Old 05-03-07, 10:52   #1

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about
Fast-flowing, Attacking, Passing, Sexy Football

Did I imagine it all?

Why have we lost it and can we get it back?

We seem to have been relying on luck rather than skill to win recent games.

Has JC swept TM's efforts under the carpet.

Am I the only one who thinks there's a huge gulf between the way we were playing (when we could beat anyone on our day) to how we are playing now.

What do you think?

NC

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:02   #2

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Fast-flowing, Attacking, Passing, Sexy Football

Did I imagine it all?

Am I the only one who thinks there's a huge gulf between the way we were playing (when we could beat anyone on our day) to how we are playing now.

What do you think?

NC
Totally agree.

The replay against Aberdeen was the last time I could say we played really well.
Old 05-03-07, 11:10   #3

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Did I imagine it all?

What do you think?

NC
To a certain extent I agree, and in the main you right, but to counter slightly, I'd suggest that Mowbrays team would have been knocked out of the Scottish Cup by Aberdeen/QOS and St Johnstone would have knocked us out the league cup. A little bit of steel has sacrificed the fast flowing fitba etc. For all that mowbrays team were - generally they were humpty at the back.

Thats a different scenario from yesterday, when I think half the team were still chillin in the spanish sun. 5 or 6 players' first touch yesterday was rank - with a sunday league keeper to back them up!
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:14   #4

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Collins is certainly more pragmatic about the way football should be played.He'll get us points (united away) that Mowbray possibly wouldnt.

Remember he's also having to do without Killen,Stewart & Thomson.Coupled with a minor dip in form from Boozy its plain to see why we're not as silky.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:19   #5

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

To a certain extent I agree, and in the main you right, but to counter slightly, I'd suggest that Mowbrays team would have been knocked out of the Scottish Cup by Aberdeen/QOS and St Johnstone would have knocked us out the league cup. A little bit of steel has sacrificed the fast flowing fitba etc. For all that mowbrays team were - generally they were humpty at the back.

Thats a different scenario from yesterday, when I think half the team were still chillin in the spanish sun. 5 or 6 players' first touch yesterday was rank - with a sunday league keeper to back them up!

Yeah I agree with you. I dont think we are playing well but we are still winning games, the same games which under Mowbray we probably would have lost.

I think a nil nil draw yesterday would have been fair as rangers were pretty rubbish as well. I didnt go to the game yesterday thinking we'd wipe the floor with them, which is what I would have thought four or five months ago.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:21   #6

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

I didnt go to the game yesterday thinking we'd wipe the floor with them, which is what I would have thought four or five months ago.

That probably has more to do with what Smith has done at Rangers as opposed to what JC has done at Hibs.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:38   #7

That probably has more to do with what Smith has done at Rangers as opposed to what JC has done at Hibs.
It's funny because i was thinking about this before yesterday's game.

Smith has brought about a bit of improvement at the Huns but is it significant? The media build up had Huns as favourites yesterday and i think that does feed through to players and fans..

IMO Smith is a media friendly/media establishment kind of guy whereas Paul Le Guen was this detached and clueless European..

I thought we showed them far too much respect in parts of the game yesterday to be honest. Respect in a way we didn't in the previous ER fixture this season..
Old 05-03-07, 11:43   #8

We started to slip in terms of quality around the time that Katey and Broonaldo signed up with McCock. That certainly affected their state of mind, and maybe had a knock-on effect with others. The team spirit maybe suffered a bit. The blow to the players in seeing 'holier-than-thou' Tony deserting his principles in search of moolah must also have brought a bit of disruption to the team spirit.
Add in a few injuries to key players, a dip in form with one or two more, and there you go.

We need to get back on track quickly, and do so with the players we have.
I'm not sure that JC has sufficient experience to get them bonded together again, a hard enough challenge when there is no keeper available that can be seen as totally reliable.

The rest of the Season will be very nervous............ we can achieve so much.

Or nothing.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 05-03-07, 12:35   #9

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

I must admit during half time i heard one guy in particular saying JC has been a bad appointment and that we have went backwards (footballing wise).

Overall i would have to say that we have definatley lost that spark of fast flowing football. All though we play decent football some of the quick slick passing i feel is something that left when Tony left. On the defensive side i do feel we have tightened up at the back (apart from simones legs obviously).

I still think JC is the right man for the job but i can see why people maybe see us not to have taken another small step forward.
Old 05-03-07, 13:18   #10
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

As much as I liked Mowbray as a manager, his teams were at times as guilty as yesterday's when it came to uninspiring stuff.

The bottom line is that when we're good we're brilliant (and very pleasing to the eye), but when we're bad, we're awful. That hasnae changed one iota during the change of management.

Maybe another factor is that teams have learned how to play us, or rather stop us playing.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 13:20   #11

greencol will become famous soon enough

I am all for the silky football but, how often do rangers & celtic win games playing shite football . Their trophy cabinets tell their own story. By this time last season [& the one before ] we were on the crest of a slump.
Under TM any points gained after the turn of the year had to be seen a s a bonus.
Sometimes the priciples have to take a back seat.

