Old 05-03-07, 10:59   #1

Casino cash: £28818
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Could We Sign An Experienced Goalkeeper This Week?

If there any out of contract experienced keepers out there then perhaps it's possible?

We have a Cup final and a Semi Final in the next few weeks so i'm of the opinion that JC will this week be making calls and receiving calls.

McNeil is a quality young keeper but i think JC for now wants a bit of experience at this crucial stage hence his reason for playing Simple Brown recently..
Old 05-03-07, 11:16   #2

Casino cash: £1025
Re: Could We Sign An Experienced Goalkeeper This Week?

Only one that is so clueless that he is currently clubless.

Anyone know if Budgie is match-fit?
Old 05-03-07, 11:26   #3

Casino cash: £1866

Bring back Budgie! a class nutter.
exjarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:40   #4
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2534

Ed de Goey is available

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ed_de_Goey

I'd happily settle for McNeil, mind.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:50   #5

Casino cash: £1852
vCash: 10750

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
If there any out of contract experienced keepers out there then perhaps it's possible?

We have a Cup final and a Semi Final in the next few weeks so i'm of the opinion that JC will this week be making calls and receiving calls.

McNeil is a quality young keeper but i think JC for now wants a bit of experience at this crucial stage hence his reason for playing Simple Brown recently..

This is something I'd love to see happening, but don't think it will. If these two are the standard that we can get on the wages we are offering, I think its time for Hibs to step it up a bit - possibly pay that bit more in either wages/transfer fee - the Blunder two have cost hibs a fortune.

Tbh even if we didn't get a new keeper for the rest of the season, both brown and the clown have had far too many chances, and mcneill should play. I personally am not too panicky if mcneill was keeper for the final with a 17yr old understudy - cannae be worse than brown and the clown.
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 12:01   #6
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2534

I suppose the worry for Collins is now that if Andy McNeil gets injured were down to a choice between two experienced pub team goalkeepers or Ally Brown or David Grof.

It's no coincidence to me that we progressed to a cup final once we'd ditched Brown & Malkowski.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 12:10   #7

Casino cash: £30743
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by Bobby S View Post
That would be good. I doubt we could pay his wages.
Old 05-03-07, 12:10   #8

Casino cash: £5014

If we have seen the last of Brown & Malkowski then i'm more than happy to see McNeil between the sticks. JC said when he walked into ER that if players were good enough then their age means nothing. By my reckoning Andy McNeil has made one misjudgement since he got the jersey.

He played Brown because McNeil picked up an injury preventing him playing at Tannadice & in fairness to Simon Brown he played well that day & if we're honest ,earned Hibs a draw.

No excuse for yesterday though.
Old 05-03-07, 12:18   #9

Casino cash: £2471

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
That would be good. I doubt we could pay his wages.
but if he is out of contract, he won't be earning anything...

surely something is better than nothing,

if it was me I would consider it just to get a game and put myself in the shop window
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 12:23   #10

Casino cash: £5014

Originally Posted by HutchieHibee View Post

if it was me I would consider it just to get a game and put myself in the shop window
Not a bad shout. How old was Budgie when we won the cup?

Feckin hell, i'm looking for omens anywhere& everywhere.
Old 05-03-07, 12:38   #11

Casino cash: £5231

Isnt Bartez available

Say no to the prawn sandwhich..
Laughlan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 13:13   #12

Casino cash: £30743
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by HutchieHibee View Post

I'm convinced. You have my authority to open negotiations.
Old 05-03-07, 13:45   #13

Casino cash: £3832

there a good moroccan goalkepper playing in 2nd division in germany, his name is KARIM ZAZA, he s so experienced , he was the best goalkeeper in danmark for many years b4 he moved to germany.

this is karim
am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 13:56   #14

Casino cash: £707

Would be really want to sign a new goalie and trust them coming in for the final.

Id rather have McNeil in who i have seen play several games.

BEBO>> Emma Cowan
HibeeEmma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 14:28   #15

Casino cash: £5968

Originally Posted by hibeeem View Post
Would be really want to sign a new goalie and trust them coming in for the final.

Id rather have McNeil in who i have seen play several games.
i agree a new goalie would need time to get on the same wavelength as his defenders we would be better sticking with mcneill for the rest of the season... or playing 11 outfield
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 21:06   #16

Casino cash: £260

When Rangers got a free kick wide right with about 15 minutes left I shouted to put Jones in goal, he'd have a better chance of catching it. I think I'm probably right too.
HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 21:28   #17

Casino cash: £1551
Rep Power: 3 greensalamander is on the way to a first team debut

I said on this forum before

Neil Sullivan

out on loan to Doncaster from Leeds

bags of experience

probably cheap

He has been told by Denis notso Wise to find a new club
Old 05-03-07, 21:33   #18

Casino cash: £1264
Rep Power: 2 CityHibernian is on the way to a first team debut
Keepers' Coming To ER?

Heard a wee story that david marshall ,at norwich, will be joining us on a 3 year deal at the end of the season...think it was mencioned on Real phone in aswel..along with a french keeper on his way.....Barthez ? ...nah but on a serious note, Marshall would be a fucking great signing
CityHibernian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 21:41   #19

Casino cash: £5046

Roughie said tonight he knows who Collins wants to sign but he couldn't get him in January. Is that no when Marshall went to Norwich?

Would be a good signing.