Old 05-03-07, 15:49   #1

oconner is on the way to a first team debut
should we not be blaming marshall aswell

what is this guy teaching them
oconner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 16:10   #2

Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Re: should we not be blaming marshall aswell

Originally Posted by oconner View Post
I think you may have a valid point here. Marshall is the goalkeeping coach and our goalkeepers (at least our senior ones) are crap - the jury is still out on young McNeill although to date he looks ok - Now I know you cant make a silk purse out of a cows lug but the errors yesterday were basic goalkeeping stuff and Brown should never have made what really is two cardinal goalkeeping sins. So i'm with you on this Marshall should shoulder some of the blame.

Old 05-03-07, 16:13   #3

Jamie is just really niceJamie is just really niceJamie is just really nice

Originally Posted by oconner View Post
is mcneil shit likesay

Jamie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 16:21   #4

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

I dinnae ken why folk are getting on Gordon Marshalls case, he's a goalkeeping coach no paul feckin daniels.

He didnae sanction the purchase of either broon or the cloon, so why point the finger at him????

Currently working on: Hibees Bounce Hibs Stats
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 16:24   #5
Scruffy Radge

jarko wiss is on the way to a first team debut

Simon Brown was having howlers long before Marshall was employed.
Ye cannae make wine oot eh pish.
jarko wiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 16:31   #6

Hibee_Lisa is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by jarko wiss View Post
Simon Brown was having howlers long before Marshall was employed.
Ye cannae make wine oot eh pish.
true but im sure marshall should be teaching him some positional sense for free kicks corners etc ! both zibi and brown have no positional sense what so ever if us fans can see that then surely so should marshall and should be working on this no?
Old 05-03-07, 16:31   #7

marshall can only do so much

the mistakes both keepers have made is schoolboy stuff
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 16:38   #8
Scruffy Radge

jarko wiss is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by xoxhibees View Post
true but im sure marshall should be teaching him some positional sense for free kicks corners etc ! both zibi and brown have no positional sense what so ever if us fans can see that then surely so should marshall and should be working on this no?
The fact remains that these to are not good enough for this level of football and should have no future at the club. I could be coached by Maradona, Pele and Eusebio but I still wouldn't make because I didn't have it in the first place and neither do these two useless fools.
jarko wiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 19:40   #9

Originally Posted by Dub View Post
I think you may have a valid point here. Marshall is the goalkeeping coach and our goalkeepers (at least our senior ones) are crap - the jury is still out on young McNeill although to date he looks ok - Now I know you cant make a silk purse out of a cows lug but the errors yesterday were basic goalkeeping stuff and Brown should never have made what really is two cardinal goalkeeping sins. So i'm with you on this Marshall should shoulder some of the blame.
Brown's positioning at the first goal was something that he would have been taught as a bairn - surely Marshall shouldn't have to go over all the basics again? A workman is only as good as the tools he's given . . . and GM was certainly given a right pair of tools to work with.
Old 05-03-07, 20:02   #10

What has Bluetoon done to deserve this critisism??
Old 05-03-07, 20:05   #11

Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby View Post
Brown's positioning at the first goal was something that he would have been taught as a bairn - surely Marshall shouldn't have to go over all the basics again? A workman is only as good as the tools he's given . . . and GM was certainly given a right pair of tools to work with.
Accepted that they were schoolboy howlers. Yes, Marshall does have to continue to hammer basics into Brown as clearly he doesnt remember them. Unless hes absolutely outstanding in training of course and its only on the pitch he fuksup.

Old 05-03-07, 20:43   #12

Originally Posted by cavalier View Post
What has Bluetoon done to deserve this critisism??

I was a shite goalie as well - smell o' the pies fae behind the goals always distracted me
Old 05-03-07, 20:52   #13

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby View Post
Brown's positioning at the first goal was something that he would have been taught as a bairn - surely Marshall shouldn't have to go over all the basics again?
But the fact that professional football players get coached at all is surely to improve them?

If Marshall is not improving the keepers then why employ him?

If JC has the success with the non goalkeeping players that Marshall has had he'll be out a job come the summer..

If anything Zibi and Simon have got worse in their time at ER.
Old 05-03-07, 20:56   #14

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
But the fact that professional football players get coached at all is surely to improve them?

If Marshall is not improving the keepers then why employ him?

If JC has the success with the non goalkeeping players that Marshall has had he'll be out a job come the summer..

If anything Zibi and Simon have got worse in their time at ER.
I don't think you are going to get any better as a 30yr old? As a youngster you improve. Yesterday was basics. A professional fitba player should be able to do the basics. The sooner Brown and Zibi are punted the better!!