Old 06-02-07, 15:13   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
Two Cup Final Tickets per ST: Fair or not? Discuss.

As the many of you who know me or had the dubious pleasure of seeing me making a prize erse of myself in Strattie's last Wednesday or the Four on Saturday are aware, I'm a long-distance Hibbie who is panicking about getting tickets (one each for me, ma Dad and ma bro) for the final. I don't want this thread to deteriorate into the type of holier-than-thou 'I'm a better Hibbie than you' nonsense that is currently on dotnet but I propose that the fairest way to share out Hibs' allocation would be to allow each ST holder to purchase two.

Clearly, there will be many of you who think my logic is flawed and what right does someone domiciled in Cardiff have to make such a suggestion. So let me explain: Hampden has a capacity of 52,000 of which approximately 8,000 are usually taken up by hospitality and corporate seats, however, there are far less corp 'n' hosps for any final that does not feature the huns or the tims so, in all likelihood, there will ultimately be 48,000 briefs for the competitors' supporters. Do you really think Kilmarnock FC who generally struggle to attract more than 5,000 home fans to Rugby Park will really sell 24,000 tickets? I don't.

I think ultimately Hibs will end up with between 25,000 and 30,000 tickets but to prevent a repeat of last year's debacle which I believe contributed to the poor turn-out at the semi allowing each ST two briefs would ensure that most irregular or part-time or long-distance Hibbies could get a seat with their mates. Given that we have 11,000 STs if everyone took their allocation of two (which wouldn't necessarily happen, we do have loners in our support) then there would probably still have 3,000 to 8,000 for Hibbies who don't have the advantage of ST holding pals.

We (Zondervan, Roscov, wehateharry, John Welsh, Tich) had a rather heated about this in Jaynes yesterday afternoon and most of us agreed that, initially, KFC would ask for a 50/50 split of the tickets. However, some (such as zondervan) suggested KFC would fill it due to Killie fans taking friends and family and the possibility of Ayrshire-based bluenoses for once supporting their local team. The support they had at Ibrox a decade ago was cited as evidence of this.

Others though (including myself) countered that when KFC last competed in a league cup final (five years ago, against Celtic) they only took about 15,000 fans. We also suggested that as KFC were hot favourites against First Division Falkirk that explained their massive following that day.

Further, the opinion of the Jambo demagogue was cited, i.e. Jefferies has never really been accepted by the Killie support.

Clearly, this is a very contentious issue for all Hibernian supporters and, let's be fair, everyone of us who is not an ST is motivated by total self-interest, i.e. as long as we get briefs then we'll be happy. But if Hibs ultimately do get 30,000 tickets then I think that's enough to satisfy most Hibs supporters as the 38,000 who turned up against Livvie three years ago contained many non-Hibbies there to see an Edinburgh team win a cup against a team with no history and no support.

What do the rest of you think? Is there merit in my argument? Or am I underestimating the level of support for a west coast team? Am I assuming the powers-that-be at Hibernian FC have the sense to learn from past lessons and to argue successfully that as a big city club with a history of taking big supports to finals we should get the lion's share? Perhaps a poll could be arranged?

For the record, I had an ST for 6 years, used to attend reserve, U-21 and BP Youth Cup games and have attended every Hibs cup final since 1985. I also travelled up from Wales for both the recent Dundee Utd and hertz disappointments. In fact, since moving to Wales two years ago I've been back to watch Hibs nine times including five games this season. My brother who lives in Manchester and is married with a young daughter came up for the semi last season (unlike many Hibbies who could have gone) as did my 64 year old father, who, like me, lives in the Principality.

Can I also make it clear that I am fully aware of the similar, if not greater, distances many other Hibbies travel to support their team, for example my mate Christian's uncle Adam and cousin Jamie were up from Bath last week for the semi.

