Old 04-03-07, 21:33   #1

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Goalkeeping Aside I Thought Today Showed Lots Of Positives..

I put £20 on us to win at half-time today at odds of 8/1 as i thought we looked sharp. The start of the second half had me thinking i was going to be up 160 notes only for more dreadful goalkeeping..

However, with a bit of luck (Benji's effort at the start of the second half after some delightful football..) we could have won today.

If not for the goalkeeping errors i feel sure we would have.

More positives today than negatives despite the result and the 'goalkeeping'..
Old 04-03-07, 21:45   #2

Casino cash: £3664
Re: Goalkeeping Aside I Thought Today Showed Lots Of Positives..

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
I put £20 on us to win at half-time today at odds of 8/1 as i thought we looked sharp. The start of the second half had me thinking i was going to be up 160 notes only for more dreadful goalkeeping..

However, with a bit of luck (Benji's effort at the start of the second half after some delightful football..) we could have won today.

I thought it was a decent second half performance today better than some recent games. Let's hope we can get back to winning ways and playing football next Saturday to give us a lift going into the cup final the following week.

Good news is that a number of players are getting much needed match practice and let's hope we are ready for the challenge of Killie. It will not be easy and we need to go into that game with a keeper we and the defence can trust....Step forward McNeill.
Old 04-03-07, 22:05   #3

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs View Post
I thought it was a decent second half performance today better than some recent games. Let's hope we can get back to winning ways and playing football next Saturday to give us a lift going into the cup final the following week.

Good news is that a number of players are getting much needed match practice and let's hope we are ready for the challenge of Killie. It will not be easy and we need to go into that game with a keeper we and the defence can trust....Step forward McNeill.
there's no way on this earth hughes will give us time to play next week. the hatchet tactics will be written tonight as we speak.
i'd put a reserve team out next week, because if hughes goes to form, we won't have a team for the final.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgS-W...elated&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itZ8yXNue_g
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 22:10   #4

Casino cash: £410

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs View Post
there's no way on this earth hughes will give us time to play next week. the hatchet tactics will be written tonight as we speak.
i'd put a reserve team out next week, because if hughes goes to form, we won't have a team for the final.
yeah true! got a feeling collins will rest some players
Old 04-03-07, 22:32   #5

Casino cash: £3184

I dont really agree. Thought we were quite poor for most of the game. There was something really depressing about today - not just the shite keeping and having to watch the huns celebrate. today was always going to be important in terms of seeing how this team has progressed and I just dont think we're as good a team as we used to be. we miss Thomson, O'Connor, Riordan, we miss Scott Brown playing well -I know we're missing a few through injury as well - but it just seems like ages since we played a game full of the attractive football that we were famous for last season. Haven't felt so demoralised after a game since the semi final last season. I know we're in a cup final and a semi final but today was depressing.
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 09:20   #6

Originally Posted by Tibs View Post
I dont really agree. Thought we were quite poor for most of the game. There was something really depressing about today - not just the shite keeping and having to watch the huns celebrate. today was always going to be important in terms of seeing how this team has progressed and I just dont think we're as good a team as we used to be. we miss Thomson, O'Connor, Riordan, we miss Scott Brown playing well -I know we're missing a few through injury as well - but it just seems like ages since we played a game full of the attractive football that we were famous for last season. Haven't felt so demoralised after a game since the semi final last season. I know we're in a cup final and a semi final but today was depressing.

Feelin gutted as well, but cannae agree Tibs. For a number of weeks Hibs havent looked like the team we once were. But in the second half yesterday we competely outplayed the Hun and played attractive attacking football. Just didnt get an end product. Those two free kicks apart what did the Hun actually do? Nuthing. If it hadnt been for Simple Simon we should have won that game.

There have been a number of posiions where the jersey was up for grabs for the Cup Final. Today I think a few of those jerseys might be filled.

Chris Hogg was fantastic. Attacked everything in the air and defended well. He's making the centre half position hisown.

Lewis Stevenson was my man of the match. He looks the part in midfield - probably best as the main holding midfielder behind Brown and Stewart/Boozy Controls the ball well, reads the game, and makes crips accurate passes. Tackles ferociously too.

Benji is begining to look like the player we all hoped he was. His control and strength make him number one for leading the line.

McNeil. The goalie's jersey is his now.

Those four have stepped up to the mark when it was them four positions that we needed filled.

Its Boozy and Sproule who need to do likewise. Personally I'd have Mikey and Zemamma as first choices if them pair dont raise their game.

From what I've been hearing John Collins better start unifying the dressing room pretty fukking rapid -mibbe that trip to Spain was intended to try and do this - or the team could totally break up this close season and thats even more worrying.....
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 09:30   #7
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10410
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

I put £20 on us to win at half-time today ..

:Shrink15:

......and you can't afford £5 to keep the Bounce running!!

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 05-03-07, 10:05   #8

Casino cash: £54250

The only positive I can take from the match was that now Simon Brown has shown AGAIN that he is useless, McNeill MUST start the final.
Old 05-03-07, 10:09   #9

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post
:Shrink15:

......and you can't afford £5 to keep the Bounce running!!

He he!!

Problem with Doc's is that they can be a wee bit predictable at times..

Just knew you would post something along they lines!!
Old 05-03-07, 14:17   #10
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge

Casino cash: £15682

We weren't particularly awful, it was the Huns playing with more belief and fighting for the ball more that was our undoing, and the fact we're too lightweight up front.
An improvement in the way the huns played was expected under Wally, though we would have got a draw had we had a decent keeper.