process of seperating the news from the adverts for RRS feeds

Its same as whats on official site

RSS = Really simple syndication, Stevie.

I think it's a kind of programming for bairns wi' biscuit erses to enable links from other websites where a story with relevant content appears. Summat like that, anyway.
correct

No really. This is something which I suspect has been set up by Jamie which starts a new thread whenever something is sent out via RSS. When that feed comes from the official site it is marked as being started by "Hibs Official". There are also automatic threads started by (I think) "Admin Team" with RSS feeds from the Scotsman and the BBC. The threads start automatically when something is received via RSS. IIRC there has been more than one deleted on here from the official site when it is just basically spam. It is far from standard practice to use RSS for linking to advertising.
correct we delete the bet ones IF we see them

In a round about way it is posted by the club when it goes onto the official site , the RSS bot will pick it up and post it here, we used the hibs official user but it could have been any user ID at all

Nearly

Have I said correct lately

The main news feed has admittedly been taken over by advertising and we've recognised that and split the front page of the official site up (and therefore the content of the feeds that the Bounce will receive). Hopefully now, only news articles, announcements and some Hibs merchandising posts will appear on here from this feed with articles relating to sponsor activities appearing on the official site but not here.

Hope that all makes sense.....

Thanks for that

Jamie is online now   Reply With Quote