Apologies if I come across as someone trying to prove his Hibbieness but, like the rest of you, I'm dying to be there with my family to re-create that special feeling I tasted only the once, back on Sunday 27 October 1991.
Old 06-02-07, 15:18   #2

Hogg4Captain is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Two Cup Final Tickets per ST: Fair or not? Discuss.

i Agree, but remember we took 40k to hampden against livi i think we should take around the Same this year

Hopfully the result will be there aswell
Hogg4Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 15:30   #3

i Agree, but remember we took 40k to hampden against livi i think we should take around the Same this year

I agree with that if not more.....

I dont think the tickets are going to sell out in the blink of a eye but they will sell out in the end....I agree with ST i think that ST holders should get 2 tickets each as me for one will want to go with my dad as the busses are now basically sold out unless i risk getting one of the Edinburgh to Glasgow busses which i am not really wanting to do, the other thing is my dad wants to sit in the posh seating (canni mind what you call it) which means that i might have to sit on my own but me and the mates have been having a conversation about meeting up and all going in the North stand to get the atmosphere up etc....

Killie will not sell all there tickets there is no way they will i mean they only get 5,000 at home and when we come up we normally have the same amount as they have in the ground, Killie will not sell all there tickets and will probaly have to give us some of the tickets as we will sell out and there will be alot of interest from families etc...

I have been at Hampden before when it was full of Hibees and each time we have lost i am hoping the hoodo does not continue and we get up there and lift the Cup :YAYYY:

Old 06-02-07, 15:35   #4

gackohibs is on the way to a first team debut

2 per ST is how it should be.

i hate having to sit on my own sometimes!

Leeds 2006
gackohibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 15:38   #5

As long as there is going to be a healthy enough number left (at least 4-5000) I'd reluctantly say give 2 per ST.

It's not because I think a ST holder should get more than one ticket, but because there isn't a system in place to reward those who attend with any sort of regularity with any sort of priority before someones second cousins great auntie who stays in Duke St and enjoyed the bus going past her window in 1991 and now has came to the decision that she would like to go to a real life game. If you go for 2 per ST, most of those who watch Hibs or have a passion for us will get one that way. What you can't do is take the chance that there is virtually no public sale for those who don't know anyone with a spare ticket from their ST.

We should ask for 26,000 seats to start with, and say to Kilmarnock that they have the first refusal on the rest of the debentures etc if they sell out their 18,000.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 06-02-07, 15:41   #6

Hogg4Captain is on the way to a first team debut

I think killi wont sell out but they will bring a good support for them
Killi aren;t in that many finals they should all get off there arse n go support there club!

hate to se a disapointing killi support at hampden reuens the atmospher
Hogg4Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 15:50   #7

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

I think it highly likely that Killie will come close to selling out their allocation and even if they don't they will take an initial 50/50 split so Hibs will have to make their decision based on what this gives Hibs - maybe 22,000, maybe 24,000 depending on how the corporate allocation / debentures thingy goes. Now with Hibs themselves possibly taking off 1,000 of their allocation (not sure if that is allowed but bear with me) for players families club officials families etc then it would seem that Hibs simply won't have enough tickets to give every season ticket holder 2 tickets each. So really we have further evidence as to what a joke the national stadium is.....

If Hibs were to get enough tickets to do 2 per season ticket holder then I think that would be a good way to do it. The fact is it is better if mates can sit together and as a non season ticket holder myself (lived in America till December and anyways just never felt the need for a ST
) I just accept that I would have to hope a mate would sell me their second ticket. I do think the demand will be as high if not higher than the Livi game as Hibs are just way more entertaining than they were then and if we are in the Cup semi by then and kept up a chase for 2nd in the league too the buzz in Edinburgh by March will be huge....
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 15:59   #8

WB Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

I don't think you can really justify ST holders getting more than one ticket.

Not everyone is lucky enough to able to afford a season ticket, or able to attend all home games, so I don't think we should abuse our privelege.

Most of us will be there alongside our usual match day buddies, who are also ST holders, so do we really need those extra tickets? If you do 'need' them, then you'll have to take your chances when the public sale takes place, even if it means you won't be able to sit together.