A shite performance & a one goal win at Hampden will do. In a few weeks time everyone will have forgotten how shite a game it was.

But Hibs name will be on the trophy.

How shite were hertz in last years SCfinal
Old 05-03-07, 13:21   #12

Tibs will become famous soon enough

I think if we can keep Boozy, Sc Brown, Shiels, Zemmama and Benji injury free for the rest of the season then there's no reason why we cant be getting results as well as playing attractive football
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 13:48   #13

Did I imagine it all?

What do you think?

NC
No you didnt imagine it, nor did you imagine the plaudits the team were receiving for their fast flowing football, one touch stuff, a joy to watch - enough to send you into raptures at times....but you're right. It seems to have been lost somewhere along the line.

Disruptions through injury and crappy heavy pitches dont really excuse everything thats gone wrong. Sometimes when the team line up is announced I cant help thinking it isnt right, JC of course knows more about tactics (mmm lovely little minty things) than I do but for instance yesterday Sowumni - who is a long way short of match fitness - was on from the start whilst Benji - who is on fire - was on the bench. Personally I would have had Benji on from the start and used Sowumni later on. Mikey Stewart not on at any time even though our midfield seemed to be getting over-run which in turn meant we couldnt play through the midfield but had to try and knock balls past the midfield area.

All in all yesterday was a disappointment, not only because we lost through two howlers from SB but because of the way we were forced to play and the fact that even though we were pretty dismal we were still mniles ahead of the hun.

Old 05-03-07, 13:59   #14

Totally agree.

The replay against Aberdeen was the last time I could say we played really well.
Aye. And that was only the second half!

Collins is starting to worry me a wee bit. He's started off alright. If it wasn't for the cup runs though would we be sitting here reasonably happy? What could turn out to be a great season could just as easily turn out to be a poor season.

Why on earth was that Hungarian boy playing instead of Benji? He hasn't started a game since October or summit.... and it showed!

As stated above. The second half against the sheep was the last time we played well.
Old 05-03-07, 14:16   #15
Scruffy Radge

jarko wiss is on the way to a first team debut

All this nostalgia about Mowbray is a bit far fetched. Doesn't anybody remember last season's semi-final? Long ball after long ball. It's a total falacy that we played 'silky' football all the time under him. Collins has made us harder to beat without a match winner like Riordan to get him out of trouble, get off his back.
jarko wiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 14:23   #16

GlesgaeHibby is on the way to a first team debut

Apart from the 2 set pieces that should never have troubled us, rangers didnt have a chance. The back four were extremely strong, and that is something Collins has really focussed on, and it shows. I don't know how we're meant to play fast flowing, attractive fitba on that pitch.
GlesgaeHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 17:44   #17

All this nostalgia about Mowbray is a bit far fetched. Doesn't anybody remember last season's semi-final? Long ball after long ball. It's a total falacy that we played 'silky' football all the time under him. Collins has made us harder to beat without a match winner like Riordan to get him out of trouble, get off his back.
Don't think anyone is getting on his back. A couple of things have worried me just a wee bit though. Giving trials to Tam McManus and Grant Smith. Is that the type of player we're looking at? No played well since January. And some of his team selections. Apart from that he's daein a great job.
Old 05-03-07, 17:51   #18
Scruffy Radge

jarko wiss is on the way to a first team debut

Don't think anyone is getting on his back. A couple of things have worried me just a wee bit though. Giving trials to Tam McManus and Grant Smith. Is that the type of player we're looking at? No played well since January. And some of his team selections. Apart from that he's daein a great job.
Fair do's. I just get annoid at these comparissons to Mowbray as if he was some sort of managment maestro. People seem to forget that he signed a fair few idiots ie Si Broon, Zibi and Konte. He also had the luxuary of the finest natural finisher that the club's seen for years in Derek Riordan who got us out of jail on numerous occassions. Don't get me wrong, I will be forever greatful to Mowbray for getting us back to our roots but the messiah he certainly wasn't.
jarko wiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 17:59   #19

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Apart from the 2 set pieces that should never have troubled us, rangers didnt have a chance. The back four were extremely strong, and that is something Collins has really focussed on, and it shows. I don't know how we're meant to play fast flowing, attractive fitba on that pitch.
cant remember all our away games being nice to watch,most ended in defeat with us playing crap !!! at the moment there are too many one trick ponies that have been found out ! not bad players ,just need to learn and add something new to there game.

but all i can say is lets win every cup game ugly for ever and ever :YAYYY:

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 18:03   #20

Fair do's. I just get annoid at these comparissons to Mowbray as if he was some sort of managment maestro. People seem to forget that he signed a fair few idiots ie Si Broon, Zibi and Konte. He also had the luxuary of the finest natural finisher that the club's seen for years in Derek Riordan who got us out of jail on numerous occassions. Don't get me wrong, I will be forever greatful to Mowbray for getting us back to our roots but the messiah he certainly wasn't.
Mowbray was the previous manager so there are comparisons going to be made. We are still playing under Mowbray's team. Hopefully Collins will get some money to play with in the summer and he can bring in a couple of his own players.
Old 05-03-07, 18:09