Old 04-03-07, 17:52   #1

mintie is on the way to a first team debut
Complain about sectarian singing

MAKE A STAND AGAINST BIGOTRY AND SECTARIANISM
To make a complaint about the sectarian singing by the Rangers Fans today, including renditions of Billy Boys, the Sash and references to John Collins as a 'fenian bastard' which were clearly audible and coming from 100s in not over 1000 fans in the away stand, write to the match commander of Lothian and Borders police to report that you witnessed a criminal offence being committed by a large number of people:

Superintendent Brian Muir
Lothian and Borders Police
Force Headquarters
Fettes Avenue
Edinburgh EH4 1RB
or by email: enquiries @ lbp.pnn.police.uk

Make sure you also copy in both the SFA and UEFA, and request that Rangers FC be required to make a public apology to Hibs fans and John Collins for this disgusting conduct.

Suggest it would also be interesting to find out how many of the away 'fans' were actually arrested today for this conduct and what arrangements were put in place by the police to identify those singing sectarian abusive songs, including the use of video evidence and obtaining the names of those by seat number from Rangers, in accordance with their ticket allocation. You have a right to request this information under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Write to:
Force Information Unit
Lothian and Borders Police
Force Headquarters
Fettes Avenue
Edinburgh EH4 1RB
or by email:
fiu @ lbp.pnn.police.uk
or Fax 0131 311 3901

The police have got to reply within 20 working days following the date of receipt of your request. If they refuse the information or don't reply, you have the right to request a review and then have a right of appeal to the Scottish Information Commissioner.
mintie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 17:55   #2

Re: Complain about sectarian singing

We sold out today.

I'd urge the club to cut their allocation next season and better still give them no allocation.

Why should we be forced to sit and listen to their utter filth?
Old 04-03-07, 18:16   #3

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

I agree totally with the above post. Despite this game 'meaning' less than some last season, we had to put up with a far worse degree of singing and taunting of a racist and xenophobic nature than usual. It's sad enough that there is a 'usual' amount. Since the SFA, SFL and UEFA, and the police and government, won't do more than pay lip service to the Huns (and lets be honest here - they are worse than Celtic) then the clubs should act by themselves. We get a tiny percentage of Ibrox, we should give them a tiny percentage of ER. And then eject any racists who get in.
HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 18:29   #4

gackohibs is on the way to a first team debut

they really are scumbags likes.

totally agree with cutting their allocation down to half a stand at least.

Leeds 2006
gackohibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 18:30   #5

emerald green will become famous soon enough

We sold out today.

I'd urge the club to cut their allocation next season and better still give them no allocation.

Why should we be forced to sit and listen to their utter filth?

Agree 100%.

However, didn't you all know? Rangers fans are allowed to sing sectarian chants when NOT at there own ground!!

Isn't it absolutely SHOCKING!!! I assume that the entire stand was full of SEASON TICKET holders from Ibrox? All seats are numbered. Why do the police have to wait till decent human beings complain before doing their jobs?

Hibernian let these away fans do this, as does Lothian and Borders Police, Rankers FC and the SFA/SPL.

I'll repeat what the above post - its time that the OF were given HALF of the bottom section - not a seat more!!

Get the finger out Hibs. If we dont let these bastards into our ground they cannae pollute it with their sectarian bile.

NO MORE O.F. AT ER
emerald green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 19:01   #6

HibeePaddy is on the way to a first team debut

Sent to the match commander...

'I would just like to report the disgraceful behaviour/ chanting of the Rangers football club supporters at the above match. Despite there being in place an anti secterian policy at Easter Road the secterian chanting was allowed to come out. There were several renditions of 'Billy Boys', the Sash and references to John Collins as a 'fenian bastard'. These were coming from large areas of the away support and I would like to ask what action is being taken against these people? It is a criminal offence in Scotland yet we are subjected to it time and again in football stadia. What must children think of everything? Are we ever going to get over this problem without taking action? It is embarrasment to our country and has no place in society, let alone football.'

Not that im expecting anything to be done...

HibeePaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 19:05   #7

Even watching on TV, the songs which could be heard were pretty repulsive.

Old 04-03-07, 19:09   #8

Aye so much for points deductions for sectarian singing

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 19:09   #9

Kenny will become famous soon enough

can hibs video them then ban them?

then if they turn up at ER next time they don't get in...?

don't even see why we'd need to inform them their getting banned?

ban ten or twenty and let the papers pick it up - the other spl clubs follow suit and the OF (more rangers than celtic) would have to do something or be seen to condone it.

even print the faces of the banned folk in the paper.