If we were allowed two each, that would account for the great majority of the Hibs allocation, leading to a real scramble for the remainder of the tickets.

I can see the argument for allocating Hibs a greater proportion, based on average home gates, but would we be demanding a 50/50 split if we playing one of the OF in the final?

WB Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 16:00   #9

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

when do tickets go on sale for the final itself?

Will those who travelled to the semi final be given any sort of priority?
Old 06-02-07, 16:02   #10
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Why should ST holders get two tickets? Do they have two arses?

As an ST holder last year, I was only entitled to one for the semi-final. So why should it be different this year? I think the club have made a huge rod for their backs by changing the rules as often as a Sellick fan changes their underwear.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 16:03   #11

Tibs will become famous soon enough

definetly 2 per ST. considering that there should be enough tickets for well over double our average home gate, i think that its a fair way to do it.
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 16:06   #12

Why should ST holders get two tickets? Do they have two arses?

As an ST holder last year, I was only entitled to one for the semi-final. So why should it be different this year? I think the club have made a huge rod for their backs by changing the rules as often as a Sellick fan changes their underwear.
but thats why we didnt sell out, same with the st johnstone game. that system didnt benefit anyone
Old 06-02-07, 16:10   #13
Hibsterical Radge

but thats why we didnt sell out, same with the st johnstone game. that system didnt benefit anyone
I don't agree. Changing the way tickets are distributed should not affect demand.

Last year, some people made all sorts of excuses not to go to the semi-final, the real reason being that it was on zitelli. Same applies with the Saintees match.
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
Old 06-02-07, 16:13   #14

I don't agree. Changing the way tickets are distributed should not affect demand.

Last year, some people made all sorts of excuses not to go to the semi-final, the real reason being that it was on zitelli. Same applies with the Saintees match.
you could be right, dunno, but for me i can think of at least a few guys who arent ST holders who wouldnt want to sit on their own but would have definetly gone if they know they were going to be sitting with mates.
Old 06-02-07, 16:17   #15

EK Hibby is on the way to a first team debut

Thats right and if I remember the whole of the North Stand upper was empty yet we couldn't get MORE tickets. I'm for 2 each thats 22,000 max plus 8-10,000 for others. Thats a dam sight more than the SC semi last year. The majority of debenture holders will sell their's off!
EK Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 16:20   #16
Hibsterical Radge

you could be right, dunno, but for me i can think of at least a few guys who arent ST holders who wouldnt want to sit on their own but would have definetly gone if they know they were going to be sitting with mates.
Not going to a game because you cannae sit with your mates is the pishiest, lamest excuse on the planet. I'd sit on a razor edge to watch Hibs in a cup final.
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
Old 06-02-07, 16:23   #17

Not going to a game because you cannae sit with your mates is the pishiest, lamest excuse on the planet. I'd sit on a razor edge to watch Hibs in a cup final.
But not everyone will G.

AFAIC as long as there is still going to be plenty left I'd go for it. If it only leaves a possible 1000 or so I'd say no.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 06-02-07, 16:27   #18

4 per ST

That would bump up the crowd.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 06-02-07, 16:28   #19
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

aye, but we're not talking about you .. we're talking about the 'fair weather fans' who make up the numbers for cup finals....

Whether they can sit with their mates/dad/brother/sister/uncle or whatever DOES make a difference.

FWIW I think if we get a big enough allocation (ie more than 50/50) 2 per ST seems to work well.

That said, if we only get 50/50 (highly likely, at least to start with) it's a much harder call...

although most non-ST holders who go regularly shouldn't have a problem getting one off a ST holding mate I'd guess ....

Lix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 16:30   #20

so only die hard -never miss a game in their life- hibees are allowed to go to cup finals? if Hibs are going to get 30,000 plus tickets then you're going to get all sorts of supporters in there
Old 06-02-07, 16:31   #21

A