Old 04-03-07, 19:11   #10

Kenny will become famous soon enough

Aye so much for points deductions for sectarian singing
TBF to rangers that isn't until next season.
TBF to hibs they should have neutered so future generations of hibbies wouldn't have to here their or their off springs bile or see their ugly hun coupons!

Old 04-03-07, 19:45   #11
NGP

NGP is on the way to a first team debut

Yes complain, but to me Hibs could just the whole way and ban OF fans from ER for all league games.

Go public to explain our stance,
Until the OF stop selling tickets to the so called 'minority'
The Police take action and actually arrest people/remove from the ground for breaking the law/ER policies,
SFA start deducting points,
Uefa punish them where it hurts,
We as a FAMILY club will not let ER be a place where these idiots can spout their bile, Hibs must be in the right to make this stance, other clubs, who do not rely on the OF support to boost funds may follow.
If the OF can't get their fans into Scottish grounds, they, the SFA, Police may actually do something about this stain on our game.
Old 04-03-07, 19:47   #12

I agree totally with the above post. Despite this game 'meaning' less than some last season, we had to put up with a far worse degree of singing and taunting of a racist and xenophobic nature than usual. It's sad enough that there is a 'usual' amount. Since the SFA, SFL and UEFA, and the police and government, won't do more than pay lip service to the Huns (and lets be honest here - they are worse than Celtic) then the clubs should act by themselves. We get a tiny percentage of Ibrox, we should give them a tiny percentage of ER. And then eject any racists who get in.
They're not as honourable as Motherwell.
Old 04-03-07, 19:50   #13

The best way to shut them up is to beat them , you'll no hear much singing when we stick the ball in their net
Old 04-03-07, 19:55   #14

emerald green will become famous soon enough

The best way to shut them up is to beat them , you'll no hear much singing when we stick the ball in their net

True, but moot.
emerald green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 19:58   #15
Gala Radge

billzab is on the way to a first team debut

Totally agree with cutting their allocation. They should only get the bottom half of the SS (is we gave them the top half they would gob on us like the do at Hunsville) and tickets should only go to named individuals so we can ban the bigots. Mind you I reckon it was over 90% doing the singing today so they are all as bad as each other. After today I actually hate them even more and they are now my most hated set of fans over and above the Yams.
billzab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 20:21   #16

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Im certainly thinking of approaching the club to complain as well as todays match commander, after all if the police can get players booked for celebrating I'm sure they can ban fans from travelling
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 20:32   #17

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

the huns really are a breed apart. we should only give them 1/2 the bottom tier approx 1000 tix. i just hope spmething gets done this time. the infirm game next week should also be monitored closely as no doubt they will continue were they left off

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 20:34   #18

Can't say I get as outraged as many seem to.

Their behaviour is typical hun behaviour, no better or worse than normal.
It's something else for me to sneer at.

However, if it led to them losing points or getting a big fine then I'm prepared to be shocked and horrified.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 04-03-07, 21:19   #19

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

I agree totally with the above post. Despite this game 'meaning' less than some last season, we had to put up with a far worse degree of singing and taunting of a racist and xenophobic nature than usual.
This was mentioned on Radio Scotland as well.
Despite being in the West Lower, fairly near the away end, I didn't hear anything that would be classed as "racist". Sectarian yes!! but racist

What was being sung/chanted?

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 21:22   #20
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

Well if everyone signed a letter and sent it to who ever it may be then it would be alot easier than every single person sending one?

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 21:41   #21

Sent to the match commander...

'I would just like to report the disgraceful behaviour/ chanting of the Rangers football club supporters at the above match. Despite there being in place an anti secterian policy at Easter Road the secterian chanting was allowed to come out. There were several renditions of 'Billy Boys', the Sash and references to John Collins as a 'fenian bastard'. These were coming from large areas of the away support and I would like to ask what action is being taken against these people? It is a criminal offence in Scotland yet we are subjected to it time and again in football stadia. What must children think of everything? Are we ever going to get over this problem without taking action? It is embarrasment to our country and has no place in society, let alone football.'

Not that im expecting anything to be done...

Well said mate. Totally agree with every point you make.
Glasgow Rangers and their fans are a STAIN on our great country and on a great game!
Old 04-03-07, 21:45   #22

Must admit I didn't hear any reference to John Collins but "Billy Boys" was clearly audible at the North End of the East Stand, yet the "thin blue line" - in large numbers, it should be said - apparently chose to turn a deaf ear. It is disgusting and Hibs should do everything in their powers to eradicate it from Easter Road. I say Hibs should be contacting the match commander - it is, after all, Hibs who paid for the policing and it is Hibs who instigated the "zero tolerance" of racist and sectarian chants. It's time to stand up to the OF by getting the L & B police to enforce the law.